We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant little find!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windsor Trooper
Ranked #16 of 23 Windsor B&B and Inns
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Brilliant little find!!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Have stayed here on many occasions, and thoroughly enjoyed my time. Friendly staff, comfortable rooms, and the food is great! The location is perfect for my wife and I, a stone's throw from town, yet peaceful on an evening. Thanks again!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brammers101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    48
    30
    16
    19
See reviews for
28
49
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Although the room was comfortable, clean and functional, it was a little warm (even with no heating in February). Therefore, we opened the window to keep cool. Unfortunately, a late night party was taking place in the conservatory attachment to the pub, celebrating the engagement of one of the employees. This meant that there was a lot of noise and a catch 22 - too warm to close the window, too much noise to sleep with it open. The party didn't finish until after 4am and there was no way to complain short of going outside to get to the conservatory. Shame, as everything else was perfectly good for the money.

Room Tip: Check about on-site parties when booking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Windsor hotels

Pompey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed at The Trooper Hotel for one night. Ideal position for walking into Windsor town and to the Castle. The room we had (No 1) had recently been refurbished and was very comfortable - the key was difficult to lock and unlock the door and although we reported the problem we suspected nothing will be done about it!!
The pub definitely needs some attention , it was very scruffy. The Spanish female member of staff was very friendly - unlike another member (manageress?) who sat in the corner of the bar on her PC/Kindle all the time not acknowledging the guests at all.
We ordered breakfast, which was a mistake!! It was just about edible, definitely not worth £20. I would recommend walking to Windsor town where there are some lovely coffee shops.
Would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Room Number 1 comfortable but suspect could be noisy if music playing in the pub. If you are given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BriianAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked a room here via booking.com, received confirmation etc etc. Arrived to be told that they didnt have a room for us and that they were "over-booked" also that it was booking.com's fault ! The barmaid tried... a bit...to find us another room in central Windsor with parking. The landlady or Manageress of the place simply hid out the back and wasnt brave enough to even speak to us to apologise !! Dreadfully handled. I explained that i didnt think it was booking.com fault, but theirs..... the girl just giggled and seemed very happy to just let us walk out the door. We booked into another hotel in Windsor which was far better in the end ( The Queen Adelaide )

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZoeWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at The Windsor Trooper this month for three nights in one of the adjacent cottage rooms with some dear friends. We found the room comfortable and pretty well appointed but very unloved I.e. lightbulbs not working, mildewed grouting to shower, shower curtain expander rail kept slipping and the hot tap to the sink swivelled every time you turned it on or off. The cleaning left a bit to be desired but having said that the beds were well presented and comfortable, there were clean towels every day, plenty of tea and coffee provided and even a refrigerator in the room for extra milk or more importantly a bottle of wine or two.

The pub itself was comfortable, the food extremely good and the staff were friendly and very attentive.

Room Tip: Room 5 and 7 good although 5 is bigger and brighter. Small car park on site .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night when on our way to Gatwick. What a friendly Pub /Hotel and spotlessly clean. We had a small lunch there which was excellent value, we'll presented and also very tasty. Breakfast was well served and again excellent quality.

Unfortunately the hotel is directly under the flight path into Gatwick, although you do get used to it. If you are going to Windsor for a break I would highly recommend the Windsor Trooper.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank usontourSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

4 of us booked a suite in this pub/hotel. 3 beds, one bath and a little kitchenette. We were delighted with the authentic horse stables renovated into hotel rooms. The room was up a narrow flight of stairs with a little door about 5' high cut at an angle. We laughed, made tea and used the wifi that came with the hotel. We had parking too, which was not easy to locate in Windsor. It was good fun and the bartender was a delight.

Room Tip: You'll want the authentic nature of this hotel, likely built in the 1800's! It's right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TammyTheMilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
The Royal Adelaide Hotel
#12 of 17 in Windsor
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
0.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Windsor Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Trooper? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Trooper

Property: The Windsor Trooper
Address: 97 St Leonards Road, Barkshire, Windsor SL4 3BZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windsor Trooper 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Windsor Trooper reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Trooper Hotel Windsor

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing