We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BONWICK IS BACK”
Review of The Crown

The Crown
Ranked #10 of 150 Restaurants in Maidenhead
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BONWICK IS BACK”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

So we heard that the ex chef of the Black Boys in Hurley was cooking again and I'm pleased to say we found him
A small pub but very welcoming from the waiting staff and the lunch was as expected was great from Simon the mad professor in the Kitchen. As normal he seems to source great produce and the dishes are very simple but executed really well
we will be back

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Dyquem1921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    22
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another lovely lunch”
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

I heard the ex chef of the Black Boys Hurley had taken over. Came for lunch last Sunday with my family. Tomato and fennel soup was delicious so was the Roast chicken. Service was excellent. My family and I visited for lunch again today and the Roast beef sirloin was beautiful.

Helpful?
7 Thank Linziap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Outstanding - so much better - up and comming foodie area”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

fantastic food - the chef/owner is ex Black Boys Restaurant and the waiter/maître de is ex Michelin stared Hand and Flowers. These people know how to run a top restaurant and the Crown now offers exceptional food at very reasonable prices. The service is prompt, friendly and efficient. the area is fast becoming and excellent foodie venue - the Crown is certainly worth visiting as is the fantastic Pinkneys Arms just down the road. Recommended!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank dansvotremaison_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Much better food”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The Crown yet again has new tenants and we ate there last Sunday. The food is better value and much tastier! The roast pork Sunday lunch was excellent and only £12. It came promptly and piping hot on heated plates. We're going back one evening soon to try some of the menu which looks very interesting, much more so than a lot of 'pub' fare. I may even try the eel!

http://www.thecrownburchettsgreen.com/

http://www.thecrownburchettsgreen.com/sample_autumn_menu.html

Whilst I haven't contributed for some time, I feel the previous review needs correcting. I cannot believe the food was slow as the business has only just restarted and very few people were aware the restaurant was serving. While the previous staff were always very welcoming, there has been no let up with all the new guys extremely friendly and efficient.

I note with interest that the previous reviewer has recently toured the SW (area around Falmouth) and has a Rhodesian Ridgeback!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank GreyShark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Under new management”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our favourite eating place is once more open and under new management. It was a shock finding it closed but we were happy to see that it was now open again and just had to try it out. . On the plus side the food is as good if not better than it used to be. Service and efficiency however are not. We had to wait a long time for the food to arrive, freshly cooked as it always had been.The service was ok, but not excellent or outstanding as on previous visits. For the time being we'll try other options..

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Fenellamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crown also viewed

Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to The Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing