We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good effort a few minor flaws”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed March 2, 2010

A good decent hotel where effort has been applied to refurbish the rooms to a high standard. Clambering over the toilet to reach the bath was a slight nuisance and so easily could have been avoided with a little more careful planning!
Car park is tight so will test your skill in most cars.
Food was good quality and great value.
10 minute walk from Windsor Castle and 2 minutes from park makes location desirable and quiet.
Avoid breakfast sausages as like so many hotels now only cooked on one side.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

444 - 450 of 488 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2009

I stayed in the Royal Adelaide last week for a night. The room, an 'executive' single was perfectly acceptable and nicely decorated in the standard creams and browns but as with so many single rooms, it overlooked the car park at the rear. However, it and the bathroom were fine. No Radio 4, which was poor service. Only Capital or Classis FM. The major drawback was the layout of the hotel with endless corridors and up and down staircases everywhere. I was quite exhausted by the time I'd lugged my case to my room. I'd foolishly turned down an offer of help with my case!
Unfortunately, there was a wedding going on so I could hear the disco but it didn't stop me going to sleep. Since it was pouring with rain and I was tired, I ate at the hotel. The drabness and emptiness of the dining room should have alerted me. Very sub standard dried up burger with OK chips and a house red wine (Rioja, apparently) that was so appauling that even I, a seasoned drinker, couldn't manage it!
I wanted to do some emailing but the Adelaide is one of those rip off hotels that charge for a wi-fi connection. £2 for 30 mins, £3.50 for an hour or £10 for 24 hours. I used my dongle instead.
Breakfast was passable but the coffee was unspeakable. Staff were friendly but I was a bit surprised when checking out - the lad on the desk asked me if I'd enjoyed my supper and when I said I'd had better, quick as a flash he asked me if I'd had worse. When I said yes, he seemed to think all was well. While I appreciate his attempt at humour, I was a bit taken aback and as a concequence of the sub standard food, will not be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubblesEastCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

We spent our last night in England at the Royal Adelaide. Right from the start Sarah the concierge made us very welcome and we settled into our executive room (stairs, no lift, standard not too bad, all facilities, quite roomy but perhaps a little expensive for what you get, although breakfast was included as well as car parking and this needs to be taken into account). We ate in the dining room that night and the meal was good and the service was better. Next day a hearty breakfast and a late, late check out ... thanks again Sarah.

The castle is within walking distance as is the town centre and Heathrow is within 30 minutes. A great place to start or finish your trip.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FHILLAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2009

very small rooms, tiny staircases leading up to room. it is an old building and everything creaks, so it is decently noisy from the internal noise. the staff are unmemorable, except that the cleaning staff stole my girlfriends magazine. crazy!

a full cooked breakfast was pretty good. the room was kinda cute, but the smallest I have ever stayed in. for example, the bed is against the wall, so one person has to climb over the other to exit the bed.

it is a 10 minute walk into gorgeous windsor. it is a short 20 minute taxi drive to Heathrow, so very convenient location.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gruntor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2009

We loved our stay. The rooms were small, and our teenagers had to do with a very small double for the two of them (good for them!), but we could not have had better service from the nice young gentleman at the desk. He allowed us to park in the open Mgr spot for the night, he switched rooms for us to be closer to the kids, gave us great suggestions for dinner, and basically took care of our every need with a smile! I wish I could remember his name to thank him personally here. The room was upscale but small, and the breakfast was wonderful! Highly recommend for a perfect "inn" stay!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nkbnkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

We were supposed to stay in this supposed 4 star hotel for 2 nights, arrived no parking available, directed to NCP car pak machine broken, informed to park in town centre and walk back, receptionist said no manager available, I said by law there must be she said resturant manager was in I said he'd do. They didn't put the phone on hold so I heard the whole conversation - staff not interested not there problem if we have a big car ???? We were driving a Vauxhall Insignia not a particularly big car.
IF YOU DRIVE A BUBBLE CAR AND DONT MIND BEING SPOKEN TO OR ABOUT LIKE AN ABSOLUTE IDIOT THIS IS THE HOTEL FOR YOU - OTHERWISE STAY WELL CLEAR!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Gem235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2009

very nice hotel, lovely room and bathroom, great breakfast. The only downside is the parking - get there early to park! If not the hotel will direct you to a car park down the road - not too far, just a bit annoying.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grg25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Adelaide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Address: Allkins Court 46 Kings Road, Windsor SL4 2AG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Adelaide)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $92 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Adelaide Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly opposite the famous Long Walk is The Royal Adelaide Hotel with its striking royal blue front. Privately owned The Royal Adelaide prides itself with high levels of genuine hospitality and is regarded as a true gem by past guests and tourists. All 43 guest bedrooms feature modern amenities, free view flat screen TV's, full size writing desks, full independently controlled air-conditioning and free WI-Fi. The hotel features a private car park which requires pre booking and a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Royal Adelaide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Adelaide Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing