We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We recently spent two days here in April and everything about the hotel was excellent. It is advisable if travelling by car to book the hotel car park in advance as it is well worth the money and takes all the worry and hassle out of finding somewhere to park during your visit. The concierge organising this is most helpful and friendly, as are the rest of the staff.
The hotel is relatively new and everything was clean and immaculate throughout. Our room was spacious and overlooked the High Street and Castle area. The breakfast was good but we didn't eat there in the evening as the meals were expensive and there are lots of eating places all within walking distance. The location is superb being almost opposite the Castle entrance and also close to all the shops and amenities, plus only a few minutes walk to the river. There are quite a few hotels in Windsor but we would have no hesitation in recommending the McDonald Windsor.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronstuart10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear ronstuart10

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you well and you enjoyed your room, breakfast and our location.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,936
    629
    167
    56
    16
See reviews for
426
1,522
67
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

I recently stayed at the Macdonald Windsor hotel as a surprise birthday treat for my husband. On arrival we were met by a member of the concierge team (David Lawson) who arranged the valet car parking and then escorted us, not only to reception, but to our room with a very professional explanation of the room amenities and tips on where to go in Windsor and surrounding area.
On our first trip out, unfortunately the heavens opened, as we were about to leave the hotel David produced an umbrella for us to use for the day.
The actual hotel is situated in an ideal location for visits to the castle, river trips etc.
We ate dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and would highly recommend this, the food was exceptional with most of the ingredients bought locally, please ensure that you try the local breakfast sausages these are astonishing.
We would certainly highly recommend this hotel for the situation, friendly/professional staff, cleanliness and of course the restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Paula W

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for a 2 night weekend stay, we had upgraded to an executive room, which was very comfortable, breakfast was excellent , good value for money. Location is fantastic just stand outside and the changing of the guard passes by. Staff was excellent made a special effort as it was our anniversary, a special mention should go to Carl Rooney for his excellent caring service. The bar staff was again very good, attentive to ensure that everything was JUST RIGHT. I am sure we will be back another time.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank luckytravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear luckytravellar

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team - particularly Carl - looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear about your positive experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great location, nice rooms, staff very very helpful, food very good value for money, nothing an issue.

we visited for our wedding anniversary, we got a nice upgrade and luckily great weather.....Windsor Castle is like opposite!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buckinghamgeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear J B

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We recently stayed there for 1 night as part of our wedding anniversary. it is a beautifully appointed hotel, with great staff, and attention to detail. it is very well located, and the valet parking with our bags taken to the room is a lovely touch. Breakfast was a little dissapointing, but that was only because the hotel had hosted a large function the night before, and all the attendees beat us to the restaurant by a couple of minutes!! that said, all in all a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Alan W

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your stay with us.

I was pleased to learn that you were impressed with the hotel, team and location, however may I apologise for your disappointment with breakfast - your comments are in no way reflective of our usual standards and the team have asked to be associated with my apology.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel is so discreetly signed that you can quite easily walk passed it when trying to find it on the busy Windsor High Street. As soon as i walked through the front door it was obvious that the hotel was modern and perfect for our stay. As you walk towards the foyer the hotel opens-up like a tardis and you'll be amazed that all this room can be concealed behind such a small entrance. After a quick check-in and an offer to take my bags to my room i made my way to the 2nd floor. My room was a large double. It was pretty big in-size with a huge bed, good size tv and free wifi, a novelty in todays hotel age. The bathroom was spacious and the shower was excellent. My bedroom window faced other hotels rooms so a netting of some kind would have been nice otherwise you're forced to have the blind permanently down or curtains closed. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, we opted for trying one of the many small cafes in the High Street as the sun was shining. In all, a top a hotel in a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Make sure you read the room safe instructions, operates different from all over room safes i've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear keith m

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially our location and your room.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay here. Hotel is extremely well refurnished to a very high quality. Room was upgraded to Executive & we were very impressed; it was very good size, quiet , very well furnished and bathroom was terrific - very stylish.

Service was 1st class throughout our stay. Breakfast was good quality & freshly cooked.

Location is very central directly opposite castle. It's not cheap & parking is unduly expensive at £28 per night, but would definitely recommend & stay again.

A top quality hotel.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor at back of hotel. No view but that didn't unduly worry me. Very quiet and v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Cliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear 123Cliff

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment - especially that you felt so well looked after by the team and you were impressed with your room.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing