We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning hotel”
Review of The Oakley Court

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Oakley Court
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stunning hotel”
Reviewed October 16, 2011

every aspect of our stay at the oakley court hotel was enjoyable.The staff are an asset to the hotel and the friendliest of any of the hotels we have stayed in.Very difficult to imagine why anyone would give a negative review of this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ragbagEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you very much. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. It is always motivating to receive such positive feedback and we hope you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,200
    612
    232
    98
    78
See reviews for
466
947
28
264
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (594)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2011

My brother book a spa for my friend and I through travel zoo which included two 30 treatment they ours consecutively and told if we booked in afternoon we could had them together we were not told this when booking and details of friends were sent to me but not mine so I assumed they would be together the aromatherapy massage was very good one of the best I've had but the pedicure which was ment to be 30 min consisted of them just painting my toe nails which took less than 10 and when I put my shoe on it all came off my big toes
We had afternoon tea in hotel which was lovely the staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was wonderful

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kizziana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for your review. The company providing the treatments is an independently run company and I would refer you direct to the operator to allow them the opportunity to address your concerns. I am however pleased to read that you enjoyed your afternoon tea and service at the Oakley Court Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My husband and I were staying here for a family wedding over the weekend. It’s a stunning hotel and perfect for weddings, with the gardens on the banks of the Thames. Our room was very nice and well equipped with ironing and ironing board, trouser press, fridge, kettle, tea and coffee, biscuits, a long mirror (always useful) and big white towelling robes. But I’m deducting one point for the lack of a hook behind the bathroom door (although it did look like it had fallen off as something appeared to be stuck on there but it was of no use). One of the advantages of a group of people staying is that I can get everyone else’s opinions too and there did appear to be some inconsistency in what was supplied in the rooms. My sister and brother in law had the fridge, but no towelling robes. Other friends of ours had the towelling robes, but no fridge (although there was a space for it in the same place where ours was – almost like it had been removed).

My only complaint was our shower which was next to useless. Zero pressure and just a dribble really. On top of that, it never got really hot, just tepid. I needed to wash my hair (of which I have quite a lot) and it took forever. However my sister reported that the shower in their room was superb – powerful and hot. Again, inconsistency. The sink was also fairly blocked, the water filled up quickly and took ages to drain away. I see this in a lot of hotels – just needs unblocking but the chamber maids won’t really know that and people probably don’t report it so it never gets done.

A glowing report goes to the night time room service. My 8 year old nephew was sick at 3.00am and the night staff were brilliant. They removed all the sick covered sheets, duvet and pillows and brought fresh laundry and made up the bed. They were there for 45 mins making sure everything was ok and my sister was very impressed.

The staff in general were excellent, both during the wedding, in the bar and the dining room. We really couldn’t fault them. Friendly and helpful.

The hotel is a delight to stay in, but be warned it is not cheap. A sandwich at the bar will cost you £9. Two gin and tonics came to £20. The ambiance, decor and surroundings were in keeping with the prices – e.g tasteful, elegant and lovely to be in.

All in all, this is a very good hotel and I would definitely recommend it.

Room Tip: We were in the East Wing which was ideal for the wedding which was held in the Windsor Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lousally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Please accept our apoliges for the problem you experienced with your shower. A member of our Maintenance Department is always available if an issue such as this is reported. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel's grounds and setting and also that our staff were able to assist. We appreicate your feedback and thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
120 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed in one of the suites on the 2nd floor of the main building and were impressed by the beauty of the halls and room. There was an incredible amount of space and character in our room. The grounds of the hotel are also very beautiful and were lovely to take a stroll around in the sunshine. Breakfast was buffet style, but well prepared with excellent service.

Downsides: As others have mentioned it is in a little need of a makeover. We were a little disappointed that the suite came with only a double bed, a very small bath and not great water pressure. Also, dinner in the restaurant was very overpriced and it was very hard to get someone's attention to order. These are just small things though and overall we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaLaLauraLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Dear Guest, We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and I can advise that some specific rooms are scheduled for a planned program of refurbishment to commence shortly.
Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarrow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Having previously stayed here a few years back we decided to stay here again as our original visit was nice.On arrival everything seemed to be the same as before,check in not the fastest but ok ,we recieved our room straight away even though we had checked in a few hours early so that was a good start.
The room was a superior double in the annexe to the side of the main building on the first floor with superb views of the garden and the river thames.The rooms if i am honest could do with a bit of a make over but in saying that it did not spoil our stay as they were clean and tidy.
We stayed two nights and dined in the restaurant both nights.The service was good and the food superb , only small portions ,but typical of similar standard cuisine i think ,and at a price of £29.95 for three courses could not complain.
The breakfast on the first morning was not the best , some of the cooked breakfast was not too hot ,but nexy morning it was fine
The only issue we had was on the second night ,due to several private functions and company seminars we were unable to find anywhere to sit for a drink in the various nice rooms the hotel has as they were all been used.
To sum up though a very nice stay, the hotels buildings and surrounding area are stunning and if the weather is nice there is nowhere better.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keane31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to read that you once again enjoyed the hotel's grounds and unique setting and we hope you choose to return on a future occasion when it is not so busy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This hotel is in a lovely setting and the hotel and grounds are outstanding.

Our room was on the ground floor in an annex building overlooking the Thames, the rooms appear a little dated but I thought in keeping with the hotel. Everywhere was spotlessly clean.

The best thing about this hotel is the staff, they were all fantastic and well trained

We wished we could have stayed longer and will definately return again in the future

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gailbrown100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RAS19, General Manager at The Oakley Court, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments regarding our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Oakley Court Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne End, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Went for a meal there on Sunday , waited for 1 1/2 hrs. Kids pasta arrived it was actaully cooked in Tomato Soup, Salmon and noodles where inedible and as for the £16 burger.
Don't bother eating there if you want to enjoy your dat.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
2.9 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,640 reviews
2.7 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oakley Court? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oakley Court

Property: The Oakley Court
Address: Windsor Road | Water Oakley, Windsor SL4 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Windsor
#2 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#2 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
#2 Green Hotel in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Oakley Court 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oakley Court is a quintessential country house. But that's not it... there's more, a lot more. If we said to you a location that's been the setting of many films, with 118 bedrooms, its own polo team and Her Majesty The Queen as a visitor would you believe us? Luckily finding out is easy. Our beautiful location is only a short drive away from London and Heathrow Airport. Whether you're coming for business or pleasure, our rural beauty on the River Thames makes us a real getaway location for those wanting to escape the hectic routine of the city, or just life in general. Our unique history has over time helped to form an exciting character that's distinguished but unspoilt, charming and vibrant. Just kick back and relax, let us pour you a glass of champagne (or two!) - this is your time now, there's no routine here. Cosy, comfortable and luxurious, that's all the important bits you need to know for now. Come and stay, be wined and dined on a set that's created by us and narrated by you to produce an experience that's entirely unique and is yours alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Oakley Court reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakley Court Windsor
Hotel Oakley Court
Oakley Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing