We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here over bank holiday weekend, great place to stay. In the centre of Windsor a minutes walk from the castle and near the shops and restaurants. Really enjoyed my stay and will return. The staff are helpful the rooms are spacious also.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Natalie H

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed the location and bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,915)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,136 - 2,142 of 2,915 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

lovely hotel no complaints, great location straight out the front door to Windsor castle and shopping .We got a great deal for one night plus £10 back on meals or drinks. only complaint was parking which is £28 per night extra which adds to the cost of your stay

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear christine i

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you enjoyed our location.

I was sorry to note that you were disappointed with the parking charge. Parking is limited in Windsor, and we offer a full valet service. We would never intentionally hide our costs, and offer parking as an additional option when guests book with us. By pre-booking a parking space, we can assure guests of a smoother and easier arrival experience with porterage.

I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kindest regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

The name "Macdonald Windsor" might conjure up images of a theme park but its a decent hotel with good service and excellent conference facilities.

The view from my room was not that great and it was pretty much dark..however the location of the hotel made up for the same. Its a stones throw away from the Windsor Castle and also very close to Windsor Park.

I had agreat jog at 0 deg c around the Windsor Park. Also the pubs around the hotel are great and has those Sherlock Homes era look.

Theres an anecdote in this area which says " How come the British built the Windsor Castle so close to Heathrow airport". The airport is just 10 mins drive from this hotel.

Room Tip: None of the rooms have a good view....so best is to carry your joggin gear and jog out in the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaurishN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear SaurishN

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed the location and conference facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Dissapointed with the whole package overall. Was bought night away as an anniversary gift. Booked standard double room. Once arrived had to go to back of hotel and a valet took the car and car keys from us. Beware if you leave anything in your car as you can't easily retrieve it -car is kept in an underground car park beneath TKMaxx and the hotel keep your keys. This is to make sure you pay the extortionate £28 car parking fee to get them back. Valet said the car park was tightly parked so he had to take the car-not filling me with confidence! Entered hotel via back and had a long walk to reception. Beware if you have heavy bags. We were checked in and had to find our own way to our 4th floor room. Hoping the height would mean a nice view-I was wrong. Overlooking a roof full of extractor fans and a car park. This is probably why the room smelt of cooking/burnt fat. Room was also only made up for one person-one bathrobe, one glass etc. very odd. Asked for non feather pillows and was kept waiting for ages. Turned up and it was the same man who parked our car. Explains the wait - poor guy doing everything! We didnt have dinner and also decided against the £17.50 each for breakfast and opted to go elsewhere. We had to change rooms in the end at about 11pm due to the increasing noise from outside (we were located above the back of the steak house). Our window was faulty and due to no double glazing all noises from extractor fans, doors/restaurant and cars parking could be heard. The new room didnt smell of food and was a lot quieter. Except for all the doors slamming in the corridor throughout the night. Worst nights sleep ever! When it came to checking out and collecting our car the valet had brought the wrong car up and we were kept waiting for 10mins before we realised he thought it was our car. He then took another 10mins to locate our correct car. Annoying. Overall the hotel looks smart and stylish and our room was very clean but I felt that given the location they were cashing in on extra costs that they didn't need to do to their guests. Ruined the experience in my opinion. The location of the hotel being straight on the high street wasn't my ideal place to stay but that is more personal preference. We won't be staying again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jobentobox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Jobentobox

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay overall, however was extremely sorry to note that we failed to meet your expectations on this occasion.

I would like to assure you that your experience is not at all reflective of our usual feedback and I will be personally completed a retraining programme with the team so that your experience could not be repeated.

Parking is limited in Windsor, and we offer a full valet service. We would never intentionally hide our costs, and offer parking as an additional option when guests book with us. By pre-booking a parking space, we can assure guests of a smoother and easier arrival experience with porterage.

I hope that with my reassurance, you will return to the Macdonald Windsor. Do contact me direct when you are planning a visit and I would be delighted to take care of the arrangements for you.

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is in a great location -- right across the street from Windsor Castle (close to the entrance); close to the main shopping/restaurant streets; and a short walk to Windsor/Eton Central train station. It was an easy and pleasant walk to the river and across the bridge to Eton.

It is a modern and clean property with a nice lounge/bar area for relaxing and taking a break. The room was clean and, while small, was adequate. The air conditioning was needed, as the room became uncomfortable without it. One nit -- it would have been nice to have extra towels in the bathroom.

The quality of the food at breakfast was good but the service was uneven. We were not approached to order the hot meal until nearly 25 minutes after we sat down, while others who came after us had their orders taken more quickly. Perhaps we should have tried to flag down one of the waiters sooner so we would be noticed.

The front desk staff was generally helpful when approached, but they didn't go beyond what was expected. There was an instance where the service could have been exceptional. We arrived at the hotel mid-morning after an international flight. As expected, a room was not ready for us, which was fine. We chose to sit in the lobby area to rest and get our bearings -- it would have been nice if the staff had approached us and offered to take orders for a coffee or suggested food/coffee in the restaurant after our long flight. It is a small thing, but I often believe these small gestures can make a big difference in the overall experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel_blurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear travel_blurbs

I was pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel recently, especially the decor and amenities. I was however extremely sorry to note that you were disappointed with the service you experienced in the restaurant.

On receiving your feedback I have instigated a programme of retraining with the team to ensure that we continue to deliver the high standards our guests deserve.

I appreciate receiving your constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel - indeed to contact me direct when you have a date in mind.

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed overnight for our 25 year anniversary in this wonderful hotel in lovely windsor , Stuart from reception sorted out a complimentary upgrade to a feature room which really made our weekend so a big thanks. Breakfast very very good including a vegetarian breakfast cooked fresh . Location of the hotel is fantastic , and saw the changing of the guards out of our window , can't wait to go back .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Amanda W

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from Stuart, your breakfast experience and our location. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Lovely hotel, reception were very helpful and friendly as was the chaps who ran the valet parking .If you are driving to this hotel I strongly recommend you use this service, trying to find parking at another car park in the area looked a nightmare.Our room was nicely furnished with the biggest bathroom.Fantastic location for the castle and all amenities in Windsor/Eton.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandrew465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Mandrew465

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the helpfulness of the reception and valet parking teams. Please be assured that I have passed your comments to them, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate such a helpful review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $168 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing