We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nearly perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sevenoaks
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very nearly perfect”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I am particularly fussy when it comes to hotels so i was delighted with the Macdonald at Windsor.
My partner and I stayed for one night last week and the service was superb, right through from the valet parking, check-in and check out.
The room was perfectly clean, bed was super comfortable and the room was delightful with a view of the Castle.
The only thing that let it down was the "southern fried chicken" in the restaurant. That was overpriced and average quality.
If you want a great hotel, with terrific service in the centre of Windsor, I would highly recommend this. Just avoid the fried chicken in the restaurant!

Room Tip: Upgrade to Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your stay with us.

I was pleased to learn that you were impressed with the hotel overall, however may I apologise for your disappointment with the southern fried chicken dish you experienced in the restaurant. I would like to assure you that I have discussed your feedback with our Head Chef, who has asked especially to be associated with my apology. A review is underway with the team to ensure that any similar lapses cannot be repeated and I appreciate you bringing this matter to my attention.

Thank you for the recommendation - we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,962
    638
    170
    56
    17
See reviews for
432
1,538
69
403
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Have to say this Hotel and Restaurant are first class !
Great Location
The staff are all very friendly and the food ( Lemon Sole ) is great value and amazing !
Parking underground is separate and quite costly so be careful ( Lots of public car parks though )
Well done keep up the high standards

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly your dining experience. Please be assured that I have passed your comments to them, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate such a helpful review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here for one night as part if a surprise!

We have eaten here a few times before but never stayed.

The welcome from the reception team was fantastic! We were checked in by Adele who was very professional, helpful and knowledgeable of the local area!

Went out around town during the afternoon and popped back in for a light late lunch in the lounge area near Reception. Service and food were fantastic as always.

Our Executive room was very spacious and clean definitely worth upgrading. Room only had a walk in shower but that was fine because it was huge!!!

Dinner was great good steaks on offer definitely a must if you are a meat lover!
The addition of the steak club fridge where you can see certain steaks before ordering is great! Service was quick and efficient yet still friendly and personal!

Breakfast in the morning was the one and only let down for us, we were allocated a table quickly but that was it we received no other contact with staff, even after trying to get their attention! They were busy but there seemed to be a serious lack of organization!
But like i said this was the one and only let down!

We will still recommend this hotel and continue to visit on a regular basis!!

Room Tip: upgrade to an executive if you can they are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoatesBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your stay with us.

I was pleased to learn that you had such an enjoyable stay with us overall, however may I apologise for your disappointment with the slow service you experienced at breakfast. I would like to assure you that this is in no way reflective of our usual standards of service. Your feedback has been addressed with the team to ensure that any similar lapses cannot be repeated and I appreciate you bringing this matter to my attention.

Thank you for the recommendation - we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night a few weeks ago. The hotel is lovely with decent size bedrooms and luxury bedding. the breakfast was very nice although they did seem short staffed at breakfast. The location is perfect just in front of the castle. Would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimberleyZara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

This is a high class establishment... Fabulous location opposite windsor castle..... I arrived super early in the morning after a flight into Heathrow... Expecting to drop bags and wander I was very impressed with the service of the night manager who checked me in and gave me access to our room at 0630- above and beyond!! I was then able to refresh and hop on a train into London from the nearby station.
The restaurant onsite had great food and was super convenient if a little pricey. We found a cafe next door for breakfast and set off on our UK adventure very refreshed after a comfy nights sleep. Recommend A++++

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank jplum73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially our location and the service from our Night Manager.

Thank you for the recommendation - we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My husband and I returned to the hotel this weekend two years after our original visit the night before we jetted off on our honeymoon. Our first stay was fabulous, a complimentary upgrade and a completely memorable experience, our second visit even better! We arrived on Sunday and had been given another complimentary upgrade, the room was amazing! In the oldest part of the hotel it had such character but was still very luxurious, under floor heating in the bathroom is a lovely touch. You are given fluffy robes and slippers to relax in which while a small touch, it's these small things that add up to the luxury feel of the hotel. The staff had left us a "welcome back" card in the room and two lovely cupcakes which we felt was rather lovely. Breakfast was also fabulous, a great choice and the staff are extremely attentive. Friends of ours living in Windsor have eaten here in the evening and said it was fab. So all in all, another fabulous stay, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your second stay with us, in particular the service from the team, your room and breakfast experience. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We have just returned from this hotel. We were able to check in early and make the most of our stay, very happy! The car was valet parked for us so we got on with our day! We returned at 3pm and ordered afternoon tea! Wow! Fab! Only complaint, we couldn't eat it all! As has been mentioned in other reviews, the staff are very helpful and friendly and you start relaxing very quickly. You feel very looked after. We had a lovely room, comfy bed, fridge, bath robes. We would stay here again. Negatives; slow service at breakfast, drench shower, hand held, not easy to use. The hotel is in a great location, opposite the castle, shops all around, plenty of eateries.

Room Tip: Front of the hotel could be noisy, right on the high street. We were at the back, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 846Tina54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the helpfulness of the staff. Please be assured that I have passed your comments to them, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate such a helpful review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing