We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good one night stay in Windsor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alma House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 24 Windsor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 5, 2012

My friend booked us in for an overnight stay in Winchester after our usual accomodation was fully booked. They had a triple room, I had a single. Although the single was definately "compact and bijoux" it was very comfortable, well furnished, clean and the bathroom was actually bigger than then bedroom and have a very nice shower and sunken bath! The triple room had a double and bunk bed in and table chairs for breakfast with a julliet balcony. Although no cooked breakfast was offered, cereal, bread for toast, coffee and tea plus a yummy chocolate muffin and fruit are provided in the room. We all had an excellent stay and will return again next year!

Room Tip: Prebook parking and you will park on the drive, parking is limited although plentiful on the road ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrStocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (274)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

188 - 194 of 274 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

Loved this Bed and Breakfast - it was perfect for our stay in Windsor. It was a help yourself continental breakfast in your own room, which was ideal for us. It took ten minutes to walk into the centre of Windsor. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The bathroom (just a shower) was very small, but that was not a problem for us.

Room Tip: We had No 2 which was a family room. Although there is parking next to the hotel, you have to leave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pudsey1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I travel a lot in my work and have stayed at regular places, but after finding 'Alma House B&B' I will use no other. I had a fabulous stay, with a clean, comfortable room, with the most comfortable bed I ever slept in! The staff were so accomodating, friendly and flexible to my needs, and although a few miles further than I used to travel, I wont ever use another place to stay. it was fantastic!

Room Tip: as I've only just started using this B&B I can only say; if you ask for whatever I'm sur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This room was fine--couldn't call it spacious--with steps down to it from the driveway. Fortunately it had a sliding glass door which gave it plenty of light. We had a car, which we parked in the driveway, but we had to leave our keys in case they needed to move it, as other cars park in the driveway. The bathroom was dinky, with a tiny sink, and we got water all over just washing up! You prepare your own breakfast--there's coffee and tea bags, a couple of apples and muffins in plastic wrap, and a fridge with milk, yogurt, juice, and a few slices of bread for toast. The area where you prepare your breakfast--coffee, toast, etc--is literally inside what used to be a stone fireplace, and directly under the TV, so you have to reach your head inside the "fireplace" and watch you don't hit it on the stone archway or the TV when you come out of there...NOT comfortable. They charge a 5% surcharge for paying with a credit card, which we weren't aware of until we got there. We won't stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine_of_Fallbrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NigelWindsor, Owner at Alma House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review our B&B and sorry that you found the room to be "cramped". We have moved furniture around a little to make it more spacious and take on board your comments about the breakfast area. We will be making some changes to this shortly. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed for 1 night for a visit to a friends 40th birthday in Windsor. The room was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. It was extremely convenient for us to have breakfast in our room at a time of our choosing, good selection and fresh.

Room Tip: Garden Room (Room 5) was detached and hence quiet
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank fitzbilly_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights for a visit to Windsor and London. I can't fault the room, it was very clean and comfortable and well equiped. It suited us to have our breakfast in our room, there was a good selection and plenty of it. We will definately be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2012

'Three generations attending a wedding in Windsor and ideal for all of us. Me in single Room 1, daughter and son-in-law in Room 3 and my elderly parents in their 80s in The Garden Cottage.
All rooms were clean, comfortable and contemporary. Staff friendly and helpful. If we need to stay in Windsor again Alma House will be our first choice.'

Room Tip: Family rooms are spacious. Single rooms are compact but well laid out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.5 mi away
Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.8 mi away
Park Farm Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 56 Alma Road, Windsor SL4 3HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range: $91 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alma House bed and breakfast guesthouse Windsor - superbly located just 5 minutes walk to Windsor town centre and Castle, shops, restaurants. Recently completely refurbished. Modern and clean. Free wireless internet access included. Complimentary continental breakfast which is self-service from a mini fridge in your room. Kettle, toaster, fresh milk, muffins, bread for toast, juice, jams, cereals, yoghurt, fruit, biscuits and hot drinks (tea, coffee & hot chocolate) all provided in the room price. Off road parking on the driveway but you can also park on street at 70p for 2 hours (free from 8pm-8am). Information on where to eat out is available in your room along with a map of the town centre and the many attractions. Children welcome. Perfect for Legoland visits, or those that are working locally and need somewhere to stay that is convenient, comfortable that is reasonably priced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alma House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing