We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”
Review of Viceroy of Windsor

Viceroy of Windsor
Ranked #66 of 244 Restaurants in Windsor
Price range: $16 - $52
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Grill, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An eloquent and dynamic Indian tandoori restaurant centralised within the Windsor Town Centre besides the Trinity Church and East Berkshire College. A local favourite, this restaurant has been serving both locals and tourists alike since 1987. With an intimate yet spacious atmosphere along with over 100 readily available seats the Viceroy remains the best Indian restaurant in Windsor. Our award winning food has won numerous awards including Best Indian Restaurant in South East England by both the Asian Catering Federation and the British Curry Awards. Furthermore, we have constantly been selected as one of the top 200 Indian Restaurants within the entire United Kingdom.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

First time in Windsor with friends so first time in this restaurant. The venue itself is rather smart, and the service is good, friendly and welcoming. Maitre d' recommended Shukram Chicken, a chef's speciality. Three of us plumped for it, but I was disappointed. Plenty of chillies, but lacking in body in the same way that a wine can lack body. A good dosing of salt helped. Also pricier than the Indian/Bangla fare I am used to in the Midlands, and certainly not as tasty.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ossiemurdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    74
    33
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
541 reviews
383 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
“A firm favorite”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Been coming here for well over ten years and have fond memories
Food is standard affair, but what I like is the service
I simply cannot stand coriander, but love curries of all sorts and so it can be challenging for me when we eat out and I crave Indian food
This place know me well enough now to ensure there's no additional coriander I the dishes - they know how to make you feel special
I always bring my friends and business associates from overseas here
Love it

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank j100lok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chezzy
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very good.”
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Well what can I say. To start I don't like any of the food, anything that is spicy I don't like. I like to make curries etc for my family but I cannot eat them.
The owner did try to entice me with various things he made for me to try. Alas still don't like. I had a dessert instead whilst my family had various things from the menu.
The place was very clean, have to admit I did find it a little expensive, but they were very busy when we left at about 8.30pm.
We would go again but for me it would be another dessert.
They do do omelette for chiildren so maybe that will be for me the next time.
Son has been on more than one occasion and still enjoys going there.
Staff are friendly and it is very clean.
I will mark this meal as my family as to do it from me would be wrong because I don't like in general.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ChezzySuzieblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“So So..”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

They service is very good. The food is somewhat bland however. There are better Indian restaurants in Windsor and at a better price. We've been twice but I wouldn't be in a rush to return. The mains didn't taste of much other than chilli heat and garlic. It certainly wasn't terrible but....average I would have to say.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GRBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed June 21, 2014

I've had dinner at this restaurant a couple of times and would go again. The menu is quite extensive, a large variety of curries, portions fair and it has an authentic taste (as far as I can say, never having been to India...). I'd suggest updating of the decor and not the least the lighting (purple'ish...) and the walk to the loo downstairs is a bit odd and dingy. Then it would make it a five star review for me.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank U3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Viceroy of Windsor also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Viceroy of Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing