We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very dissapointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Norfolk House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Maidenhead
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very dissapointing”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Stayed for one night for the windsor horse show (good location ) The room was very dusty and had cobwebs every where,there was no fan in bathroom so after showering it was like being in the rain forest and although there was frosted glass in bathroom it would of been nice to have some kind of blind or curtain.Breakfast was advertised as full english and continental but they had no beans,the croissants were like small rocks and the fresh garden fruits were tinned oranges floating in a bowl.Only good thing was the sheets and towels were clean and the garden looked nice. Did complain but just got a shrug !!!!

Room Tip: different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tallulahnorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    46
    8
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
34
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
209 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We arranged to stay on Jubilee BH Monday and the hotel was almost empty. Sarah was very helpful in letting us have a late check-out so that we could get changed before going to a wedding nearby. Our room was very spacious with everything we needed and the 'over-bath' shower worked well. We found our room & the dining room to be very clean, although the outside area was somewhat shabby and the lovely free-form pool was unusable as inhabited by ducks. Breakfast was vey good with an excellent selection. The hotel is set about 100 Mtrs back from the main A4 and we had no traffic noise at all (front facing room) though I imagine rear facing rooms, although having a better view, would suffer some noise from the railway at the bottom of the garden. Overall this was fine for a short stay but would have been disappointing if you planned to have a swim or spend time in the garden due to the mess the ducks create and there is no longer a restaurant here (as advertised on some sites) though there is a very good selection nearby.

Room Tip: ask for a front facing room for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanandPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed for the weekend while attending a local wedding and we were well pleased with the Norfolk hotel.We had a very pleasant and clean room with a patio door leading to the garden with pool ect.The breakfasts offered a large range of hot and cold dishes to suit all tastes and all cooked to perfection.Most importantly the staff were very happy and helpful which is always a big plus to set the mood.Altogether a really good weekend and I should be more than happy to go again.

Room Tip: Room 14 has the patio door to the garden and parking alongside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjlloyd63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

I stayed here for one night in late April, had originally booked for 3 nights. Quickly changed to one night when I saw the room. It was not cleaned, there was dust all over and very visible. Probably I got the worst room - room 16. The owner's response the next morning was even more pathetic - he first said that was a room used by staff, and then gave me a story about how the New Zealand Olympics team pulled out of staying at the hotel so he couldn't update all the rooms! If you can't afford to even clean a room, then simply don't let it out! The only positive factors were - the staff at the front desk agreed to change the booking to 1 night only, and the breakfast the next morning was good.

Room Tip: Check your room before staying in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suresh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

This was a truly fantastic stay. My room was excellent - large, nice view over the rear garden, and very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and clean, and in good nick. Breakfast was a very worthy affair, and the service and friendlieness of the hosts was impeccable. I will go out of my way to come back to the Norfolk House the next time I'm in this area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sun_242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

I am not the type of person who has time to write reviews, but after reading one review about this property, titled "False advertising" I feel obligated to say something.

This sort of review must be very upsetting to the lovely people that run the place. I have now become a regular at this establishment and was staying there when the swimming pool was empty. This was due to the fact that it was been refurbished and had new tiles fitted. This can only be a good thing in my opinion and I don't understand the comment from chetwyn101. What did you expect them to do, build a separate swimming pool, while they were refurbishing the old one? That is something only a "cleaning lady" could come up with. And dust in the room? Well I know they are refurbishing some rooms also, so that could have been the cause, but I have never had a problem, my room has always been spotless.

At the end of the day some people can never be pleased, to me it sounds like they wanted a discount or never got one, hence the comment she left. I can tell you, that you can disregard chetwyn101's comment, as it is incorrect, just like her spelling "customes".

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Set well back from the busy A-4, the hotel provides accommodation that actually is very quiet (especially at the back, where you may occasionally hear trains, but they're hardly noticeable). The rooms are large and the bathrooms are truly spaceous. The owner is extremely accommodating and helpful, providing insight on local restaurants or anything else you might need. The breakfast was fine (with good, strong coffee!). Convenient for walks along the Thames path and for drives to nearby Henley, Windsor, etc. My only suggestion would be for a change to unscented laundry detergent; the towels were extremely perfumy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SROVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 12 in Maidenhead
658 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
0.4 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 12 in Maidenhead
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
1.6 mi away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
565 reviews
0.5 mi away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norfolk House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norfolk House Hotel

Property: Norfolk House Hotel
Address: Bath Road | Taplow, Maidenhead SL6 0AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Norfolk House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Norfolk Hotel Maidenhead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing