We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G&M. Herts:- Brill all the way......”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Well what can I say...we had left booking for New Year very late this year !! & managed to get booked into Fredrick's on the 31st at the last minuet....on arrival we were greeted as the web site stated !! Champagne & all...service was 2nd to none, room (Balmoral) was superb sweets & treats for all....Restaurant was fine dinning all the way (Chef needs a big kiss)...the staff would bend over backwards to meet our needs.....
Had a relaxing experiences in the spa... a very James Bond style pool, only wished we'd booked sooner as the treatment/rooms were fully book, but looked after very well by Pam !! (Very nice lady in a white coat)......
One down side was,, even tho we had the Balmoral Suit, there were no Tea or Coffee making facilities...although you could order it at a price...
But the whole stay over was Brill all the way.....We will, for sure, go back......

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gas43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 652 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2010

My wife and I stayed at Fredricks for a two night package including one spa treatment each and luxury batch experience. Package included breakfast and three course dinner each night. Only extra charge was for newspapers in the room and drinks with/after dinner. Room was close to spa, well furnished and luxurious. Plenty of space, luxury bathroom etc etc. Very nice towels and robes provided. Restaurant staff are all very very attentive and charming. The food is very high quality and presented in a stylish manner. They can meet special requests too if you ask. Some of the best hotel food we have tasted. Portion size was very good too.

Spa facilities and treatment are all very good. The picture of the swiiming pool is deceptive, it is nowhere near as big as you would think. Other slight issue is there is no separate Jacuzzi and the pool could (in my opinion) be a little warmer.

The 'experience' showers, footbath, sauna and steam room are really top notch. And the 'dream bath' experience is really very nice. Changing rooms and showers are spotlessly clean and well stocked.

This place deserves it's high rating, it is not cheap, but you really do get your moneysworth here.

I'm sure we shall return to Fredricks and can happily recommend it to anyone reading this review.

Happy to answer any questions you may have, just contact me.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davebryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We booked into Fredricks to have a relaxing break away from it all, and I have to say that it worked. The bedrooms were clean, well appointed, good bathrooms and very comfortable beds (with great linen...)
Breakfast was served in a beautiful room, very bright, and I loved the fact that the tables had full tablecloths on them. Service was friendly and efficient, and the delivery of a warm bakers basket to the table was a very nice touch.
The Spa was excellent. Friendly staff that couldn't do enough for you, great therapists and very nice products. The area works so well for you to relax between treatments. From the 'little extras' that are delivered to your lounger after your treatment to the lunch that finished the treatments and the day, it was all in all one of the best spa experiences I've had. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoL2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

great weekend, great staff lovely room very very nice quiet spa area

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnWelhamgreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

Colleagues and I ran workshops in the function suite one weekend and the standard of service was amazing, and excellent value. We were lucky for early Autumn and at breaks and lunch time those attending the event could eat the lovely buffet lunch in the Winter Garden or outside on the terrace. Everything worked like clockwork - none of the usual running around to find someone to move stuff, and when one projector failed to talk to a laptop another was instantly produced. The location is easy to find (by car or rail and foot), plenty of parking. And a high standard of facility well priced, with a very professional conference crew.

In common with other guests we were greeted with complimentary bubbly, wine or other drinks.

We also stayed two nights, on the delegate rate. Not sure I would pay full rack rate (but who ever does???) Room was quite spacious, slightly dated decor although with some interesting features and small but functional bathroom. Good sized desk area and free wifi that worked. Also free chocs and nice fruit bowl and water. BUT as remarked by others no tea or coffee facilities in room. Bed soft. The hotel is small and was very quiet. Good flat screen TV although limited range of channels.

Dinner the first night superb, and breakfast the first morning (hot dishes cooked to order, cold dishes on a buffet table); on the second night the dinner was good although a bit more OTT and the second morning the hotel seemed to be very full and breakfast OK but not nearly as good - no separate hot breakfast menu - everything on a much bigger buffet, and while fresh there were inevitable delays as fresh eggs were cooked etc. The quality of the produce used was excellent - had some absolutely extraordinary British cheeses - and the staff attentive and efficient. The hand made petit fours with coffee in the evening were amazing, and the wine list from good value to silly prices - but all well chosen. The Maitre d is both attentive and has a GSOH.

My husband enjoyed the spa while we worked - he definitely felt very relaxed and pampered, and enjoyed the pool, sauna and steam room - also some sort of really weird sound and light accompanied shower!

We want to go back for a short non work related break - but will choose the timing very carefully. I have already recommended the venue thoroughly to numerous work colleagues for any sort of small conference, training event or workshops - that is absolutely top notch.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for one night to celebrate our wedding anniversary; we were disappointed with the room and the meal in the fine dining restaurant. Although spacious and clean, the room had a very dated typical hotel decor, which had somehow been well disguised on the website. At night the room was quite noisy as the walls seemed to be quite thin and we could hear people shouting. The meal was also very disappointing; miniscule portions (as one would expect with this type of fine dining) and just not very tasty or exciting - we were both agreed on this. A poor selection of desserts. When we arrived we had not had lunch and wanted to order a sandwich from room service; there was nothing vegetarian on the room service menu so I asked for an egg mayo sandwich, only to be told, 'it would take too long to boil an egg' !! Apart from this, on a positive note, all the staff were very polite and helpful and the spa treatments were good. Cost for a 1 night stay with dinner, room service sandwich, breakfast and 2 spa treatments was a whopping £450.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coffeecreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FredsGM, General Manager at Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2010

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.

The egg mayo sandwich was not on the menu and you were advised it would take 20 minutes, to boil an egg and cool it to the guidelines with which we work and serve it. We do not mix luke warm eggs with mayonaisse as it can cause adverse reactions.

The manager on duty also offered you a number of alternatives which could have been served in a shorter period of time which you chose to decline.

When working with dairy based products we do have to be careful and stay true to Fredricks philosophy in that everything is prepared fresh and to order.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and for the future if you do not feel a portion is staisfactory please bring it to our attention at the time and we will assist in any way that we can.

With kind regards

Stuart Portlock

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

We last visited Fredricks last October for an overnight “Dream Bath” experience, which is one of the packages they offer. As we enjoyed that so much we returned this month having bought the same package as before.
Initial check in went smoothly with a welcome glass of sparkling wine which was appreciated. We had booked a suite having stayed in the Ascot suite last time. There were some issues this time about the room but following a chat with the manager these were more than adequately dealt with and I must commend the manager for his customer focus.
The dream bath experience was great and we both enjoyed the use of the spa. It is small but cosy and the staff very friendly.
We had dinner in the main restaurant and enjoyed a meal from the a la carte menu. The food was superb and to the same very high standard as before. The waiting staff too were attentive and keen to please. The restaurant manager is a font of knowledge when it comes to the wine list and the menu which inspires confidence in the food.
During our last visit the only issue we had (& some other reviews highlighted) was breakfast which was a buffet and spoilt by the tepid temperature of the food. I am glad to say that this has been rectified and that the hot food is now cooked to order with a cold buffet on the table. Much improved!
Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our overnight stay and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Captain587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
2.8 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 19 in Windsor
2,348 reviews
5.5 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
718 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
86 reviews
5.6 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa

Address: Shoppenhangers Road | Crescent Dale, Maidenhead SL6 2PZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range: $138 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A lovely Edwardian building with it's own private gardens and swimming pool. Ample free car parking and great road access to the M4, M40 AND M404. Heathrow less than half an hour away and London also. Great location for Ascot, Kempton, Sandown, Windsor, Newbury and Lingfield racecourses. Close to Henley, Kingston Upon Thames,Windsor and for all major visitor attractions around The Central Thames Valley. 2 AA Rosetted Restaurant, Large Function Room and Spa Facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fredrick`s Hotel Restaurant Maidenhead
Fredricks Hotel Maidenhead

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing