We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“definitely grander than most”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Highland Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
436 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“definitely grander than most”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Have stayed at several Macdonald hotels - most are ok but the Macdonald Windsor is definitely a cut above the rest. A modern new hotel in central Windsor where everything works plus some fantastic perks - free wifi everywhere in the hotel, complimentary large bottles (1 litre) of mineral water in guestrooms. Great tv with lots of channels to choose from - all with the basic classic room. Bathroom is very modern with a generous three foot wide walk in shower. Robe, slippers but only one towel. Room service was very good. I tried fish n chips which arrived well presented on a tray - a large plate of hand cut fries with sauces and a generous piece of seasoned lightly battered fish. Caesar salad was very tasty - fresh salad greens with not too much sauce and slices of fresh cut parmesan.
Breakfast buffet was ok. Not a great selection of fresh fruit, but this is after all England in the winter. A Good cooked to order breakfast arrived within minutes of order.
Macdonald Widnsor is also an excellent option for airport hotel and half the price - especially if you have time to visit the town of windsor and windsor castle. There are lots of options for dining and tours.

Room Tip: rooms toward the back of the hotel are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlandbeachflorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear delraydiva1

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate such a helpful and detailed review.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,961
    638
    169
    55
    17
See reviews for
432
1,537
69
401
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is the 3rd year running we have stayed at the hotel and it didn't disappoint again..
The hotel is in a perfect position and is very well catered for. The rooms are very clean and well designed.
All he staff are friendly and happy to help.
Our room 323 had a slightly noisy gas noise from the air con overnight but nothing too bad.
The only critical observation that we would have is that at breakfast the staff do not seem to look after a particular area or group of tables, they seem to all just muck in. This means that certain tables do get missed. I think it would be better if the staff had a certain area to look after.
Again this is only minor and the food was good.
We will be back next year again I'm sure.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the upper floors..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redwine-drinker79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear redwine-drinker79

I was pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel recently, especially your room and the friendliness of the team. I was however extremely sorry to note that you were disappointed with the service you experienced at breakfast and the maintenance fault you experienced.

Please be assured that I will be sharing your feedback with the team to ensure that we continue to deliver the high standards our guests deserve.

I appreciate receiving your constructive feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel. we stated the weekend and had a rubbishh time....

The staff at reception dont even know when tea is sered, three staff gave us a different answer.

Fod was good.

GULSHAN [--] AT RECEPTION NEED TO LEARN SOME MANNERS.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Missy930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Missy930

I was extremely concerned to receive your review of the hotel and would like to sincerely apologise for your disappointment.

I have personally discussed your comments with Gulshan and we are at a loss to understand what happened. She would in no way intend to be rude and has asked especially to be associated with my apology.

Please contact me directly on gm.windsor@macdonald-hotels.co.uk so that I may discuss your concerns with you personally and restore your confidence in the hotel.

I hope to hear from you soon.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantebury
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I came to Windsor for our anniversary and the hotel was fantastic. The check-in staff were lovely and very helpful and we were able to check in a little early, which was great. The rooms are beautifully decorated, immaculately clean, and have all the amenities one could wish for. The staff even wrote us a card and gave us two delicious cupcakes as an anniversary gift!

We were also eating in Caleys Restaurant in the hotel that evening and the food was absolutely superb. The waiting staff were very friendly, attentive and efficient, admirably so at the dinner rush and at breakfast! Breakfast was a real treat as well - we were lucky to get a deal that included breakfast in our stay and were very glad to not miss out on it. There was a wide range of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, pastries, bread, cheese, ham etc and the cooked breakfast was done freshly, rather than a buffet service, which made it even nicer.

The location is brilliant as well - not far from the train station and Windsor castle is only a few steps away, as well as lots of other lovely attractions within walking distance.

Thank you, Macdonald Windsor, for a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsFinlayson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear MrsFinlayson

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel – congratulations again on your anniversary!

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly your breakfast experience and the helpfulness of the staff. Please be assured that I have passed your comments to them, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate such a helpful review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Nicely furnished, large room, good bar.

Has everything a good hotel should have, and it is within spitting distance of Windsor Castle, perfect for our weekend break.

The car park is tiny however, so if you can book in advance, if not, you have a 10 min walk from a multistorey down the hill,

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Mike H

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and appreciate your helpful feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Macdonald Windsor hotel was an immaculate hotel, rooms and bathrooms were very clean. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, even providing a list of elsewhere to eat in Windsor. We drove to the hotel car park and our car was parked for us in their secure car park and at the end of the stay brought to us. Can't fault the service. We did feel it was a little pricey especially as breakfast wasn't included but then we were in Windsor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank b5evs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear b5evs

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you well and you enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst Green, Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

For a special family treat we booked this hotel in Windsor for two nights. One of our rooms was so cold we had to be moved. This was not the main issue however. The real issue was the time the staff on reception took to deal with it. Only when we complained a second time did a very helpful manager come and make the decision to move us. Also the breakfast service on the first morning was so so so poor due to staff shortages. This is not a cheap hotel so this should not happen.

When we checked out not a word or apology was said even when we raised the matter of the room change. Great location and great looking hotel let down by the staff i am afraid!

Room Tip: Make sure that if the room is not right that the manager sorts it and do not rely on reception - the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Chris G

I was pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay overall at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel recently. I was however extremely sorry to note that you experienced isues with the heating in your room and that you found the reception team unhelpful in dealing with this.

On receiving your feedback I have instigated a programme of retraining and team building exercises to ensure that we continue to deliver the high standards our guests deserve.

I appreciate receiving your constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel - indeed to contact me direct when you have a date in mind.

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing