We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice despite unfinished room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norfolk House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2014

This was a comfortable & clean hotel with plenty of parking . Breakfast was excellent with a good choice . We had a large ensuite with a powerful shower & almost instant hot water. Beds were comfortable & the room had exposed beams & also one wall with exposed brickwork, which may have been unintentional as the screws, rawplugs and mains cables were also exposed as well as a gap to the underfloor at the bottom. It looked as though the room was in the process of redecoration but not yet completed. We were only staying one night otherwise I would have queried it with the staff...the two we met were both very friendly & helpful.
I would have given this an "excellent" rating, but you can't when mains cables are hanging across the wall

Room Tip: Make sure they've finished room 1 , if they have it'll be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (121)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 121 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

I have been a regular weekly guest now for 5 months. The staff are welcoming and friendly, also extremely helpful and accommodating. The breakfasts are especially good. It was really a home away from home. The room was spacious, and the location was convenient for work.
I shall definitely be recommending this place as somewhere my employing organisation should use on a continuing basis.

Room Tip: Make sure your room has good internet reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here for a friend's birthday party nearby. Large room, convenient location, welcoming hosts and a good breakfast. Exactly what we needed. We would certainly recommend it and hope to return in the summer to make use of the outdoor pool!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Ben_Jenkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Was a frequent visitor to Norfolk House during 2006-2010. The staff were amazing and always bent over backwards to look after me. Including many a lunchtime sandwich if I finished early. I cannot praise this place enough, I had my own room in the coach house and although only a single it was like a home from home. If I'm ever in the area and need somewhere to stay this will always be my first choice.

Paul

Room Tip: Great place, the coach house was lovely and offered a bit more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank poppeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Norfolk House Hotel is a former Georgian manor house which now functions as a 20 room Bed and Breakfast hotel just outside Maidenhead Town centre in easy walk for the Town Centre and the River Thames pathway.
A key positive is the friendly service levels experienced. There is always a worry when arriving at an unmanned reception desk with service bell, but no need to in this case. The friendliness and help provided by the proprietor and who I assumed to be his wife could not be faulted and when I needed an Iron and board on arrival, this was duly delivered to the corridor outside my room and set up in no time at all.
The benefits of Georgian rooms are the very high ceilings and long length windows which give character. However the rooms are obviously the former Manor House bedrooms, and a section of the space has had to be lost to fit in the en-suite bathroom, which leads to a fairly tight bathroom space and reduction of the room space. But the room had all the things you might want for a short stay in a flat-screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and free wi-fi which worked reliably in both the room and the public areas.
My room was front facing and although it’s well set back so that there is virtually no noise from the busy A4 you do hear cars arriving on the gravel drive to the parking area out front, but as I was a late arriver getting back it didn’t bother me.
The dining room and bar is a pleasant enough space that looks out onto the Hotel grounds and outside pool and the Full cooked breakfast was very good.
This December morning wasn’t conducive to an outside swim, but as it is more swimming puddle than swimming pool I would guess the outside terrace area is more utilised for an alfresco drink than serious exercise in summer.
In summary the Norfolk House Hotel does not offer the feel or facilities of a modern business hotel, but then it is significantly lower cost than one of the nearby chain hotels, and I would not hesitate to use it again when next needing overnight accommodation in the Maidenhead area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I had the pleasure of 1 night stay at this delightful hotel. Joe & Sarah are the perfect hosts, with their friendly greeting, helpfulness & knowledge of the local area.

My room was spacious, overlooking the front of the hotel. The bathroom was lovely & clean. The furniture & décor of the room was a little tired but warm & homely.

The breakfast was plentiful with a good selection of food.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheWanderer46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed here to achieve 2 things - Firstly a special meal in Bray, which is just a £10 taxi ride away; and secondly a day shopping in London. Taplow railway station being 15 minutes walk and giving access to London within the hour. So with the Hotel being fantastically positioned and rooms being a very reasonable price, it was a bonus to find that it was comfortable, clean, efficient and offering a reasonable breakfast. We would not hesitate in staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeaceFoodandaSnorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.8 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
745 reviews
2 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
0.6 mi away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,464 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
2 mi away
Burnham Beeches Hotel
Burnham Beeches Hotel
#2 of 3 in Burnham
857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk House Hotel

Address: Bath Road | Taplow, Maidenhead SL6 0AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range: $84 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Norfolk House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Maidenhead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing