We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
cardiff wales
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We booked two rooms for our stay on 9th April, we also booked our car into hotel carpark the cost is high but for us it was well worth it....we had quite a bit of luggage, on arrival a gentleman was waiting to park for us.....he was very welcoming, assured us he would take care of all the luggage & take to our rooms once we booked in.

This all happend very efficiently....booking in was quick, luggage arrived swiftly, we were given complimentary voucher for the four of us for 4 glasses of bubbly & two sharing platters which we used once we unpacked, the platters were exactly what we needed & the presentation and food was great.

LOCATION:-

We stayed for a very special occasion at the castle, when I booked I was not sure how far away the entrance to the castle would be...I did not need to worry it was just 50 yards....so if your going to the castle for a presentation this hotel is ideal placed.

STAFF & FOOD:-

The staff were great....breakfast in the morning was great, they obliged by extending one of our rooms till 2pm so we could change....we did pay an extra £20 for this, which I thought they might have waved knowing why we were there.

We stayed for lunch after our event, the food was good as was the service....the waiter was happy to move us to a different table as my husband found the A/C uncomfortable where we sat, as we were on our first coarse it would have been a bind for the waiter & us to do this, so we refused....low & behold he turned the A/C down so we were comfortable for the rest of the meal...nothing was to much trouble.

Our luggage was expertly put back in our car & we left vowing to return very soon as we had such a wonderful stay.

ROOMS:-

Standard rooms were great, decoration was modern but very comfortable & very clean, great hair dryer, slippers, dressing gowns, complimentary water....no view, but we were out most of our stay so no issue for us.

Negatives:-

Only one, we asked for an early call which never materialises...again no issue as we were awake in good time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welshman56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Dear welshman56

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details you provided. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

I was sorry to note that you did not receive your wake up call but was pleased to learn that it did not effect your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,951
    631
    168
    55
    17
See reviews for
430
1,529
68
398
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (420)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Being on the High Street in Windsor you cant get better than this for location.
Hotel is modern with lovely rooms that are equipped with more luxuries than you would expect from a hotel of this standard. Air conditioning, robes, slippers, Bose stereo etc. Room nicely turned down at night with complimentary chocolates to boot! Breakfast is good with a full English cooked to order.
Well done McDonald Windsor we had a fantastic stay, thank you.

Regards
Derrick Holland

Room Tip: Try parking in the Alma road car park just behind the hotel, Only £7.50 per night rather than £28 at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fyldecoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Fyldecoaster

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular your room and amenities, breakfast and our location. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

For a chain hotel we were very impressed; the boutique-y rooms were nicely decorated, breakfast in bed was good, staff were friendly and efficient and the bar dowstairs had plenty of room and was a nice place to relax pre/post dinner. Would definitely stay in a MacDonald hotel again if they are all of a similar standard.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear sarahkc

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Booked this Hotel based on TA reviews and the Hotel was indeed for us a Number One.
We stayed in a standard room which was a good size. Very comfy bed and Lavender scented Toiletries were lovely.

We had a delicious Breakfast both Mornings of our stay and it was really nice. We also had a very delicious meal in the Restaurant on our last evening. It was a fair price and beautifully cooked.

The Location is excellent, on the High Street. with loads of Bars Shops and Restaurants all around the Hotel

The negatives were

On both days we were only able to have warm showers, although the Tap water was hot, the "Rain" Shower attached on the ceiling in the walk in shower, only produced warm water. We did mention this to the Reception staff, but were told that the water couldn't be any warmer due to "Health and Safety" reasons, ie people might burn themselves by having water too hot. We were not particularly happy with this response. We have stayed in many Hotels and have never had this issue before. We were staying on the 4th floor and did wonder if this had something to do with the problem.

The other thing that I wasn't too happy with was that the ceiling to floor window in the room directly looked into the opposite room where We could see the occupants sitting in their room, which meant that the blind In our room had to be permanently drawn. The rooms around us above, below and beside us all had this issue which I could see when walking across the glass bridge connecting the corridors.

I would recommend this Hotel, for a comfortable stay, but most rooms seem to have restricted views, either looking out into other rooms or facing the back of the Hotel onto other buildings not particularly attractive, so if having a lovely view is important to you. Check with the Hotel first to see what is available.

Room Tip: Ask for advice at Reception to avoid disappointment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midlands1time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear midlands1time

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay overall, especially your room, breakfast and location, however may I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with the maintenance and associated service shortfalls you experienced.

I would like to assure you that this is in no way reflective of our usual standards of service and please be assured that these matters have been addressed with the team.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kascem
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My husband & I booked this hotel as a relaxing weekend away due to it being located in the centre of Windsor and close to the river. We booked a feature suite which was located at the front of the building which was fantastic as we were able to watch the guards march directly outside with an unobstructed view from our window .The room was large and very well presented . The bathroom was also large with a shower ,bath , large mirror and vanity unit with great lighting .We dined on both nights at the hotel and the food was great and offered a good selection . We were made to feel very relaxed by the staff . Breakfast is a buffet selection with lots to choose from and a hot menu option also . We enjoyed wandering around Windsor which is very relaxing .The hotel have an option to take a picnic out to go on the long walk which contains everything you need including a blanket which is a lovely idea .If you do stay at this hotel you must try their afternoon tea as it is amazing and very filling , well worth every penny but skip lunch as you wont finish it if you have eaten earlier !We had a fantastic stay and are looking to return again soon to go to the races which can be reached with ease by a boat that takes you to the grounds .We can`t wait to return and would recommend to others.

Room Tip: Feature suites cost more but offer more and have a view to the castle and watching the Changing of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kascem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear kascem

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We booked one night back in late March through Secret Escapes which was a great deal. The staff were fantastic particularly Harry in the bar. The room was so nice we wanted to take it home with us and the location opposite Windsor castle well whow!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidandDebbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear DavidandDebbie

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you - especially Harry - and you enjoyed the location and bedroom.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on a business trip for one night. Lovely room, comfortable bed, very well decorated, clean and just a little different from the 'norm'.

Had dinner in the hotel restaurant, which was pleasant, usual hotel prices, but waiting staff we're very attentive and the restaurant had a nice, open feel to it.

There is parking available in the underground car park, but again usual hotel prices at £25.

When I visit Windsor again, this will definitely be on the top of my list as the hotel to stay in :-)

Room Tip: This is a fairly new hotel, so I assume all the rooms are of a good quality standard of fit out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Dianne G

Thank you for taking the time to submit your helpful review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. I was pleased to learn of your enjoyment.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,220 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing