We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, Barely At That :-(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Where do I begin? Poor impression straight from the start; we arrived late only to find an empty lobby and no Reception staff, rang the bell for 10+ minutes only to have to go "locate" the on-duty guy hiding in the kitchen who then said he had "just stepped away"...

Finding your room in this rabbit warren maze is unbelievable; narrow hallways up/down stairs through multiple doorways and left/right turns, just ridiculous! I wouldn't want to try to find my way out in a fire!

Rooms are small, decor appears to be nice at first but quickly gives way to its tired and tatty underpinnings. Beds are short, too stiff for my liking and the pillows are just awful. Heat is by radiator, either too hot or freezing depending which side of the bed you sleep on. No electrical outlets by the bed mean cpap wearers will need an extension cord for power.

Bathrooms are smallish but adequate and outside noise is low at night but becomes loud from 0600 onward. If you need to park (good luck) there is a private car park but it's tiny and tight, arrive early or it's the street for you. Oh, and it's "resident only" close to the hotel so let's hope it isn't raining or worse when you arrive.

Overall, one of the worst hotels I've stayed at and typical for Britain. Not recommended at all - sorry!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Guest. Many thanks for your review left on the trip advisor site for others to be enjoyed.

Having investigated your stay I am able to give you some feedback on your concerns raised. The night porter was on his scheduled public area walk to ensure that all doors and windows are locked I can only apologise for the inconvenience caused.

The Royal Adelaide hotel is over 300 years old and is a grade 2 listed building and as such it has corridors which are part of its charm, however I am pleased to report that we have more than adequate fire exits (which are clearly indicted) should such an emergency occur.

All bedrooms have inverter air-conditioning units on top of the conventional radiator, which can be used to provide extra heat should guests require it (the controls are next to the bed). I would like to advise that there is no on street parking in Windsor and that we operate our own car park at the back of the hotel. Parking spaces are limited and have to be reserved to avoid disappointment. Philipp Weiss – General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (484)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

258 - 264 of 484 reviews

A Best Western traveler
1
Reviewed November 27, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
Thank A Best Western traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

The hotel is in a good position to access the Castle and shopping centre. The hotel itself was a bit disappointing. We booked a standard double room. When we arrived we were put in a building not attached to the main building, which housed 4 rooms. The hotel didn't seem that busy, so can't believe it was full in the main building. We were lucky it wasn't raining, because we would have got wet walking over for breakfast as we had to go to the main entrance to get in as the back door was locked! Staff could have been more receptive by offering more than one cup of tea or coffee at breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Ordered room service, prawn cocktail, sea Bass n cheese platter, I stuffed my self like a king, had no food all day. Was a bit concerned because hotel was having a very large evening dinner conference, so I thought it could affect the service n quality of my meal, wow how wrong I was, the food was excellent, excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VRODPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Very nice Hotel ,staff very friendly and helpful , lovely and clean , meals all well prepared and cooked. . I would have preferred fresh milk for the tea and coffee in the room ,rather than that disgusting UHT stuff though .Also only two tea bags is not enough . The teapot at breakfast is so small . Otherwise a great Hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed in a lovely room (17) with a nice view of the Castle. The room was not particularily large but fine for a couple of nights - very nice en suite and tea/coffee facilities + flatscreen TV. The staff were all really friendly and efficient and the cooked breakfast was very tasty. The hotel is 7-8 mins walk from the town centre one way and 2 mins from the 'Long Walk' in Windsor Great Park - so, a great location. We would happily return and recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ART1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Location seemed good, appeared ok at check in. Got to the room to be greeted by the smallest double bed. Looked more single. Tiny bath! We decided the room was more suited for single occupant. Attempted to go to sleep, room too hot, opened window, too noisy from road, attempted to go to sleep again on edge of bed (both of us) simply impossible to get comfortable. I write this at 4am, tired, and still unable to go to sleep due to noise, heat, hobbit sized bed.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zimmo34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Adelaide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Address: Allkins Court 46 Kings Road, Windsor SL4 2AG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Adelaide)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $89 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Adelaide Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly opposite the famous Long Walk is The Royal Adelaide Hotel with its striking royal blue front. Privately owned The Royal Adelaide prides itself with high levels of genuine hospitality and is regarded as a true gem by past guests and tourists. All 43 guest bedrooms feature modern amenities, free view flat screen TV's, full size writing desks, full independently controlled air-conditioning and free WI-Fi. The hotel features a private car park which requires pre booking and a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Royal Adelaide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Adelaide Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing