We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a 2 day break in Windsor on 28th & 29th July and chose to stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel which was excellent. All the staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The Hotel itself was very luxurious and our room was brilliant. We had breakfast at the Hotel which was lovely. The Hotel is ideally positioned within Windsor for the Castle shops etc. We really enjoyed our stay, couldn't fault it.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear about your positive experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,919
    624
    167
    55
    14
See reviews for
426
1,509
67
386
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed here as part of a recent business conference which was being hosted at the hotel. A fantastic stay from start to finish. Wonderful, spacious room with cold air conditioning and modern facilities. Location couldn't have been better, and although my room didn't have a view, I was there on business so couldn't care less. Cleaned to a high standard every day I was there.

Friendly staff, great food - some amazing catered lunches. Breakfast very tasty and although a little steep at £19.50, the quality is that of a top restaurant breakfast so can be accepted.

Friendly staff in the reception and bar areas. Dylan in the bar was a great host for a couple of hours, and Vladimir, who hosted the conference facilities, also couldn't do enough to assist. Speaking of the conference and meeting rooms - fantastically appointed and furnished. The addition of a snack bar to keep the blood sugar up is a great idea.

A wonderful hotel and I will be back with my family next time, and hopefully soon! A great hotel, surprisingly affordable, and a great stay. I was sad to leave, especially as I then got stuck for 4 hours on the M25, but that's a story for another day... :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details you provided. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back with your family soon!

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014 via mobile

A regular traveller using trip advisor as a means of booking, I never "find time" to give feedback. This hotel has inspired me to do so. To be honest I wasn't expecting as good an experience as reviews led me to believe. Having been to Windsor twice before were using more as stop over for heathrow than for sightseeing. Location is excellent for exploring Windsor and eton, coming in off a busy street to the oasis of air conditioned calm was wonderful. Room was clean and well appointed. Staff efficient and friendly. Ate in hotel restaurant which we would not normally do but food was good and service excellent. Overall an excellent experience and would now be my place of choice if ever passing through again!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carrie0104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially our location and the cleanliness of your room.

It is great to know that the team were friendly and attentive and that you will return - we look forward to welcoming you.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
224 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Staff excellent. Perfectly located. Not stupid prices either. Nicely appointed rooms if would have happily stayed much longer than the two days. Only one minor thing. Mini bar still had the last visitors strawberries in it... As I say minor. The breakfast was perfect.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireTwig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed at the MacDonald Windsor for 1 night on Saturday. Being a business travel agent I have seen a lot of hotels. The check in staff were wonderful and very helpful. Our room was gorgeous, an executive room. Stunning and spacious and would definitely recommend upgrading for the price difference.
We ate in Caley's and told them it was our anniversary and felt they made the extra effort to welcome us and gave us a lovely heart anniversary board with chocolates and cupcakes! Lovely touch. They have some live music which was lovely. The food was great, there was a slight mix up on my main but this was dealt with quickly so my husband wasn't left waiting for me too long before I got what was ordered.
The breakfast in the morning was plentiful and varied and lovely to have a menu to order from.
We saw a couple in the reception having drinks with their dog and they explained dogs are welcome which I think is a lovely touch as we have a dog and always find it hard to arrange for her to be looked after. The hotel is very clean and the staff are very willing to make the stay enjoyable.
I want to go back already as Windsor is stunning.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenifriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear about your positive experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

Excellent hotel, and great staff. It was a great experience from the moment we dropped off the car with the concierge, to leaving yesterday. The rooms are lovely, the bathroom had the fluffiest towel's i have seen in a hotel for many a year!
Breakfast was excellent, and Sunday lunch at Caleys fantastic.
All in all a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team, your room, breakfast and lunch experiences. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

As a family we stayed in the hotel for 5 days and found the staff to be wonderful, very friendly and engaging with us all. Especially my quiet son who loved the hotel, the atmosphere and the surroundings. The food was very good and the breakfast was excellent. It is an excellent location right in the centre of the town which was great for coming and going around Windsor, but also once you went back to your hotel door you had your own little haven away from the mad crowds of the street. Rooms was lovely, clean with all the necessary equipment etc. The room was good size and the lovely slippers, robes and different treats left on our bed at night was a lovely touch after a busy day... The bar was lovely with nice atmosphere which suits our family really we'll. The treat for my son was going her at night for a drink. I would recommend this hotel to anyone and will be staying again. We'll done Macdonald and especially to all your staff who we came across those 5 days, you made our wee break....

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith7278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and especially that you felt so well looked after by the team!

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing