We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service and beautiful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Norwich
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent service and beautiful rooms”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed a night and loved the hotel. Great location, attentive, helpful and polite staff. Our request for early check in was acknowledged and our rooms were ready by 11.30. They were modern, very clean and comfortable. we ate in the restaurant as was too cold to venture out! we had superb steaks, pies and Puds! All reasonable prices for good hotel. Our car was parked and upon checking out staff loaded our car whilst we went out for the day. All in all we highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms on 3rd floor. 323 & 325. Excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H&TNorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear H&TNorwich

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,917
    624
    167
    55
    14
See reviews for
425
1,509
67
385
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

My family and i had a very special occassion to attend and booked three rooms plus another for a couple of friends for two nights - when booking we enquired about an upgrade for ourselves and chatted about the special nature of our visit and the need for a 'special' room with more space we paid £80 extra for an executive room - when we arrived we were shown the room and although it was nicely decorated it was quite small - we visited our parents to find that the basic room was much bigger room for a lounge table and chairs which ours didn't, it had a bath and shower as opposed to our shower only and all the equipment that ours had - we thought there was a mistake but third room was the same and our friends room - it appears ours just had a front street view and if you strained your neck you could see the outside wall of windsor castle as we had so much booked in for our stay i did not complain and i didn't want to spoil the trip for my husband but i was bitterly disappointed and slightly embarrassed - in the room there was a comment card from the previous guests which had not been collected there comments mirrored my feelings.

Room Tip: dont pay extra - standard rooms are far better
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 240kathyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear 240kathyc

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent celebration stay with family and friends.

I was extremely sorry to learn of your disappointment with your executive room. Our rooms at the front of the hotel are very popular due to the view and I am sorry that you had been hoping for a more spacious room. I appreciate that you did not wish to mention this at the time however we would have been pleased to arrange an alternative for you had we been aware of your disappointment.

I do hope this will not deter you from returning to the hotel and we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back very soon.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

We just returned from 2 day break with our 2 kids. Staff were really friendly and they all provided an excellent service. Always ready to help and please. Hotel was clean and staff welcoming. Heated flooring in the bathroom. Superb. No bath but we this was no disappointment. Shower room spacious. Ideal location. It was across the road from Windsor Castle. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zab1en
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Zab1en

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Would highly recommend this hotel for a stay in the Windsor area. They were quite accomodating to our family traveling with young children. Onsite restaurant was nice and reasonably priced. Buffet breakfast the next morning was included and was well worth it. Most importantly, our three year old son got sick while at the hotel and the hotel/housekeeping staff went above and beyond to launder his clothes (in time to have his coat back the next morning) and ensure that we had everything needed to help to ease his stay.

Thank you to the staff for the outstanding service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Amanda P

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well - particularly with regards to your sons clothes - I do hope he is feeling better.

It was a pleasure to hear about your positive experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Stayed here for two nights on a short trip to Windsor to vist friends there. Usually stayed at the Manor in Datchet or the old Castle Hotel, but was pleasantly surprised with the standards at the MacDonald Windsor. Friendly and efficient at check in - room was very well appointed - no bath - but made up for with excellent walk in shower. Not much of a view, but wasnt expecting that! The bed was gloriously comfortable. Took breakfast in my room each morning and it was very good. Everything on tray and promptly delivered. Only one minor hiccup in the service in the bar on the Saturday night - the barman was quite dismissive when I went to order and made me go and sit down before waiting for him for 5 mins to come back at which point I had to give the order again. Wouldnt have been a big issue, but he wasnt doing anything and I was in a hurry as I was going out to meet friends. All resolved though as I have just received an email back from the hotel thanking me for the feedback which I had given on the form left in the room. I am putting this down as an isolated incident and deducting no marks. Overall, would totally recommend the hotel and woudl certainly choose to stay here again. Had dinner in the Castle hotel on Saturday night and have to say the service was very poor so I was pleased I was staying in MacDonalds!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet if you dont mind not having a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear MRTL

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your stay with us.

I was pleased to learn that you were impressed with the hotel overall, however may I apologise for your disappointment with the slow service you received in the bar. This has been addressed with the team to ensure that any similar lapses cannot be repeated and I appreciate you bringing this matter to my attention.

Thank you for the recommendation - we do hope to welcome you back to the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 3, 2013

For the purpose of attending IEC meetings in Windsor, my wife and I stayed at the Macdonald Windsor hotel. It was a great experience. The room was comfortable and the friendly staff kept it clean and well maintained. Tom, the concierge, was very helpful as he provided excellent information to my wife, for tours that she and I could take on my two days off. We did have a discrepancy in the departure date and room rate. But Becky and Kelly at the front desk were very kind and helpful in making the corrections. Without a doubt we will stay at the Macdonald Windsor hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASLOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear ASLOG

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and especially that you felt so well looked after by our concierge and the front office team.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My partner and I decided to visit Windsor Castle as she is a staunch royalist and loves anything to do with the Queen. Secret Escapes were offering a really good deal on this hotel so we decided to have an overnight stay. We were not disappointed as this is an excellent five star hotel. The staff were excellent, the room was extremely comfortable and well appointed. We ate in the restaurant which was very good and of a high standard as was the breakfast. As previously stated it is right in the centre of Windsor so it's a very short walk to the Castle. Unfortunately it was raining when we were there but the hotel had umbrellas to loan us.
We would definately stay at this hotel again should we return to Windsor and we would certainly try other MacDonald hotels in other locations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear WelshDolls

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear of your experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing