We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good - and pricey”
Review of Emperor of India

Emperor of India
Ranked #13 of 157 Restaurants in Maidenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fine dining up market Indian restaurant. We cater for corporate groups and parties as well as local residents. The menu consists of a combination of authentic Bangladeshi and North Indian dishes ,which are cooked with fresh ingredients and herbs by our highly experienced chef Nazrul.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Saturday 16th Feb, Table x 4.

Papadum's and chutney's are excellent.
Lamb chop starters are tender and flavoursome, but expensive. (£16.50 for 6)
Shish Kebab, not the best that I have had.
Onion Bhaji's, smallish in size, crispy outside and good.
Samosa, small but OK.
Chicken Chili Fry is a nice dish, watch the green chili in it, they are hot.
Tarka dall is great, but £8.95!
Murgh Bade Sabah was OK, not a big dish and at £12.95 for it - again, expensive.
Pint of Cobra, £4.95.

Service is always good, decor is understated and modern and restaurant has air conditioning and ample parking.
It is a good Indian - but pricey.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

220 - 224 of 266 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

When my husband first said about going for an indian alarm bells rang . im not a spicey food person . but wow ive never had indian before so wen we went i was nervous, i asked the staff what a virgin indian tryer could have . they suggested dishes which i had and thoroughly enjoyed. the next time we went i tried something different and i tend to have this everytime we go now baby mild butter chicken . the food at this restaurant is absolutely mouth watering . the staff are very helpful , attentive . the service is exceptional and you get what you pay for . the food is mouth watering

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank sezzy1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Always good. Excellent food and usually good service. Have been over 20 times and never disappointed.

Only negative is that staff change frequently and that you need a larger table to sample all the dishes.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nice_Nick_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

As well as the best lamb chops (melt in your mouth) in town, this restaurant always serves good quality food. The staff are polite, friendly and welcoming. It isn't the cheapest in town but well worth the money in my opinion.

Thank Graham J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I took my Girlfriend there for her birthday, we had a couple of drinks not many as I was driving. We Ordered poppadom’s and dip. I ordered normal main, which had about 4 pieces of chicken in it, very disappointed. Still hungry we decided to have a desert. The desert came out frozen. Just overall a very poor result, the only upside was the staff were friendly. But that doesn't make up for the poor food!
Cost £85 JOKE! (without service)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank WS22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmal A, Owner at Emperor of India, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We were concerned to learn that you had a disappointing experience at our establishment. We take all our reviews seriously and see this as a opportunity to address any short falling from ourselves. We would be most grateful if you could let us have some further details of your visit, i.e.: date and time. This will enable us to have a look at your bill and give you a constructive feedback.
One of the points of concerns for us is the fact that we do not have any main course chicken dish which has only four pieces, we do have one dish which has four pieces of side fillet ,which is totally different to normal chicken pieces. In regards to the frozen dessert, we have the normal selection of ice creams, kulfi and sorbet (which are suppose to be frozen) and the rest are all fresh ie: Gulab Jamun, Ras Malai & fresh mango & lychees. We have a few others, which we have not been able to stock due to shortages by the suppliers.
In regards to the bill of £85.00 (without service), we would like to look at your bill and see the break down of your order in reference to food and drink.
As a small family business, Emperor of India strives to provide the highest quality food and service (glad to see we succeed in good service) We take our business very seriously and the fact that as the owner, I work on the restaurant floor which gives me the added advantage of first hand knowledge of the quality of food and service which are delivered to our customers. In order for us to understand your visit and review please provide us with the above details so we can give you a fair assessment from our side.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emperor of India also viewed

Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Emperor of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing