We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
bedford
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic customer service”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Lovely hotel great location and so well looked after during our business meeting. Smart hotel recently refurbished - good meeting rooms and wonderful service. Recommend will go back, opposite castle, great location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bedbrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay for your business meeting. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear of your experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,951
    631
    168
    55
    17
See reviews for
430
1,529
68
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Our company headquarters is near Heathrow airport. We elect to stay in Windsor due to the access to restaurants and other things to do in the evening. The MacDonald hotel goes out of their way to make us comfortable and at home. The rooms are very nice, the hotel is in an ideal location, and the staff is very professional and friendly. Andy, who works in the lounge, went out of his way to book dinner reservations for a large group. Andy took very good care of us during our stay. Very attentive and always offering assistance for our every need. Andy has a smile and professional manner that goes a long way with guests.
I also had need to ship something to the U.S. during my stay. The front desk took care of everything for me including going to the post office, picking up a box, and taking it back over. The MacDonald House is an extraordinary hotel whether for business or pleasure. Thanks for all the wonderful service and hospitality during our stay. My business colleagues and I agree we will definitely stay there again upon our next visit to the UK.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice. I never used the fitness center and i don't believe they have a pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear about your positive experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I organised an overnight here for 10 business colleagues. They were attending a rugby match at Twickenham. The concierge made my life so simple. Taxis to and from the game were great value and were waiting for us both for leaving and coming back.

One of our guests arrived late with a sickly son in tow. He told me afterwards that the staff could not have been more supportive.

I will come back here with my wife as the location is great. Not the hectic business of London but with good restaurants and bars. You have the opportunity to take the Long Walk from Windsor castle along a broad boulevard.

Tip. For that special person take one of their winter warmer weekend breaks. These are priced for those of us without deep pockets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with your colleagues and the team looked after you well.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon with your wife!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kincardine, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We stayed in one of the hotel's 'featured double rooms' and I was very pleased. The room was clean, spacious, quiet (even though it faced the road), beautiful and classy.
The bathroom had a heated floor and a large bathtub with a separate shower. The tub was so nice to unwind in after a day of walking around. There was also a heated towel rack. What more could you ask for in the bathroom?
Bottled water was provided and room service was quick. The hotel has a nice bar area that makes cappuccinos very well.
We had the full English breakfast and I couldn't eat it all as it was huge!
The staff were very helpful and I would not hesitate to go back as I was very impressed and I am very fussy about where I stay. I also plan to check out other MacDonald hotels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Pishaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular your room and facilities, service from the team and your breakfast experience. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We stayed here overnight for a weekend at Legoland.
It's in a great spot, right in the centre of town. Easy walk to the shops and restaurants but you wouldn't want to stray too far from the hotel. The accommodation is great, from the quality of the amenities to the toys in the room for the kids. Thoughtful little touches like games for the kids was appreciated.
And the food in the restaurant was good, something for everyone and the service was very friendly.
Breakfast was great too. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AKZ-and-I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay with your family.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I am particularly fussy when it comes to hotels so i was delighted with the Macdonald at Windsor.
My partner and I stayed for one night last week and the service was superb, right through from the valet parking, check-in and check out.
The room was perfectly clean, bed was super comfortable and the room was delightful with a view of the Castle.
The only thing that let it down was the "southern fried chicken" in the restaurant. That was overpriced and average quality.
If you want a great hotel, with terrific service in the centre of Windsor, I would highly recommend this. Just avoid the fried chicken in the restaurant!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your stay with us.

I was pleased to learn that you were impressed with the hotel overall, however may I apologise for your disappointment with the southern fried chicken dish you experienced in the restaurant. I would like to assure you that I have discussed your feedback with our Head Chef, who has asked especially to be associated with my apology. A review is underway with the team to ensure that any similar lapses cannot be repeated and I appreciate you bringing this matter to my attention.

Thank you for the recommendation - we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Have to say this Hotel and Restaurant are first class !
Great Location
The staff are all very friendly and the food ( Lemon Sole ) is great value and amazing !
Parking underground is separate and quite costly so be careful ( Lots of public car parks though )
Well done keep up the high standards

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly your dining experience. Please be assured that I have passed your comments to them, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate such a helpful review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing