We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a weekend in June and what a lovely hotel it is, great decor and well thought out building.
The room was large and quiet with all the mod cons, the bed was a joy to sleep in so much so I searched out whose beds Macdonald's use and have ordered one as close as possible to the hotels type.
The overall cleanliness also was noticeable.
Staff were helpful,polite at all times and the restaurant Casey's was excellent for breakfast and dinner .
Location is perfect with ease to all amenities in Windsor the castle is 50 yards away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernEnglander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear NorthernEnglander

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,886)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Windsor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,168 - 2,174 of 2,886 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

After Garter Day 5 of us popped into this hotel without a booking hoping they could squeeze us in for afternoon tea. Imagine our surprise when (on one of the busiest days in Windsor) they managed to find us a very comfortable table and then proceeded to deliver the most spectacular afternoon tea ever. The sandwiches were filled with creative and tasty fillings. the bread was gorgeous. The scones were out of the world. The Victoria Sponge Cake was the best I've ever had and the macaroons were soooooo good. The tea was perfect. The staff were so helpful with a great sense of humour and not the slightest bit intrusive. This is just undoubtedly the best place in Windsor!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ladawncp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear ladawncp

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your visit to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel for afternoon tea.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the food and service from the team. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just arrived back from a 2 night stay at this hotel. It was in the centre of Windsor just across the road from the castle and within easy walking distance of all the shops and restaurants. We stayed here to celebrate my birthday and upgraded to an executive room which although smallish was beautifully appointed. Nice touches were wishing me a happy birthday on arrival, also magazine and chocolates on the pillow on turndown service and 2 cupcakes left in the room. The staff were very friendly and helpful nothing was too much trouble. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Windsor and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacblenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear jacblenners

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed the location and birthday touches.

Thank you for the recommendation - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

I know this is a city centre hotel, but having seen it appear as the top choice for Windsor, we decided to book a night and were rather disappointed to have a room with a view of a brick wall and other bedroom windows. So we kept the blinds down for privacy and that made the room dark on what was actually a sunny day. However, it did make it nice and dark at night and the room was very quiet. If you ask ahead of time, they will try to accommodate your preferences, so I'd definitely go for a room on the 5th floor, or you could pay a premium for a front facing room looking out to the castle.

It's a lovely hotel, service is very good, the decor is contemporary and stylish and the location is superb. The car park is £28 overnight, so remember to add that to your budget when booking. I know other hotels we looked at have free car parks.

If you like a nice bath after a day out wandering, then make sure you book a room with a bath. Many have walk in power showers instead of a bath.

Breakfast was very good - plenty of choice at the buffet. In the cooked breakfast, the bijou piece of sausage was very tasty. Maybe they offer seconds?

Room Tip: 5th floor, ask for a bath and not just a shower if that's what you'd like
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GWrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear GWrench

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay overall and appreciate the helpful details you provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed for a week and had a fabulous experience. Very clean and comfortable room on the second floor. Staff were very professional, helpful and friendly. Valet service for car was awesome. We often came back to the hotel late at night and it was great to leave the car at the entrance to the parking garage and hand the key to a staff member inside. We had dinner in the restaurant and the meal and drinks were excellent. Loved the location. It was fabulous being across the street from the castle especially knowing HRH was "home" the weekend we were there. Train stations are a very easy walk from the hotel. We took trains into Waterloo twice to spend the day in London. We travelled by car to Stonehenge, Bath, Plymouth (Devon), Leicester and South to Surrey. It was always easy to get in and out of Windsor to and from the hotel. We have stayed at Hotels around the World and would rank MacDonald Windsor as one of the best including value for money. No hesitation in recommending Macdonald Windsor to others and hope to stay again sometime in the future. Thank you and all credit to management and staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary_A13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Gary_A13

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed the location and valet service.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Very clean, modern, well appointed large rooms. Staff is engaged and eager to assist. We did not know where the car park was, but a member of the staff gladly showed us the way. I would recommend the hotel think about staffing the front entrance for valet as this is where the GPS seems to indicate arrival location. But, never the less, it all worked out. The location is premium if you are visiting the castle and surrounding area. We did loose power at about 11pm which resulted in a very hot and dark room for a couple hours, but this did not seem to be the hotels fault. However, there was no communication provided to guests on what the problem was. I ended up having to attend the front desk in the dark to inquire. They didn't know what was wrong or how long power would be out. Thankfully, it was only a couple hours and we managed to open a window for fresh air.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Chase500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Chase500

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your stay with us.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay, especially the service from the team and your room.

May I sincerely apologise for the power failure you experienced during your stay and that you were disappointed with the communication you received from the team. Please be assured that this has been raised at our weekly departmental management meeting to ensure that any similar lapses in our usually high standards could not be repeated.

We hope to welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This is my 3rd visit to this hotel, and feel I have to tell everyone how wonderful the staff are.... We have stayed at 5 star hotels all over the world, taking 3 - 4 holidays a year and have never come across such welcoming, happy staff from the moment we arrive. We bring my elderly parents there and they are so helpful to them. From arrival to their car park, the wonderful attendant, greets you with a smile and wishes us a nice stay. The reception staff also wonderful, and the waiters, nothing is too much trouble. I cannot praise this hotel enough, and the staff deserve a badge :)) Beside the staff, the hotel is clean, and very comfortable - food is excellent, good variety and good vegetarian options..... we,ve stayed in the executive rooms and the suites - all very comfortable.
well done macdonalds !!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank springholme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear springholme

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear of your experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,872 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $169 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing