We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have changed personnel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were greeted by a very unfriendly gentleman on the reception who hasn't quite learned yet that a smile and welcome goes a long way. We were informed the car parking in the hotel car park is £15 / night, a total rip off, my wife explained she was disabled and in fairness they didn't charge. The room was very clean, however the bathroom was extremely small. If you put your arms out you could touch all walls, and the shower head was broken. There was no one eating in the restaurant so we went into Windsor and ate. The nights sleep was awful because in the early hours of the morning the dreaded extractor fan came on, and after that sleep was impossible. How many hotels have I stayed in that do that? Many!! Breakfast was £14.95 each. A total rip off. It was just a standard hotel breakfast.

Will we visit again. Definitely not!

Room Tip: There is no swimming pool or fitness centre but trip advisor doesn't allow you to void that cate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deneuk12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2013

Dear Deanuk12
Many thanks for your review on this site for others to be enjoyed. I am pleased that you found the room clean n and comfortable and that we were able to replace your shower head. Looking at your reservation your booking was a room only booking so excluding the breakfast which I understand you enjoyed in the restaurant. Please be advised that there is no free parking in Windsor and therefore parking has to be reserved and at a cost of £15 per car per night – but I am pleased to say that we are the cheapest hotel car parking in Windsor. Kind regards Philipp Weiss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

263 - 269 of 464 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

The location was fabulous but the rooms were definitely not up to par considering the nightly rates. The breakfast was good and the manager was very friendly and helpful- wish I could say the same for some of the other staff. A bittersweet experience that could be solved with a little extra room maintenance and staff training.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annie1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

I picked this hotel for its location and price - its only a few minutes walk outside of the bussle of the town centre - and one a stone's throw from the Long Walk to Windsor Castle. Remember that Windsor is on the flight path to one of UK's busiest airports.

Its an old property - with creaky floorboards and a fair amount of internal noise from neighbouring rooms. My room was confortable with tea / coffee / iron & board / radio. There is a mix of room sizes, but the hotel's website describes them fairly- and gives some choice if you want to pay for a bigger room. Free wifi for guests too. Its lost a bit of its character - often the way as bathrooms and aircon is retrofitted, but my room seemed well maintained.

I didn't use the car park or the bar - but take note of other reviewer's comments on those.

Pleased to report the breakfast this morning included a selection of cereals (including muesli). The cooked breakfast and toast were also good.

Everything was clean and tidy and the staff (especially the morning crew) friendly and efficient. At this price I give the hotel a "very good" rating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keitharrowsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This hotel is ideally located, quiet, short walk to town and not too far from a nice river walk. My room was very nicely appointed but quite small. I was on my own but I would imagine if there were two people you could not both be standing up at the same time. If you pull the chair out from the desk you cut the room in two. I am quite slight and could not bend down in the shower, my sister would not get past the shower door. Fortunately the aircon is excellent but unfortunately makes a quite loud gurgling noise that sounds, for the older reader, like Jaques Cousteau is doing a documentary. The food is good but with a very strong North African influence. Breakfast was disappointing as no muesly, not even Alpen. Drinks are expensive too. There is a very nice pub a couple of hundred yards away with a lot more choice and more reasonable prices. The car park is offensively expensive, remember to book, and very small. Other 'parkers' quite understandably parked so that they could open a door to get out which meant that they took a goodly chunk of the parking space which dominoed. I got back one afternoon to find only one space available and after much manoeuvring managed to get parked but I had to climb out of the window to get out because I could not open the door far enough to get out.
In short, if you are coming to this hotel, come on the train or bus, be prepared to pay a lot for drinks, enjoy compact showers, one standing up at a time in the rooms and an average breakfast.
Good location though.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilnShell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Very tiny room with very uncomfortable beds. Good location, walking distance to castle and Eton. Good breakfast and staff . But due to the size of the room and quality of bed I will not recommend this hotel for even overnight stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avgnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Booked into here for one night as we fancied a day and night in Windsor. We were in Adelaide house which was a building detached from the Hotel. Lovely room, Queen size very comfy bed, clean and perfect for our needs. Was a short walk to the town. Their Car park was secure but a little pricey at £15 a night as you have no choice to put it anywhere else. Breakfast was included at £110 for the two of us for one night and what we had to eat was okay. We found the receptionist friendly and helpful. ....only downside was the creaky floorboards in the room above us when the guests were up there but not so bad to put us off staying again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoopsnCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were travelling to Dorset and booked this to break the journey. Great location as walking distance to castle, bars, parks, shops etc. Paid for parking which just made things easy for us £15 bit pricey for night but not too busy so checked with reception and left car following morning for a stroll around castle area so balanced out a bit price wise. Room was small double but modern, clean with all facilities. Breakfast was good and staff were fine, all in all we had no real complaints. Some people have mentioned corridors a bit "tired" which is a fair comment but did not worry me as I just walked along them and went to our room :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1stchoicefancydress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
2.3 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Adelaide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Address: Allkins Court 46 Kings Road, Windsor SL4 2AG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Adelaide)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $96 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Adelaide Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly opposite the famous Long Walk is The Royal Adelaide Hotel with its striking royal blue front. Privately owned The Royal Adelaide prides itself with high levels of genuine hospitality and is regarded as a true gem by past guests and tourists. All 43 guest bedrooms feature modern amenities, free view flat screen TV's, full size writing desks, full independently controlled air-conditioning and free WI-Fi. The hotel features a private car park which requires pre booking and a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Royal Adelaide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Adelaide Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing