We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - great service in a relaxed atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night at this hotel and was thoroughly impressed . Room was large and had everything you need, robe and slippers and decaf tea were a touch after a long day at the castle !. The bath was deep and amazing, staff on reception very professional and the valet parking men both on arrival and departure were so professional and friendly even putting our cases in the car before we left. Very good. Hotel is central to the castle, shops and restaurants and inside the hotel lobby while classy is just so relaxed, we sat on the big sofas and chilled out by the fire and had afternoon tea. All in all a lovely hotel , great staff in a great location . Thank you :)

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cherrypoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Cherrypoppie

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly your room, the facilities, service from the team and our location.

We appreciate such a helpful review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,974)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,375 - 2,381 of 2,975 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a feature double room overlooking the castle for a birthday celebration. The room was a lovely mix of original features coupled with modern luxury. Breakfast was good and the bar was very relaxing. Above all though every member of staff we came across was so welcoming and helpful. Nothing was ever too much trouble. Parking was very handy even at £25. All our bags were transferred to our room on arrival and returned to our car on check out whilst we continued shopping on the Sunday. All in all a great place to stay to explore Windsor.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RichH1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear RichH1974

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, especially your room, breakfast and the parking service.

It is great to know that the team were welcoming and helpful and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

After reading such positive reviews on the Macdonald Windsor we decided to book and very glad we did. From the moment we arrived the staff could not of made us more welcome,we arrived at 10am and did not expect to check in straight way, but our room was ready and we went straight up, we didn't have to leave the carpark until 1pm the following day, so the £25 was worth it not to have to worry. It was my husbands birthday and the staff left a card along with two lovely cupcakes. The attention to detail was impressive; whilst we were having our complimentary prosecco in the bar listening to the jaz musician, our bed was turned down with dressing gowns laid out along with slippers and chocolates on the pillows. The hotel is in an ideal position whether to visit the castle, shopping or to eat out at one of the many restaurants nearby. The hotel itself is very nicely decorated, comfortable and spotlessly clean, the breakfast was plentiful with a wonderful choice along with a freshly cooked full English. I cannot recommend the hotel enough and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kim219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear Kim219

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team, turndown service, breakfast and location. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I enjoyed afternoon tea with friends, exceptional service. Would definitely call in again. A relaxing place to rest tired legs after shopping or after a visit to the Castle. Guildhall close by. My friends were also impressed with the cleanliness of the smallest room in the house.

Room Tip: Ideal location for visiting Windsor Castle and the theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freddiesimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2013

Dear freddiesimmo

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed the afternoon tea.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I booked this hotel direct over the phone. The lady I spoke with was incredibly helpful describing the hotels location, views from various rooms, car parking options etc. As result of this I reserved a room with a balcony overlooking Windsor castle. The room was exactly as described and perfect for the occasion of my girlfriends birthday, she was delighted.

The hotel was very clean and the staff we're faultless, they all appeared to be very nice people who genuinely wanted to make our stay a pleasurable one. I wouldn't hesitate going back here and highly recommend the Macdonald Windsor hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Steve C C

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you so well!

It was a pleasure to hear of your experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel and thank you for the recommendation.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Arrived during the snow on Friday 18th Jan.Hotel warm and inviting,Room excellent,Service great.Didn,t use the parking but some nearby.
Breakfast very good,loved the black pudding.It was nice to have a friendly place out of the cold.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear Trevor B

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We only stayed for one night in January, the service was friendly, the atmosphere relaxed, the room very comfortable. The location could not be better, right across from the castle and close to shops and restaurants. Breakfast was good, can find no fault.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alison s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Dear alison s

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
264 reviews
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
4,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $152 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing