We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I picked the hotel through a recommendation for my wife's birthday.And they were not wrong. From the moment we arrived we knew this was the right choice. The valet parking was fantastic and the service was exceptional. A great start! We had drinks in the bar by the log fire and the decor was very modern. Again service fantastic. We asked for an upgrade but the hotel was fully booked. There was no need. The room was perfect, arrived back from shopping etc and a birthday card from the hotel team and two cup cakes wishing my wife a great birthday. Great touch.The breakfast was top draw. If you want a great modern hotel,location, fantastic service then this hotel would be the one. Enjoy if you stay there!!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Nathbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit for your wife's birthday. I was really pleased to learn that the team took special care of you and you enjoyed the valet parking and your breakfast experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,103 - 2,109 of 2,993 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

My husband and I have just spent a night at the Macdonald Windsor hotel and we were pleasantly surprised with this treasure of a hotel. The staff are very courteous and helpful, the hotel is tastefully decorated, up to date and modern and the breakfast is filling and fab! Situated on the high street, the location is perfect for a shopping trip or theatre visit. If we are ever back in this neck of the woods I'm sure we'll visit again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarasmith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially our location and your breakfast experience.

It is great to know that the team were courteous and helpful and that you will return - we look forward to welcoming you.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at the Macdonald Windsor for one night whilst travelling in early November. The hotel is very modern, clean and all the staff are very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are very spacious and beds are very comfortable. Great location for Windsor Castle as it is right opposite the hotel. Will definitely stay her again when back in Windsor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kjenk72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Very good in all respects - service, staff, surroundings, cleanliness, efficiency.
A real luxury to be able to arrive 'home', in your hotel room, within 5 minutes or so of deciding you've had enough of the shops.
Having said that, it also applies to the other hotels on the high street here, but even so it's still a novelty for me.
Incidentally, we stayed here on a November 'deal', which roughly meant 2 nights stay for the price of one. Excellent value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vodkasprite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team, our central location and cleanliness. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A fab hotel, modern yet has the soft touches to make it feel welcoming. We booked on line and got a great deal which included a welcoming glass of champagne and a cheese/meat board for all four of us, all very acceptable plus a £10 credit per room (we booked 2 rooms) to use at the bar. Service was excellent as was the whole experience and it wasn't a problem for the reception to change our room to include a bath (instead of a shower only room), top marks all round. We even got a free newspaper in the morning and vallet service for our car. My guess is that this hotel is only a few years old as everything looks pristine and it all "works", plumbing, electrical a etc. I can't think of a better place to stay this side of London and with great rates I can't see it being beaten, give it a try.

Room Tip: Some rooms only have showers so ask when you book if you prefer a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details you provided. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The hotel is located almost opposite Windsor Castle. The entrance to the car park is at the rear and we had an overlong wait until the parking valet arrived. This (apart from a false fire alarm) was the only blemish on our one night stay. The car park is expensive at £28 for the night but very convenient. The lobby and bar area was very tastefully and attractively decorated for Xmas. Our executive room was very spacious and comfortable. It was elegantly furnished and decorated and the bathroom had a large shower. There was no bath so if this is important you need to check on booking. Breakfast was served in the restaurant adjacent to the bar area and was tasty and nicely served. Free wifi was available throughout the hotel. Service all through our stay was excellent extending to a letter of apology in the morning following the false fire alarm the previous evening. The hotel is well located for the tourist attractions and shopping of Windsor/Eton. We very much enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to our friends.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Hawtrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had an enjoyable stay overall, especially our location and your bedroom.

It is great to know that you would recommend us - we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Disappointed with birthday treat.
On arrival we were supposedly upgraded to "feature" room from executive one booked. Room was small and not as expected, view from small balcony ok but door wouldn't lock properly and came open during night.
Bed was uncomfortable and small not king size as we had booked, due to having a bad back most of night spent sleeping in chair.
Meals in restaurant ok but service very slow in evening although almost empty.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay to celebrate your birthday.

I was extremely sorry to learn of your disappointment with your feature room. Our rooms at the front of the hotel are very popular due to the view and I am sorry that you had been hoping for a larger bed. Please be assured that we would have been happy to arrange an alternative room for you had we been aware of your disappointment.

I would appreciate the opportunity of restoring your confidence in the hotel. Please can I ask you to contact me on gm.windsor@macdonald-hotels.co.uk so that I may reassure you personally.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
267 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $188 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing