We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I have stayed here a few times on business trips to Windsor and this has become my hotel of choice while in Windsor. Very nice and modern hotel with nice, spacious and updated rooms (which is hard to find in Europe!) It's a great location to the shops, restaurants and the castle! Also the restaurant has very good food. I would recommend this hotel if you are considering a place to stay in Windsor!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesBond_Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear JamesBond_Halifax,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay, in particular your room, the food you experienced in the restaurant and our location. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,936
    629
    167
    56
    16
See reviews for
426
1,522
67
394
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Slap bang opposite the Catle, this is a hidden gem of a hotel and definately a boutique. Stylish and beautifully furnished. The staff are genuinely keen to ensure that you have a great stay and nothing is too much trouble. As others have commented do reserve a car park space as they are limited and I would imagine it will be insane in the summer but on the plus side they do have valet parking, Also be aware that the entrance to the car park is at the back of the hotel and visitors should look for the blue signs for the Library as its just at the top of the hill and really easy to find if you know what to look for. Useful also to note that there is a lift from the car park and from the street level.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebekah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Rebekah F,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a review of your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit and will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate such a helpful review, particularly the tip regarding parking and look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had a brilliant stay, the hotel is in a great location for exploring Windsor by foot. There is a great choice of restaurants in Windsor, but don't forget to eat in the hotel restaurant as it is fabulous. Great service, friendly staff, we will be back.  Andy & Sarah - Brighton. 

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basherbanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Basherbanks,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay, in particular the service from the team, restaurant food and location. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Berwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We stayed one night in this hotel, and it deserves to be called a boutique hotel. The rooms are lovely designed, as is everything else in the hotel. The waterfall shower was great.
Staff were friendly. If traveling by car, I would advice to reserve a car parking space ahead of time, as we got lucky (but did not reserve). The food was delicious, though we were a bit intrigued about the mystique surrounding the manner in which they prepare their steaks - they don't taste different to us as if they were pan-baked to us. But it was all good, though we feel the restaurant could serve from a little more imagination. It felt as if the chef is excellent, but is only allowed to do steaks in the way the theme of the restaurant has set it out.
The restaurant staff is friendly, but don't know much about the food or wine they serve. We found it better to go on our own knowledge and instincts than take their advice.

Room Tip: The rearview bedrooms' view isn't much of a view, but close the lovely blinds, and all is we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip_Coppens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear Philip_Coppens,

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay overall, particularly your room and friendliness of the staff, and thank you for such a helpful review.

Please be assured that I will share your constructive feedback with the food and beverage team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Firstly, an admission. I'd recommended this hotel on the basis of other Macdonalds I'd stayed at in Manchester and Scotland and the fact that this one was new/refurbed recently, but I'd never stayed here myself. (Fortunately one person who did stay has reviewed it and given it a five so, phew).

Anyway, a winter deal and an engagement nearby gave me the excuse to give it a whirl and I'm very glad I did. I booked an 'Executive' which had a small (non- working) fireplace, separate walk in shower - as in separate to the rest of the bathroom which has underfloor heating, - and a view of the High St (and Changing of the Guard if you are there when they do it). The public areas as well as the bathrooms are done to a very high standard. Cosy,calm and warm (despite a sea of greige) with a feeling of understated luxury. Classic but contemporary with a lovely ambience throughout. My room was quite compact -despite being a slightly higher level than the standard room - but this this is an inevitable compromise in a converted townhouse. Room was quiet overall - there is some noise from the street outside but not to a level that could be called disturbing. The aircon was easy to operate and seemed to work well suggesting it would be fine in summer (when it would be needed). Room was immaculately clean.

Staff were pleasant and friendly throughout (incl the cleaners should you bump into them, which I always think is the acid test). My only minor 'negatives' were that there seemed to be only one option for breakfast - the full monty - and it would be nice to have a lighter option (for less£ obviously). The food was good though and kudos for presenting tea in a pot with a hot water top up. The other was that there is an Ipod dock but no TV movies or DVD player and although this was not necessary on this stay it is nice if you are on business and staying solo to have some reasonably priced in room entertainment, although this is not a deal breaker. Location is very convenient - about 4-5 minutes max from Windsor Central station which has regular, fast services to Paddington and loads of cafes and restaurants within a five minute radius on foot. A definite future trip on the cards next time I spot a good deal. (And a tip to anyone visiting Windsor Castle which is 'across the road', you can get your ticket stamped for use up to one year from date of entry. Which is nice).

Room Tip: Ask for room at back if street noise is a concern. Top floor rooms will not suffer from footfall noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank parklandwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear parklandwalk,

I was delighted to read your review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor and thank you for writing in such helpful detail.

Your feedback has been shared with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Co Durham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

Great location on the high street (although get the postcode for the car park if you’re using it, it’s different to the hotel even though it’s only at the back but it does mean a detour from the high street). Staff very friendly and helpful (the car park concierge was the friendliest and most helpful member of hotel staff I’ve ever met!). Room a great size and tastefully decorated. The hotel has an unusual layout as apparently it used to be a John Lewis! Not a bad price for the type of hotel. If we visit Windsor again, I’ll definitely use this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indigogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2012
Dear indigogirl,

I was delighted to read your review following your stay at the Macdonald Windsor and thank you for writing in such helpful detail about your experience.

Your feedback has been shared with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrox, Spain
Level Contributor
66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

This is the second Macdonald uk hotel we have stayed in & what a huge difference in accomodation standards between here & Windemere.
The complete hotel refurb has been done with real style - modern & minimalist but very welcoming & cosy, although the hotel is quite large by room number it feels very chic & small in the way the decor has been done.
All of the staff were very welcoming & helpful (although the night time bar staff let them down with their inexperience & customer service) telling the assistant food & beverage manager at the top of your voice that 'I should have gone home 15 mins ago' has a time & place - not in the middle of the bar
The rooms, although quite small in size felt much larger as the wall facing the bed was mirrored (no, not in that way!!) which made the room seem much larger & with Bose Ipod docks & flat screen tv's, as well as complimentary safes (others should learn from this) it was well equipped. The bathroom was also very modern with nice toiletries and a really good walk-in 'rain forest' shower which was great after walking round shops all day.
Breakfast was a good combination of buffet items (fruit, pastries,cereals etc.) combined with a really, really good full breakfast from the menu.
The one let-down, as mentioned in Mike99's review is the crazy £25 per night parking fee, however literally round the corner from the hotel is Yorke House, council offices with a car park open to the public at weekends at the princely sum of £5 per 24hrs - bargain!!!

All in all this was a beautifully renovated hotel in a lovely setting & highly recommended for a weekend break

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The-Wandering-Whites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear The-Wandering-Whites,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a review of your stay at the Macdonald Windsor Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit and will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We appreciate such a helpful review, particularly the tip regarding parking and look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3.0 of 5 bubbles 3,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Property: Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing