We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This hotel was located across the street from Windsor Castle and the changing of the guard parade passes right in front of it.
In addition it was a lovely hotel with very large modern rooms. The breakfast options were
great. The staff was very helpful and accommodating. On the last day of our trip we had a
night flight and we left our luggage at the hotel while we toured all day and they called a taxi for us when we were ready to go to the airport.
I would recommend this hotel for anyone going to Windsor Castle andthe surrounding area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teralex7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear teralex7

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and especially that you felt so well looked after by the team!

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,993)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,303 - 2,309 of 2,993 reviews

Reviewed May 15, 2013

The staff and ambience at this hotel justify the top rating. The staff could not have been more accommodating. I hosted a 2-day meeting at this property and we received fantastic reviews from our attendees about everything at the hotel - location (near the train station and also reasonable travel time from LHR), staff attitude, decor (subtle yet interesting), quiet at night, food was excellent, and being in the heart of Windsor across from the castle was a highlight. Thank you for a great stay!

Room Tip: Some rooms (so I hear) have a slight view of the castle. Mine didn't, but still lots of light!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear Carrie L

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear of your experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

As part of a twinning weekend with a Belgian Rotary Club we visited Windsor Castle then 39 people had lunch in a private room in the hotel. The surroundings were delightful, the service and food excellent. Everything went smoothly to the admiration of all our Belgian visitors and our club members. I cannot recommend the hotel too highly.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear James G

I was delighted to read your review following your visit to our restaurant with a Belgian Rotary Club.

It was a pleasure to learn of your enjoyment and I will share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged to hear it.

Thanks for taking the time to submit your review and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed the night before going to the Windsor Horse Show. The Concierge, Dave from Johannesburg, emailed us details of the hotel and parking while were were on route. It was so unexpected and a taste of the excellent service to come. The hotel room was clean and comfortable and exceeded our expectations. The only criticism is that the hotel lobby is a bit dark but the décor is brilliant so all in all a fantastic stay and experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodney z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Dear rodneyz399

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and that you appreciated our concierge services.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

An overnight stay to visit Windsor Castle, the Long walk and Thames river trip with swans this was ideally suited. All very close at hand. Staff extremely helpful. Room was excellent. Dinner was a bit pricey and not much of it. A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josieosborne1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear josieosborne1

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay overall.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

A lovely hotel nestled in the heart of Windsor. Perfect for business travellers or weekend stays. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Food is excellent. The decor is trendy and chic and not too fussy.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Poppy_Jane_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Poppy_Jane_12

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

The frontage to this hotel could be missed it is so small but the hotel spreads out once inside. It is tastefully decorated and very clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The first room we were given smelled of cigarette smoke and the en suite had a bit of a damp smell, with in seconds of me mentioning this we were given a choice of two other rooms, I was impressed, I had after all just asked for an air spray!! We liked out room with a view of the Castle and a good quality TV. Free WiFi of course. The breakfast was an excellent cold buffet with cooked to order. The whole place has a relaxed atmosphere obviously popular with small conferences/meetings.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Louise A

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay and was pleased to learn that the team were helpful in arranging an alternative room for you - I apologise for your initial disappointment.

We hope to welcome you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
267 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $188 - $385 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing