We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rick”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

We had a two night stay with friends this weekend and could not fault the hotel and staff in any way at all.
The staff could not have been more attentive or courteous at all covering the reception, concierge, bar staff and the fabulous on site restaurant.. . They were all first class.
The rooms were immaculate with great room service when required.
Location could not be better and the parking to match.
The on site restaurant served first class food along with excellent service again.
Very impressed and will definitely stay again....wouldn't even bother looking anywhere else.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Rick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you so well and you particularly enjoyed your bedroom, restaurant experience and our location.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,933)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,076 - 2,082 of 2,933 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

My partner and I went here for a special occasion. It was really lovely. I'd mentioned when booking online that it was special and they made an effort to take especially good care of us. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahAroundtheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed in a classic double room for one night and we enjoyed it - location is unbeatable as you can walk to it from the train station (5mins on the flat) and it's opposite the castle. Tired from 3 hrs of train traveling and an afternoon around Windsor Castle it was lovely to return to a relaxing room with a large bed, lots of pillows, tea, telly. I would say our room was cosy but still spacious enough - bathroom had a large shower. However we didn't have a view from our room and the window was locked with a warning that it wasn't to be opened. This didn't bother us at all but I would recommend that if these were important to you then you may do well speaking to the reservation desk before booking. The staff were very professional and friendly - we felt very welcome as soon as we arrived. The breakfast was lovely - we had it as part of our Autumn special deal (£115 B&B for two of us). Incidentally I walked past a couple sitting in the lounge area having an afternoon tea and it looked the best I've seen for a while.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tc_teece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share such a detailed review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially our location, your bedroom and breakfast experience.

It is great to know that the team were professional and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Really pleased with this wonderful hotel. Perfect location in the very charming town of Windsor England. Very clean rooms and fresh smelling. Breakfast was nice too. Its not cheap, but then again it is next to the Queen so you can understand.
Thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay, particularly our location and your room.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here one night with our CIEtour group. The location was perfect for Windsor Castle and also convenient for Heathrow. The rooms and public areas were lovely, food was delicious. When I saw all the planes flying low overhead I was concerned about noise but the hotel must be well soundproofed. We did not hear anything once inside. Highly recommend!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank MoreTravelFun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent visit.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were on a seven night tour of England and Whales with CIE Tours. There were 5 different hotels in 7 nights, quite a bit of moving around, but they saved the best for last.

The Macdonald Windsor Hotel was the highlight of the trip as far as hotels go. It was the nicest room, lobby, and restaurant of the tour. The other hotels ranged from brand new mid priced to old quaint mid priced hotels. Some had more character, but were not as comfortable, others were newer but not as fancy. This hotel had the best of both, almost across the street from the Windsor Castle, right near all the shopping and restaurants, couldn't ask for anything more.

Breakfast was included and we were in a hurry so we just ate from the buffet, but there is a menu for made to order items. Dinner was also included and was very good, one of the better meals we had at the different hotels.

I would highly recommend the Macdonald Windsor Hotel, it was a pleasure staying there, too bad it was only for one night.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Dear Guest

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that we were able to round off your tour on a happy note and we were the highlight of your trip.

We look forward to welcoming you back - for longer next time!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed for one night with our young family and everything was perfect from start to finish. Everyone we spoke to was extremely friendly and attentive, we were very grateful to the valet team who could not have been more helpful.
We ate dinner in Caleys the restaurant and the food was superb and great value particularly if you eat before 6pm. The children's menu was comprehensive and an excellent portion size. Similarly the breakfast buffet was one of the best we have ever seen.
Our suite was large and clean and well decorated with plenty of room for the extra bed and cot. Location wise you could not ask for a better position as it was a few minutes walk from Windsor Castle.
I would thoroughly recommend staying here to friends and I hope that we return soon.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelgirl064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Travelgirl064

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you well and you enjoyed you dinner and breakfast experience, and your room.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,961 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $167 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing