We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review for customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of 76 Duke Street

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
76 Duke Street
Ranked #9 of 22 Windsor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pepin, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Review for customer service”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We had booked a stay for the last night of our recent two week holiday in England but unfortunately were not able to stay. Julia was called away on a family medical emergency and found us excellent alternative accommodations in Windsor. Thank you for your outstanding customer service. We will defiitely book if in Windsor again. Hope everything work out and Best Wishes

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
56
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Julia welcomed us with proper tea and freshly baked cake .The bedroom and bath were comfortable and charming. Our choice of cooked breakfast was served steaming hot from the kitchen and the dining room faced an adorable garden with a view just like a picture book including a kitty. We loved the close proximity to the Castle and town, Eton and the river and could walk everywhere easily on sidewalks with lovely views. This was a gem. We recommend Julia and 76 Duke Street highly!

Room Tip: Two lovely rooms. Either would be perfect at any time of year.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easypeasy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

This is one of the best B&B we have ever stayed in and is a credit to the owner, Julia. Her relaxed efficiency and attention to detail is incredible and extremely helpful in making our short stay a very pleasurable time. Room, location, THE breakfast and the warm welcome, what more could you ask for!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wills1690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We booked the 2 bedrooms for one night for my bf and I, as well as the in-laws. The house is very cute, and the rooms + bathroom were spotless.
Julia was very attentive, offered tea and some very good cake. And when we had to take my bf to the emergencies (food poisoning from Carluccio's - do yourself a favor and don't go there!), she was very helpful as well.
Breakfast very nice too, so overall very happy with the experience (except the food poisoning part of course, but that had nothing to do with the b&b...)
Only gripe was that there was no shampoo in the bathroom, only shower gel. But to be fair, didn't ask for it so maybe it was just overlooked.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DKB_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The photos absolutely do not do this lovely b&b justice.

Julia is lovely - also very laid back about coming and going which makes a big difference at a b&b!

Breakfast was fab - eggs royale!

Town ten minutes walk away. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzieAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed for two nights last October after a long flight from Australia. Julia is very nice and most attentive. You have the middle floor to yourself with nice bedroom and own bathroom along hallway. Only one set of guests at a time so you can relax and have privacy. The location is in the town of Windsor so a short walk to everything. The breakfast is one of the best I ever had. A small tip. Use the hire car service that they recommend as they are cheaper than a taxis and a black cab from Heathrow will charge you extra as they are hoping for a hire back to London. When we "do London" again will do exactly the same and stay a few nights at 76 Duke Street.

Room Tip: Only one nice room, so privacy assured.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank enjoylife94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We booked this B&B because of its location and previous Trip Advisor reviews. We stayed 3 nights in mid July 2013. Correspondence with Julia was prompt and informative. She actually corrected my wrong booking date much to our relief and gratitude! Julia also allowed our fellow Australian friend to stay 1 night in the other bedroom which greatly assisted our gathering. The visitors book shows it is very popular with overseas guests especially Australians.
The location is only a 10 minute walk from Windsor Central station, is in a quiet street but like all of Windsor is subject to Heathrow plane noise. During our stay the weather was a warm 28-31 degrees.
The warm welcome and initial viewing is comforting. On the ground level is a lounge area with TV , brochures and a dining room for breakfast. The fittings are of good quality and decor is well presented. The breakfast is comprehensive with optional times and plenty of delicious food. We particularily liked the fruit medley and eggs of any type.
Upstairs to the bedroom which has a very comfortable bed, TV, windows that open, wardrobe and storage space. There are 2 lounge chairs but I do not think it is necessary to have 2 other chairs as it crowds the bedroom. Typical of England homes it does not have airconditioning so we ran the fan all night during the hot weather. The second bedroom is next door and equally well appointed. The bathroom is 10 steps away and is beautifully equipped. Lighting is adjustable, plenty of hot water, easy to operate shower, lots of mirrors and a toilet. It is like new.
Julia is a friendly and cooperative hostess- offering a cup of tea on our early arrival, organising a taxi transfer, suggesting scenic walks and joining in chats. She farewelled her daughter and son in law to New Zealand (permanently) on the same day as our departure yet she still found time to meet our requirements. She tidies the rooms daily.
The only negatives I can list are outside her control. First is the water! Not nice if you are making a cup of tea in your room but she does provide bottled water. Second, the noise of the planes from nearby Heathrow do take time to get use to. And finally, when you have a sunny weekend the tourists flock to Windsor by the thousands.
There are numerous eating houses in Windsor, plus the Duke of Connaught pub down the road who serve delicious Thai food. Also there is a Coop nearby for groceries.
A very very nice B&B that deserves its high rating.A good choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KirraMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.5 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.3 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,149 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crown And Cushion Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 76 Duke Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 76 Duke Street

Property: 76 Duke Street
Address: 76 Duke Street, Windsor SL4 1SQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Hotel Class:4 star — 76 Duke Street 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a quiet residential location 200 metres from the River Thames, we welcome only one set of guests at a time, so you are looked after in quiet comfort. A ten minute riverside walk brings you to Windsor town centre, Windsor Castle, Eton and two train stations with regular services to London Paddington and London Waterloo. We are only a 5 minute drive from the M4 motorway giving easy access to the West of England and M25.Perfect for both business and leisure travelers, 76 Duke Street is conveniently situated in a central Windsor location and offers complimentary wireless broadband. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing