We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Lovely hotel. Great decor & spotlessly clean. Stayed only the one night on B&B basis and the breakfast was excellent. Ideally positioned in Windsor for sightseeing. Stayed previously at the Sir Christopher Wren and the Macdonald is miles better and nicer. Would highly recommend. Excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizziewonderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Dear Lizziewonderer,

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay especially the decor, cleanliness and quality of breakfast.

Your feedback has been shared with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

Thank you for writing such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,948)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,677 - 2,683 of 2,949 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hotel is very nice and the room we had (116) was an executive room. Despite looking out onto the High Street there was very little noise. Breakfast was very good with the hot food being cooked to order. We ate in the restaurant on our second night and did not experience any of the issues with service that previous reviewers experienced. The food (I had the fillet steak) was delicious.

The only fly in the ointment was the checkout. Fortunately I had worked out roughly how much we had left to pay (having alreay part-paid with Tesco Clubcard vouchers) as we were presented with a bill that was £90 too much! The dinner had been charged for three times!! It seems that as we had pre-booked dinner the computer couldn't work this out. Although the lady on reception did not seem to understand what we were trying to say fortunately her colleague did and it was sorted out with the minimum of fuss.

As for car parking, I would recommend parking in the car park for the Mercure Hotel which is practically next door to the hotel. It is available for public parking and only costs £15.35 per day.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynneC13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Dear LynneC13,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Macdonald Windsor Hotel following your stay with us.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay overall, especially your room and the food and service you experienced in the restaurant. However, may I sincerely apologise for your disappointment with the billing issue you encountered when settling your account. Please be assured that the appropriate retraining has been completed with the team member concerned to ensure that any similar lapses in our usually high standards could not be repeated.

Thank you for your constructive feedback and I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Only about a year old and the rooms are very well done. Right opposite the castle. Parking is limited but the Mercure a few doors down has more spaces and you can pay about £15 to park there overnight. Saw a room at the Mercure and the MacDonalds rooms are much better.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martiantourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2011

Dear martiantourist,

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly your room, and thank you for such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

We had a two night break at this hotel, and were not disappointed! The hotel is modern, chic, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The rooms were very luxurious, (we had interconnecting rooms to accommodate my husband and I and two children.) There was everything you could possibly want, and more. The staff were all very friendly, and not at all stuffy, as you might expect in a higher class hotel. The hotel is ideally situated, being just a couple of minutes walk from Windsor castle, and a five minute stroll from the train station. We took a trip from here in to London, which took no more than thirty minutes. The breakfasts were also amazing, with a large selection of fresh and dried fruits, cereals, continental pastries and cooked English. Overall, this is the place to stay in Windsor, and we will certainly stop again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank harlyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear harlyc,

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay especially your rooms, the team and breakfast.

Your feedback has been shared with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

Thank you for writing such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

My husband and I had a really wonderful stay recently at the Windsor MacDonald hotel. The room was lovely, tasteful, luxurious with everything you could need. We had dinner which had a good combination of "posh nosh" and regular food so both of us could have exactly what we were in the mood for.

I think what really made the weekend break was the staff, they we attentive but never in your face. Any requests were dealt with immediately, with a smile and as if you were their only client. It's nice to be made to feel special.

Also the location is brilliant, access to everything you could ever want from Windsor.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear sonya s,

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay especially the service you received from the team.

Your feedback has been shared with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

Thank you for writing such a positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the very near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

we arrived Saturday evening,as soon as we walked through the glass doors ,first impressions were "WOW" this is a very luxurious hotel .we were met at reception by Bill who was so efficient polite and very warm , i was so excited as we had just got engaged that same evening .of which we told Bill , even the other receptionist(i cannot recall her name ) came over to say congratulations ! .we then ordered some drinks at the bar .the bar staff were very polite and fast,knowing "just "when to come over and ask if we would like any more drinks .the whole reception /bar lounge area is relaxing comfortable.and the decor and lighting creates a cozy atmosphere .then we went to our room ,it was beautiful ,and to our delight we had a gift of champagne all ready and chilled waiting for us ,breakfast was delivered to our room on time and it was excellent ,every thing was hot ,and delicious ,check out time was very busy ,but yet again very warm polite receptionists .i have stayed in quite a few hotels ,but i have to say this was by far the most special ,they seemed to have the complete package of location, lovely surroundings,amazing hotel and warm and efficient staff.that makes you want to go back again and again ,i most certainly will be !!! (we didn't use the fitness centre)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank collette o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear collete o,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a positive review - congratulations again on your engagement.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the helpfulness of the staff. Please be assured that I have passed your comments to them, as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel in the near future.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

Great location, once we found the car park. great staff(from car valet to restaurant staff) beautiful modern rooms(once we mastered the air con).Fantastic stay will be booking same next time we are in windsor

Room Tip: All rooms are equally as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PJF306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Windsor, General Manager at Macdonald Windsor Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2011

Dear PJF306,

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for such a positive review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We hope to welcome you back to the Macdonald Windsor Hotel when you are next planning to visit Windsor.

Kindest regards,

Beverley Molmans
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,987 reviews
0.4 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Windsor Hotel

Address: 23 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Hotels in Windsor
Price Range: $165 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Windsor Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted with a multitude of awards for exceptional customer service and sustainability, the four-red star Macdonald Windsor Hotel is must-stay hotel in the heart of Windsor. Ideally located 2 minutes' walk from the gates of Windsor Castle and in the centre of the shopping parade, Macdonald Windsor Hotel is the perfect base offering you the most comfortable beds in town. The Royal Borough is home to some of the UK's best known attractions such as Windsor Great Park, Legoland and Savill Gardens, not to mention being just 40 minutes away by train from the heart of our capital; London. And when the day of exploration or work is done and you retire to your room, make sure you indulge on one of the finest steaks, prepared using 21-day aged Aberdeen Angus steak and complimented by a glass of delicious red straight from our AA-rosette awarded Scottish Steak Club restaurant. For bugm.wisiness meetings and conferences, our flexible and accessible meeting space for up to 150 delegates is just the ticket and our Meeting's all-inclusive delegate package with dedicated meeting support helps ticks all of your event objectives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing