We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable room with a Castle view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Canberra
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Comfortable room with a Castle view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We spent two nights here in an executive double room, out the front facing the Castle. Location is excellent for sightseeing (the changing of the Castle guard occurred right outside our window) and close to both stations for travelling to London. The room was of reasonable size, very well fitted-out, comfortable and quiet. The layout of the hotel owes more to history than design, so access to our room involved something of an unguided tour around corridors and up and down steps, from the lifts. The meals in the restaurant were very good, although expensive. Staff were friendly and helpful. The room rate was reasonably high, but appropriate to the season and location and overall represented good value.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear A53

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,756 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,902
    622
    164
    54
    14
See reviews for
423
1,495
66
382
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stylishly decorated rooms with Bose docking stations. I had a lovely (toy) wooden cow in my room (Ash room) which added a novel touch. The rooms were VERY hot over night and most of our group struggled to sleep because of this. The beds were very comfortable though.

Unfortunately the service let them down upon check out - they offered to put our bags in our cars to help us with a quick getaway after our onsite meeting (it's an underground carpark with a restricted number of parking spaces. They insist on the valet parking service, hence the offer of taking your bags down for you) but the gentleman that was in charge of this seemed to get very confused and made what should have been an excellent customer service touch became a protracted discussion resulting in frustration on both sides.

Breakfast was unfortunately awful! We ordered hot drinks and a hot breakfast with toast. Not remotely complicated! The overcooked, dry baked beans arrived before the drinks and were left going cold whilst we had to repeatedly ask out waiter to bring the toast!

I'd still stay here again though, it's a stylish hotel in a great location.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have baths, so ask if you want one and ask for a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KirstyandTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear KirstyandTom

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I appreciate you taking the time to provide such a detailed account and would like to apologise for the service shortfalls you experienced which I can assure you is not reflective of our usual levels of service.

I appreciate your constructive feedback, which will be discussed with the team for training purposes, and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This is a smart, stylish, contemporary hotel that is ideally placed in the centre of Windsor. It is very close to the entrance to Windsor Castle and shopping/eating areas and is within a five minute downhill walk to the river and about 10-15 minutes to Eton College. The hotel appears to focus particularly on the needs of business people but is also at home with couples and families.
The front entrance of the hotel is not immediately obvious as it is rather narrow and is taken up principally with a revolving door. Inside is a long, narrow passageway that runs alongside a narrow lounge area.
The venue opens out towards the back into a substantially larger dining area which serves extremely good breakfasts. We assume that evening meals are equally good, but we chose to eat in nearby restaurants instead.
Our bedroom was very comfortable with a sparklingly clean and up to date shower/bathroom.
Serving staff were helpful in their behaviour, but unfortunately made a number of irritating small mistakes. For example, we had the wrong newspaper delivered on the wrong day; a waiter attempted to charge us for two coffees which we had not ordered; an order for a small spritzer was delivered as an excessively large one; a cooked breakfast was provided too soon and when we asked for it to be held back for five minutes the staff just let it go cold. All this happened over just one weekend - not an impressive performance.
We would still visit this hotel again, mainly on account of its excellent location and breakfasts, but we find it sad that a hotel that has the potential to rate "excellent" shoots itself in the foot with so many silly little mistakes. It should do better.

Room Tip: Not all rooms of equal grade are of equal size. Room no. 125 is nicely spacious, whereas room no. 12...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tryphaena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Tryphaena

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel
following your stay with us.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay overall, however may I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with some of the aspects of your stay. I would like to assure you that this is in no way reflective of our usual standards of service and please be assured that I am investigating into your comments to ensure that any future disappointment could be avoided.

I appreciate you taking the time to bring your experience to my attention and do hope you will return to the hotel.

Kindest regards

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, South Wales
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed in Windsor for an Investiture so the hotel's location was perfect as it is just across the road from the castle entrance. The rooms were delightful and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Breakfast was of a high quality and the service throughout the hotel was exceptional. Staff who parked the car were brilliant.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Pauline M

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your recent visit.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

The hotel location was great. The room was very nice with great and the housekeeping staff was attentive and nice. The hotel was helpful also. Windsor Castle is right out the front door of the hotel and there is plenty of shopping and restaurants to choose from. The one downside are the cab drivers being clueless as to where to drop you off. Also, several keep wanting to drop me off at the McDonalds Fast Food. NO THANKS. After a while it became rather comical to see what the driver would do. Only other downside was my room location, which had a walkway right out the window, very weird and looked right across to other rooms. So you really couldn't open the curtains. A man did actually walk by one. About gave me a heart attack. So, make sure you ask about your room location.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask what kind of view you will have.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Souris52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Souris52

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall, especially our location and the cleanliness of your room.

I appreciate your constructive feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the MacDonald Windsor hotel. The room was appointed nicely, with quality linens and toiletries. The staff were very helpful when it came to assisting with parking, restaurant recommendations, etc., however they were not very knowledgeable about the area surrounding Windsor. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dgamymarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear dgamymarie

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Windsor following your recent stay. I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team looked after you well!

It was a pleasure to hear of your experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your view of the hotel.

Best wishes

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

My partner and I had a lovely, well deserved break in Windsor and how glad we were to have chosen the Macdonald hotel for our three night stay. The staff were all incredibly helpful and friendly. They were full of information and they happily brought extra milk and sugar up to our room when needed (my partner has a lot of sugar in his tea!) We were lucky enough to be in the 'Willow Room' a green, sustainable room with lovely 'green' additions to the room. The room was absolute luxury, we felt so spoilt in our Macdonald dressing gowns!
Location wise the hotel cannot be better situated, it is right on the high street in Windsor so everything is very close by. We were able to jump on a bus right outside to go on a Sightseeing tour of Windsor and it was only a two minute walk over to Windsor Castle for one of our planned days out.
We ate in the restaurant on our first night. The service was priceless as was the food. I had fish and chips whilst my partner had the steak. It was all cooked and presented perfectly. The price was rather steep however this is what you would expect from an up market hotel. The helpfulness of the staff certainly made it worth while.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone going to stay in Windsor. We were so impressed with the hotel and Windsor itself. We hope to visit again sometime.

Thank you Macdonald hotel :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elin444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Elin444

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details you provided. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.9 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
2.6 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing