We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent All Round”
Review of The Beehive

The Beehive
Reserve with OpenTable
The Beehive is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 149 Restaurants in Maidenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $27
Cuisines: International
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent All Round”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Working from home due to a prior appointment, my wife and I decided to go for a mid week meal 'sans' kids. Quick look at the good food guide, and having done the bray three to death decided on this place due to its excellent reviews.

a Twenty minute drive later we arrived at this pretty little pub, although overall, nothing outwardly unusual. We arrived about 12:30pm and found a table for two easily, although the restaurant was relativelu busy.

Ordered drinks and reveived the menus.

My food was an excellent roast lamb with a berry jus and veg, the wife had Seabass Fillet on sautéed Vegetables with tomato Butter.

All excellent. Staff were attentive but unobtrusive. Have seen comments that this place is expensive, but for £40 for a meal for two, the food and the atmosphere were great. As was the service!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JasKik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    149
    55
    25
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed Sunday lunch here yesterday, A mixed age family gathering and every taste well catered for and keenly priced. The service was excellent with the young man making several return trips to our table for sauces and extras... all done with a smile and pleasant chat.
My daughters loved the delicious ice cream flavours and lashings of chocolate sauce!

There was a relaxed and comfortable atmosphere in a good location overlooking the cricket pitch. As it is local we will definitely return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ka h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Yum”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Good selection of food on offer, nice ambience and good value. Lovely location too - I can imagine if there was cricket on the green it would be very pleasantly English!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire Uk
Level Contributor
147 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Lovely Sunday lunch with family”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We visited this country pub/restaurant for Sunday lunch. The Beehive is in a quiet country spot and has facilities for those who wish to eat Al Fresco, and there is a no smoking policy around the outside eating area which is a really good idea. the interior is tastefully decorated and the staff and service were very good, attentive without being overbearing.They had a good selection of wine and probably for the first time ever when I asked for a Sauvingon Blanc, I had a choice of French, Chilean and wonderfully New Zealand - a rare choice. Most importantly the food was fantastic, all four of us had something different and the quality and standard of all the meals was superb. Two of us had puddings, one sticky toffee and the other a lemon posset - both puddings got the thumbs up. Thank you for the lovely dining experience and a very enjoyable afternoon.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chilledtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
192 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The owner is like Basil Fawlty but the food is great!”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

I love the location of this pub, overlooking the cricket ground. If there's an air show at White Waltham you can see all the planes going over if you sit outside! The food is excellent, a great choice beautifully served. Just don't annoy the manager, he gets stressed!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ch0ccie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beehive also viewed

Windsor and Maidenhead, Berkshire
 
Bray on Thames, Berkshire
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Beehive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing