We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norfolk House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have stayed here on a couple of occasions recently with my partner. We had a nicely presented, well-lit room. It was very clean and was properly serviced during our stay. The bathroom was tiny, but clean and functional. Breakfast was always tasty and cooked beautifully. They do breakfasts cooked to order, but also have a selection of continental breakfast items. Most importantly, the staff at Norfolk House were very friendly and helpful, and a real pleasure to chat with!

The hotel is on the A4, but set well back from the road, so isn't too noisy. It has a beautiful garden, which you have a great view of from the breakfast room. It is very well situated for the Thames Path. It takes about 20 minutes to walk into the town centre, though there is also a bus stop not far from the hotel. Cliveden house is a few minutes drive away. I definitely recommend this as a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank urr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 120 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed this weekend gone to attend the rowing at dorney.Our room was clean and spacious with good internet connection. The breakfast was first class and my request for gluten free bread was taken on board.
The receptionist was very welcoming and extremely helpful and even gave us with an information pack on the rowing and shuttle service and a map of the area when we arrived, which was a really nice touch.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVID E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for two nights to go to Royal Ascot Races. We found the Norfolk House Hotel to be very homely and run by a lovely welcoming family who did everything they could to make our stay a comfortable and pleasant one. The breakfast was marvellous and the service wonderful.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Torquaytraveller125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed for one night for the windsor horse show (good location ) The room was very dusty and had cobwebs every where,there was no fan in bathroom so after showering it was like being in the rain forest and although there was frosted glass in bathroom it would of been nice to have some kind of blind or curtain.Breakfast was advertised as full english and continental but they had no beans,the croissants were like small rocks and the fresh garden fruits were tinned oranges floating in a bowl.Only good thing was the sheets and towels were clean and the garden looked nice. Did complain but just got a shrug !!!!

Room Tip: different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallulahnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We arranged to stay on Jubilee BH Monday and the hotel was almost empty. Sarah was very helpful in letting us have a late check-out so that we could get changed before going to a wedding nearby. Our room was very spacious with everything we needed and the 'over-bath' shower worked well. We found our room & the dining room to be very clean, although the outside area was somewhat shabby and the lovely free-form pool was unusable as inhabited by ducks. Breakfast was vey good with an excellent selection. The hotel is set about 100 Mtrs back from the main A4 and we had no traffic noise at all (front facing room) though I imagine rear facing rooms, although having a better view, would suffer some noise from the railway at the bottom of the garden. Overall this was fine for a short stay but would have been disappointing if you planned to have a swim or spend time in the garden due to the mess the ducks create and there is no longer a restaurant here (as advertised on some sites) though there is a very good selection nearby.

Room Tip: ask for a front facing room for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed for the weekend while attending a local wedding and we were well pleased with the Norfolk hotel.We had a very pleasant and clean room with a patio door leading to the garden with pool ect.The breakfasts offered a large range of hot and cold dishes to suit all tastes and all cooked to perfection.Most importantly the staff were very happy and helpful which is always a big plus to set the mood.Altogether a really good weekend and I should be more than happy to go again.

Room Tip: Room 14 has the patio door to the garden and parking alongside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bjlloyd63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed here for one night in late April, had originally booked for 3 nights. Quickly changed to one night when I saw the room. It was not cleaned, there was dust all over and very visible. Probably I got the worst room - room 16. The owner's response the next morning was even more pathetic - he first said that was a room used by staff, and then gave me a story about how the New Zealand Olympics team pulled out of staying at the hotel so he couldn't update all the rooms! If you can't afford to even clean a room, then simply don't let it out! The only positive factors were - the staff at the front desk agreed to change the booking to 1 night only, and the breakfast the next morning was good.

Room Tip: Check your room before staying in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suresh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.9 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#9 of 11 in Maidenhead
730 reviews
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
2 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 11 in Maidenhead
245 reviews
8.1 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
726 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk House Hotel

Address: Bath Road | Taplow, Maidenhead SL6 0AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range: $101 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Norfolk House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Maidenhead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing