We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Derbyshire England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Having never been to Windsor before, we wanted to be central to the area without it costing the earth but also to be able to get to Legoland to keep a 5yr old

This hotel was easy to find and was only 7 mins walk to Windsor Castle and all the beautiful shops. Plenty to see and do.

Staff at the hotel are welcoming and helpful. Breakfast is plentiful with lots of cooked breakfast options. Lots of cereals to choose from, fresh fruit, yoghurt, Danish pastries and toast. You can eat in the hotel at night which costs £18 per person for 2 courses but we didn't try this out as we couldn't seen a child's menu, although I'm sure they would accommodate them.

Hotel rooms are large with a flat screen Tv and tea and coffee making facilities. Beds are comfortable. Bathroom is also large but could have done win a bit of a spruce up but it's not like you spend your stay in there is it?

Overall a brilliant location and quality hotel. Well definitely use again.

Room Tip: If you can't see any availability for rooms on the company website or any alternative sites, tel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princessbelle04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    156
    128
    38
    21
See reviews for
40
194
26
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

We booked the hotel for 2 nights, the first night we took their castle special deal (£156) which included evening meal and entrance to the castle. The dinner had plenty of choice and of very good quality. The package was good value as the castle tickets are £17 each. The second night we had to pay full price (£105) for our room with breakfast. Room 12 was clean and of decent size though the bathroom was a little tight and the bath would of been a squeeze for any adult. The hotel is a 10 minuite walk to the main entrance to the castle.My only real gripe was being charged £15 a day for parking. This makes the hotel over priced (though most Windsor hotels seem to charge this) and visiting Windsor again I would look at staying on the outskirts or using the Travel Inn in the centre which gives a discount for parking.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in Royal Adelaide hotel for 4 nights with our 2 y.o. son. They gave us a Z-bed for him and there was no more room left in their Family room. We had to leave our buggy downstairs in the cloack room. Our family room was quite isolated, which was a good thing, because doors are not soundproof at all. Note that this hotel is famous for weddings and receptions so during weekends it gets quite noisy. Bar and restaurant are very good. We have spent a lot of time downstairs with our son and staff was very friendly. I gave 4 stars only for the size of the rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for an isolated Family room if you travel with children and want a good night sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gala095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed on business. Polite helpful staff on checking. Dinner was fresh made fish cakes. ALS full breakfast plenty of choice and again fresh.
Free wifi a bonus. Makes me so angry when you have to pay. Car park available at a charge.
Room 36 very spacious. Only down side is if there is a conference in the hotel one must walk around the maze of corridors.
I will return.
Good value for money in a prime spot

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank putoguiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Guest. Many thanks for your review left on the trip advisor site for others to be enjoyed. I am extremely pleased that we were able to provide you with a comfortable and relaxing stay. We pride ourselves with genuine hospitality and fresh food and I am very happy that you received both. I am looking forward in welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel sprawls over various pokey corridors and up and down lots of stairs. Not a good choice if you need wheelchair access. Our double room (room 34) was not large enough to realistically be called a double room. A single bed would have been suitable for this size of room with its VERY SMALL en suite. The room was not the cleanest either, with dust on bedside tables and desk, and paper rubbish left from previous guests. (Only the middle of the floor seemed to have been vacuumed). Having said all this, the staff were very welcoming and polite.

Room Tip: Ask what size of room you will be getting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FireflyB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaidehotel, General Manager at The Royal Adelaide Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Guest. Many thanks for your review. I am glad that you found the hotel staff very welcoming and polite I shall pass your comments on to the relevant departments. The hotel is over 300 years old and therefore we are unable to oblige with a lift – however we offer luggage assistance for every guest on check in/out. Room 34 is a standard double room (which is what you have booked) however during your stay we had a superior room available and I would have been more than happy to upgrade you if we would have known your dissatisfaction. In terms of the cleanliness I can only apologise for the inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
127 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Stayed their for a work thing. nice room, large bathroom. Decoration seemed new. Car park a bit tight. Breakfast was great the next moring (although wasn't quite up for it, but that wasn't the hotels fault!).

just a short walk into the town as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Durham_Bloke_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
97 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Firstly we stayed here on a voucher which was excellent value for money! Room was ok, location excellent for the centre of Windsor. Evening meal was a mixed bag, I had soup and risotto, both were ok but nothing special. Hubby had the mackerel and lamb which he said were nice. Breakfast buffet pretty typical for most hotels made better by the very pleasant and cheerful service of the young lad that waited on us. Two things put a slight damper on our stay, the main one was the early morning (7am) call on Sunday that we definately didn't ask for, the second was, having been rudely awakened I put the kettle on for a much needed cuppa only to find the only teabag available was peppermint!

Room Tip: We had a room at the front which was noisy with traffic if you kept the window open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaretangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
3.0 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Adelaide Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Adelaide Hotel

Property: The Royal Adelaide Hotel
Address: Allkins Court 46 Kings Road, Windsor SL4 2AG, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Royal Adelaide)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Royal Adelaide Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly opposite the famous Long Walk is The Royal Adelaide Hotel with its striking royal blue front. Privately owned The Royal Adelaide prides itself with high levels of genuine hospitality and is regarded as a true gem by past guests and tourists. All 43 guest bedrooms feature modern amenities, free view flat screen TV's, full size writing desks, full independently controlled air-conditioning and free WI-Fi. The hotel features a private car park which requires pre booking and a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, HRS, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Royal Adelaide Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Adelaide Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing