We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

I visited this beautiful hotel for my cousins wedding. What a beautiful building and surroundings. The bride and groom made their arrival by boat down the river Thames which was wonderful. A lovely drinks reception was provided of pimms and lemonade and champagne. The food was gorgeous, I couldn't fault anything!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle75120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your review following your cousin's wedding at The Oakley Court Hotel. We are pleased your found the day to be so enjoyable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,848 - 1,854 of 2,467 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have just returned home from a most splendid afternoon tea at Oakley Court.
I thought it important to write this review having read a previous report that was suggesting that the tea was poor. This review 'popped' up as I reviwed their details on the website.
We were waited on by a very helpful young lady and a ypung man, Richard Hall, who were both very attentitive and polite.
Our' eyes were certainly bigger than our bellies' so Richard kindly packed all the remaining delicious cakes fo us to take home!
A lovely birthday treat in wonderful surroundings.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your valued review following your Afternoon Tea at The Oakley Court Hotel. Many guests return time and time again to enjoy our quality afternoon tea in comfortable, beautiful surroundings and I am pleased you had such an enjoyable afternoon. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had a wonderful time staying at the Oakley Court Hotel the night before our flight back to the US from Heathrow. It is a beautiful Victorian hotel with a lovely garden that goes down to the Thames River. The bar area was a perfect place to meet with our friends who live nearby, and everyone at the hotel was attentive and helpful. I would recommend this hotel to others. It was an outstanding value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for rating our hotel so highly. Convenience for airports, transport links and the proximity to local attractions are what most of our guests visiting the UK find to be helpful and add value to their stay. We hope to welcome you back on a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My daughter's wedding reception was held on Friday 2 November at Oakley Court and I can only say that the event was a major success in no small way, as a result of the quality of the hotel and its staff. From the preparation for the event, to dealing with all of our guests, the quality of the rooms, the quality of the food etc., this was a magical event. My daughter and her new husband were so fortunate to choose this hotel. The staff could not do enough for us and the quality of service was second to none. The setting of the hotel is simply beautiful and I cannot praise them enough. Most outstanding quality? "The staff - simply magnificent".

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinLivingstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your words of appreciation following your daughter's recent wedding at The Oakley Court Hotel. We are delighted to receive your comments as we always strive to deliver the highest standards of service and quality. Please be assured that I have congratulated our team and once again thank you for your valued feedback. With very best wishes to the newly weds!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed in a family room for 4 nights. Requested a comfortable bed for my daughter after the first night as the one provided in the room was extremely uncomfortable. We were told that a replacement bed would be provided. Upon our return to the room at tea time, we were disappointed to find that the bed had not been replaced. We expressed our disappointment to the lady on reception and were told that the matter would be resolved shortly after 7pm and that a replacement bed would be provided. We then left to go for dinner with friends - only to find that the bed still had not been replaced upon our return at 10.15pm. Further telephone calls were made to reception and eventually a replacement bed was provided. However, this replacement bed was already damaged when delivered, which meant that my daughter had to sleep with the mattress on the original bed (at the suggestion of the member of staff). I expressed my disappointment to the lady on reception the following morning - to be told that she had requested that Housekeeping change the beds the previous day, but that they must have misunderstood her request ! The bed was eventually replaced the following day.
Robes that should have been provided in the room only arrived after our third night - as did additional pillows and sheets.
All in all, the service at the hotel was certainly not that expected of a Four Star Hotel - yet the price was. Disappointing.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank BysMelynYellowstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

I was concerned to read of your disappopintment and I have investigated your comments with my Front of House Manager and Reception Manager. I understand there was a miscommunication with regards to the additional bed due to the fact that we provide "roll away" beds for children only. These are not suitable for an 18 year old and we would never recommend this to guests. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Old gothic film set Hotel ,large rooms, very good staff. who were allways at hand with great service,excellent food and everything you could eat for breakfast ,and then a walk in the lovely garden set on the banks of the river thames,will definately return

Room Tip: west wing is in newer part of hotel but with good views of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlarkinse16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed for 2 nights over the weekend. My room was spacious, clean and decorated lovely. I had a comfortable night's sleep and woke up to beautiful views. The hotel is set in grounds next to the river where you can go for lovely walks, it's so peaceful and quiet making my stay very relaxing. The staff can't do enough for you, everything was very well organised they are all very courteous and the meal we had in the restaurant was very good value for money, also the breakfast was excellent. I will definitely stay again and would have no hesitation highly recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for sharing your positive experience following your stay and in particular thank you for your gracious compliments relating to our team members. Your feedback is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
11 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $228 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing