We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed breakfast dinner rate real value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We got the ruby executive suite with a breakfast and dinner rate. The dinner was amazing each night which included a starter, entre' and dessert. Was so filling we never had room for dessert. The food is excellent and one night had beef chili chocolate pie. AmaFish and chips excellent as delicious! Bedroom was big with a sunken separate living room. Bathroom was a oddly situated near front door a little far from the bedroom but was fine. The windows fully opened onto the main street with a view of the crooked tea house. The bathroom was very spacious with a huge waterfall shower. Wireless in the room worked very well and fast! Quite a nice big selection of tv channels as well on a samsung flatscreen. Loved the glass water bottle and nespresso provided! For improvements maybe one more bar of soap for the shower and the sink. We were left with only one towel for some reason but used the small one which was no big deal.laundry was done the same day, and they arranged a car to the airport for us. All staff is very friendly and love the lobby! I highly recommend the breakfast and dinner rate. Such a steal for what we got.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear alibeth

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the the dinner you experienced, your bedroom and the service from the team. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,947)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,225 - 2,231 of 2,947 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

This hotel is the most convenient one if your plan is to visit Windsor Castle. It is literally at the foot of the lane into the castle, a one minute walk to the entrance gate and less than a five minute walk to the train station. It offers comfort and all the modern amenities needed.

My room was large and very well-appointed with a small sitting area, table, desk, spacious closet with robes, luxury bath products, and both overhead and hand-held showers. Although it didn't offer a view of the castle, it overlooked a small courtyard. The bed was extremely comfortable with quality linens and down pillows.

The food at both dinner and breakfast was very good and beautifully served. I did not use the fitness center or the pool.

As I was leaving, the Queen's guard was marching past the hotel for the changing of the guard at the castle. The whole feeling of the hotel was that of quiet warmth and luxury in spite of its location in a busy tourist area.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank widowc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear widow c

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially our location and the comfort of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We had our final night of our 6 week holiday at this hotel in a castle view room. It was just stunning. The room was decorated really lovely and was nice and comfortable. The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is right in the middle of town so we walked everywhere. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel especially for a special occasion. The entry to the hotel for taxis and cars is at the back of the hotel so best to mention it to anyone picking you up.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MontiNb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear MontiNb

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and especially that you felt so well looked after by the team!

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend in June and what a lovely hotel it is, great decor and well thought out building.
The room was large and quiet with all the mod cons, the bed was a joy to sleep in so much so I searched out whose beds Macdonald's use and have ordered one as close as possible to the hotels type.
The overall cleanliness also was noticeable.
Staff were helpful,polite at all times and the restaurant Casey's was excellent for breakfast and dinner .
Location is perfect with ease to all amenities in Windsor the castle is 50 yards away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernEnglander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear NorthernEnglander

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

After Garter Day 5 of us popped into this hotel without a booking hoping they could squeeze us in for afternoon tea. Imagine our surprise when (on one of the busiest days in Windsor) they managed to find us a very comfortable table and then proceeded to deliver the most spectacular afternoon tea ever. The sandwiches were filled with creative and tasty fillings. the bread was gorgeous. The scones were out of the world. The Victoria Sponge Cake was the best I've ever had and the macaroons were soooooo good. The tea was perfect. The staff were so helpful with a great sense of humour and not the slightest bit intrusive. This is just undoubtedly the best place in Windsor!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladawncp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear ladawncp

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your visit to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel for afternoon tea.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the food and service from the team. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just arrived back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. It was in the centre of Windsor just across the road from the castle and within easy walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. We stayed here to celebrate my birthday and upgraded to an executive room which although smallish was beautifully appointed. Nice touches were wishing me a happy birthday on arrival, also magazine and chocolates on the pillow on turndown service and 2 cupcakes left in the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Windsor and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacblenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear jacblenners

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed the location and birthday touches.

Thank you for the recommendation - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I know this is a city centre hotel, but having seen it appear as the top choice for Windsor, we decided to book a night and were rather disappointed to have a room with a view of a brick wall and other bedroom windows. So we kept the blinds down for privacy and that made the room dark on what was actually a sunny day. However, it did make it nice and dark at night and the room was very quiet. If you ask ahead of time, they will try to accommodate your preferences, so I'd definitely go for a room on the 5th floor, or you could pay a premium for a front facing room looking out to the castle.

It's a lovely hotel, service is very good, the decor is contemporary and stylish and the location is superb. The car park is £28 overnight, so remember to add that to your budget when booking. I know other hotels we looked at have free car parks.

If you like a nice bath after a day out wandering, then make sure you book a room with a bath. Many have walk in power showers instead of a bath.

Breakfast was very good - plenty of choice at the buffet. In the cooked breakfast, the bijou piece of sausage was very tasty. Maybe they offer seconds?

Room Tip: 5th floor, ask for a bath and not just a shower if that's what you'd like
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear GWrench

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate the helpful details you provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,983 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $166 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing