We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$165
$132
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$90
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$89
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Oakley Court(Windsor)
$203
$187
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$128
$105
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Christopher Hotel(Eton)(Great Value!)
$117
$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$171
$161
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$47
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,034)
Filter reviews
3,034 results
Traveler rating
2,072
692
186
63
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,072
692
186
63
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvalet parkingcupcakesopposite the castlelovely hotelcar parkhigh streetperfect locationcooked breakfastmini barweekend breakwould highly recommend this hotellovely touchexecutive roomfantastic staylovely roombreakfast was excellentstayed for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,898 - 1,903 of 3,034 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Located in the very center. Hotel staffs were very kind and willing to help.The Caley restaurant was very nice too. It was a Scottish beef restaurant but we could also choose and fish menu, like fish and chips. There was also a kids menu. My child enjoyed the quiz on the kids menu.We stayed in the executive double room on the first floor. It was just in front of the old stylish medieval hut which was a cafe today. There were few things which made our stay uncomfortable . The complimentary water bottle , and discount voucher of the Caley restaurant were missing on our arrival which had been included in our rate plan. But as soon as we asked for them ,the staff handed in quickly . The sound of creeking floor was a lilltle bit disturbing but this was not the special case in the historical area hotel. We could not know there was no bathtub in the room until we got into the room, but since it was a short stay it didn't bother us very much. Maybe the corridor is little bit tricky. To get to our room from the lift is just like finding the exit in the maze.
The room was newly refurbished and clean.
I can recommend this hotel to my friend and willing to stay again.

Room Tip: If you don't mind the noise but requesting a beautiful view,you should request a room on the High street.
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andymimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed account and was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall.

I appreciate your constructive feedback, which will be discussed with the team so that the appropriate remedial training may take place.

We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

This is a compact, modern hotel practically across the street from Windsor Castle. There are lots of restaurants, pubs, and shopping areas right nearby. It is only a ten-minute walk to the small bridge across the Thames into Eton. The small lobby was really jumping with well-dressed, somewhat drunk people, as this was the last day of Ascot.

The front desk service service was good, and no other service was requested during our one-night stay. Our room was large enough, modern, and comfortable. But, we had a couple of complaints. First, there were no drawers anywhere. There was a small closet, but most of our stuff had to stay in our suitcases. The tiny bar of soap was so small, that it fell though the the grate that was the soap dish in the shower. The shower was nice, except it had one of those European glass half-doors. There was no way to use the strong shower without getting the floor soaking wet. Finally, the safe was located at the bottom of the closet at floor level. So, the only way you could read the directions, set the combination, and lock/unlock the safe was to get down real low and put your face near the floor. What was the designer of these rooms thinking?!?!?

One last thought. We planned having breakfast before heading to the airport, but it was so pricey, that we decided to walk a short distance to find another place to eat. The cold continental breakfast was 17.50 pounds per person, which translated to about $30 USD. We expect to pay high prices in England, but this was just excessive!

If we could get the same discounted room rate, we'd stay here again because most hotels have their flaws. At full price, though, we would hope to find a place with fewer flaws.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest

Dear Guest

It was with great concern that I received your review following your recent stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

May I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with your stay.

Please be assured that your feedback is not at all reflective of our usual standards and it has been the subject of a management team review to ensure that any similar lapses could not be repeated.

I was pleased to note that the service you received at reception was good and hope that with my reassurance, you will return to the Macdonald Windsor. Do contact me direct when you are planning a visit and I would be delighted to take care of the arrangements for you.

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here as a couple and whilst visiting Windsor brilliant service checking in and throughout the stay. Room very spacious and clean and we had dinner in the restaurant which was also excellent. Windsor castle is right on the doorstep as are the shops and restaurants. I would definitely recommend to stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Daisy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on a weekend break. Fantastic experience from dropping the car at the valet parking through to departure, including being able to leave the car in the car park until later on in the day after checkout. On a hot weekend the air conditioning throughout was especially welcome. Really nice and genuinely friendly staff. Room modern, contemporary in design, not much of a view but it was only a standard room. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful. Ideal location for shopping, sightseeing and evening entertainment. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brightside66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially our location and the design of the hotel.

It is great to know that the team were friendly and attentive and that you would recommend us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We stayed for one night in this hotel as part of a short stay in Windsor. The hotel itself is really nicely furnished and we were really pleased with our room. All the staff at the hotel were extremely helpful and attentive, nothing was too much trouble. A few minutes after getting to our room on arrival, reception rang to check that all was ok. Little touches like that makes a guest feel very welcome. Would definitely stay again, and at other Macdonald Hotels if this is their standard.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jackdawsOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed your bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews