We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room with a View and great Service, too”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 8, 2012

From the booking experience (done in person on a 'recky' visit) to departure, I couldn't fault our experience. Went to celebrate son's 40th birthday and included all the immediate family (with 4 young children and a teenager) 13 of us in total.. There was activity for everyone, tennis, golf, swimming. billiards etc. We ordered, family rooms, double rooms and interconnecting rooms and they got it all perfectly......the rooms in the East Wing facing the river were stunning, cleanliness superb and attention, especially for the children was outstanding. Our celebration for sunday lunch in the main dining room had a choice of food to suit us all...quite an accomplishment. I recommend this hotel for anyone wanting atmosphere, relaxation scenery and service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river have a stunning view. Executive rooms and family rooms in the swimming pool b...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobbie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Thank you for recommending our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your family celebrations at The Oakley Court and thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,323)
There are newer reviews for The Oakley Court
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 2,324 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

I'd seen this hotel before from across the river - all Gothic towers and gargoyles - and had always fancied staying here though I imagined it would be a disappointing marriage of business conventions and weddings. Although there was a wedding on, and a 50th birthday celebration, it's big enough to absorb these without you really noticing. We had a friendly welcome (and no annoying insistence on showing us to/round our room) and a room with a view of the garden and river (even though we'd booked the cheapest room we could). It was a good size with a comfy bed and decent bathroom, and as promised (I specifically asked for it) it was really quiet at night.

The highlight is the garden, which slopes gently down to a gorgeous stretch of river. The frontage is impressive, maybe 400 hundred yards, and from there you have a view back towards the magnificent 19th century hotel building itself, which has featured in films such as St Trinians and Dracula. The new buildings are a bit ugly but they've been cunningly concealed beneath ivy which was (appropriately) blood red when we were there. There's a croquet lawn, 2 tennis courts and a 9 hole golf course, none of which we had time to try. There's also a pool (pretty small) and jacuzzi with a gym next door. Kids will love it (I'm starting to sound like an advert for the place) - we saw some playing in the trees, near to a weird fenced-off area involving flashing lights in the floor which we couldn't work out but which looked good fun. We also had a game on the strangely purple-coloured pool table.

We had a decent room service meal and an ok continental breakfast the next morning. The hotel nearly blotted its copybook with a long queue to check out, but when I asked the concierge he got me to sign my key card and we were on our way. Nice touch!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonysony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

As you have noted,our location is an ideal base for Windsor and the surrounding areas for both business and leisure guests. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just returned from a weekend stay at Oakley Court with my best friend. We shared a beautiful twin room in the East Wing. It was clean, spacious, had lovely soft robes and bath towels which always make you feel pampered!
The setting is beautiful-the gardens are immaculate and lead right down to the river. Every member of staff that we passed in and around the hotel smiled and said hello-such a refreshing change.
Our only criticism would be that the buffet breakfast- which consisted of almost anything you could ever want for breakfast- was cold on both mornings of our stay.This was such a shame as it looked wonderful. We look on the breakfast as a treat, like many ladies, we both work and rarely have time for a leisurely, cooked breakfast so were very dissappointed.
The consierge was really helpful booking taxis, tables in restaurants etc. The taxi service offered was very efficient and not too expensive-we never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a car.
A great place to eat in Windsor is The Hungry Eye- Nepalese cuisine- the staff were fabulous so helpful, we had never eaten Nepalese food before and they guided us through the menu.Not too expensive either!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirley L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

I am pleased to read that you and your friend enjoyed your stay and offer my apologies for your disappointment at breakfast. I will ensure your comments are relayed to my team as it is only through your valuable feedback and comments that we can improve our services and operations in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Just home from the most amazing weekend at Oakley Court. We were greeted by very friendly staff who helped carry our luggage in from our cars to our rooms.
Our room in the West wing was lovely with great views of the River Thames. Dinner on both evenings was outstanding. Such delicious three course meals!
We were offered a boat trip out on the Thames... I drove.. What a great experience!
The hotel is very accessible from the motorway and both the hotel and grounds are so lovely. We' re already planning our next weekend there!
Thank you so much Mr Smith and all your staff for making us feel so welcome!

Room Tip: The rooms in the west wing have amazing views of the Boathouse and River Thames
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbieshawe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

It was a pleasure to welcome you to The Oakley Court Hotel and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a lovely spot on the Thames, a little out of Windsor and the cab fare will be about £9. We stayed there as a family with two boys, 5 and 7. The room was a good size for us. The bed for the kids was sharing a fold out couch - a little small if your kids are restless sleepers but ours are not. The duvet was not quite wide enough and would fall off so we turned it around to tuck it in but if the kids were taller this wouldn't work. Our bed was large and very comfortable.

The main old building houses the restaurant, bar, reception etc and is lovely and a nice spot to sit in for a refrshement. The grounds are very pretty and park like and kids have space to run around.

The one thing I wasn't so impressed with was the restaurant, mainly because you pay gastronomic restaurant prices for food which is not in that league. Most mains were £30. We chose the fixed menu which was better value at £30. The food on that menu was just OK (some of it was badly over salted - the mash, amuse bouche and salmon - as to be inedible) - you'll get less fancy but quality and reliable food at one of the pubs in Windsor for a fraction of the price. However if you want something a bit more fancy (and still cheaper) I would urge you to head into Bray (other direction to Windsor and apparently a bit closer) to check out one of Heston Blumenthal's two pubs - The Hinds Head Bray and The Crown at Bray. The cab driver who took us to the airport told us about it - too late for us unfortunately but not for you. The first pub seems the slightly more expensive of the two but still much cheaper than Oakley Court. The menu was developed with the input of food historians at Hampton Court. The chefs are Blumenthal trained (according to the cab driver who lives in Bray.) Both pubs cater for kids. The prices are slightly higher than a chain pub we ate at in Windsor, the Carpenters Arms, which had decent food. If you after super fancy and book months in advance, Blumenthal's famous The Fat Duck is also in Bray but with children, I think the pubs are a marvellous option and the cabbie didn't think you had to book (I would, to be safe)

So overall, great hotel, but jump in a cab and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thumbelina76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We are pleased you rate our hotel highly and that you enjoyed your stay at The Oakley Court. I can confirm our restaurant prices are in line with other 4 star hotels in the area. Thank you for taking the time to feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed as part of a corporate group. It's a lovely location, with beautiful riverside gardens. Rooms are spacious, although toiletries are a bit rubbish. But the food was dreadful. You know it's not going to be good when you have to choose your dessert along with your starter and main. We were a group of eight but we were served food I would expect if the kitchen was catering for 200+. Mass produced, very poorly cooked, little or no thought given to presentation. This place seems to rely totally on its location. It's looking shabby, which is forgiveable if they had only cooked a decent plate of food.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank Padders09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

We are sorry to learn that the food served to you was not to your liking - I will ensure your feedback is shared with my team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

When we first arrived at the hotel, service reception and staff were exellent the room being a junior suite was not to the standard we expected,I then complained to reception showed the girl photos of our room [206] and she changed our room straight away after showing me 2choices
The room I took is lovely, we then had a meal in the resteraunt. Which was superb, I don't normally complain but this is a treat for my wife and after spending nearly 500 pound for 2nights I think it warranted a word or two.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2012

Please accept my apologies for your disappointment with the room you were allocated. I am pleased that we were able to relocate you to a more suitable room and you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,872 reviews
2.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range: $208 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing