We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gloucs
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed for one night in December 2012, near Xmas. Friendly welcome with valet parking, suitcases were carried to our room. Room was very clean, comfotable with everything we needed.Dinner was wonderful, staff excellent, good nights sleep. Had breakfast the next morning which was excellent (both full english & vegetarian)
Nothing was too much trouble for the attentive staff, def reccomend & would stay again.
On leaving the Hotel our car was delivered to us promptly by courteous staff.
Cannot fault this hotel.
Not really into 'The royal family' but great shopping in Windsor!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BevGloucs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear BevGloucs

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoy your visit, in particular the service from the team, your bedroom, dinner and breakfast experience. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,977
    646
    173
    57
    17
See reviews for
436
1,553
71
406
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is now my new "airport" hotel. Many times my in and outbound flights require and overnight stay near LHR. Rather than a boring airport hotel, the M. Windsor is a treat. Nice places to eat, shop and visit in walking distance. It's only about a 20 minute taxi ride. The staff will happily help you arrange a taxi to take you to Heathrow or pick you up after arrival. What a find!! Thanks Macdonald Windsor staff!!

Room Tip: Ask for at least a 4th floor room, otherwise you might have a "view" of the building next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAtrkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear CAtrkr

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details regarding your journey to the airport. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the UK!

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

stayed here for 3 nights visiting friends an family . the food was great if you eat before 6.00pm there is a £6.00 meal menu very good portions for what you pay . breakfast was very nice . staff very polite in all great stay .

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rachwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear rachwat

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed your meals.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

My boyfriend surprised me with a weekend in Windsor and this hotel was amazing! Comfortable rooms with an amazing shower. The staff were kind and accommodating. The breakfast buffet had ample choices and the English breakfast was hearty. Walking distance to all the shops and right across the street from Windsor Castle.
Even if it wasn't a romantic weekend, I would thoroughly enjoy staying here again.
Highly recommended!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CMGroovy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear CMGroovy

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and especially that you found the team kind and accommodating.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel and was thoroughly impressed . Room was large and had everything you need, robe and slippers and decaf tea were a touch after a long day at the castle !. The bath was deep and amazing, staff on reception very professional and the valet parking men both on arrival and departure were so professional and friendly even putting our cases in the car before we left. Very good. Hotel is central to the castle, shops and restaurants and inside the hotel lobby while classy is just so relaxed, we sat on the big sofas and chilled out by the fire and had afternoon tea. All in all a lovely hotel , great staff in a great location . Thank you :)

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrypoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Cherrypoppie

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly your room, the facilities, service from the team and our location.

We appreciate such a helpful review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a feature double room overlooking the castle for a birthday celebration. The room was a lovely mix of original features coupled with modern luxury. Breakfast was good and the bar was very relaxing. Above all though every member of staff we came across was so welcoming and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Parking was very handy even at £25. All our bags were transferred to our room on arrival and returned to our car on check out whilst we continued shopping on the Sunday. All in all a great place to stay to explore Windsor.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RichH1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear RichH1974

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially your room, breakfast and the parking service.

It is great to know that the team were welcoming and helpful and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Susssex
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

After reading such positive reviews on the Macdonald Windsor we decided to book and very glad we did. From the moment we arrived the staff could not of made us more welcome,we arrived at 10am and did not expect to check in straight way, but our room was ready and we went straight up, we didn't have to leave the carpark until 1pm the following day, so the £25 was worth it not to have to worry. It was my husbands birthday and the staff left a card along with two lovely cupcakes. The attention to detail was impressive; whilst we were having our complimentary prosecco in the bar listening to the jaz musician, our bed was turned down with dressing gowns laid out along with slippers and chocolates on the pillows. The hotel is in an ideal position whether to visit the castle, shopping or to eat out at one of the many restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is very nicely decorated, comfortable and spotlessly clean, the breakfast was plentiful with a wonderful choice along with a freshly cooked full English. I cannot recommend the hotel enough and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kim219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Kim219

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team, turndown service, breakfast and location. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 18 in Windsor
2,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,788 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing