We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Child Friendly, Superb Leisure Pool, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This Hotel sits very near to the M4 so is ideal for Windsor & Legoland. They are no more than a 10 minute drive away.

There is also ample free parking.

We checked in pretty late on the eve of Easter Weekend and were seen to with minimum fuss, politeness and a smile. We were given a room on the Ground floor around the corner from the bar and restaurant.

We had an upgraded Executive Room which was reasonably spacious, modern decor, LCD TV and had 2 double beds.. great if you have 2 kids with you. There was complimentary water and fully stocked tea/coffee making facilities. The only thing that let the room down was the bathroom.. it was incredibly tiny and looked well used; thankfully the over bath shower was powerful and hot.

We found the staff were very attentive, helpful and always pleasant. Breakfast in the restaurant was laid out very nicely and had a decent selection of cereals and hot food. We were asked numerous times if we required any special orders or any assistance and the used plates were cleaned very quickly.

The best part for us was the swimming pool.. they had a little baby pool, a decent size Leisure pool and a Jacuzzi. We were told not to swim on one side of the pool as it was for the regular health club members and yet one of the same members was swimming on the side where we were and boy was he grumpy.. apart from that and a very cold changing room it was nice to take the kids in for a quick dip.

Just outside the bar seating area was a nice little kiddies play area, with books, building blocks and some toys to keep the little ones busy for a while.. not seen something like this over here in the UK in many hotels.

Also we made a request for full fat baby milk had no problem whatsoever on 2 occasions and they warmed it up as we requested.. that was really nice to see.

Booked in advance you could get a room at this Hotel for a very decent £50 per room per night. As it was we paid close on double that for a weekday which was probably on the high side.

In summary, not just an overnight budget hotel but a pleasant stay made better with the family focus, pleasant staff and great Leisure pool. Would definitely recommend a stop over.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kul_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

839 - 845 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2013

We booked this hotel for a weekend break away in Windsor and were really impressed. We had never stayed in a Holiday Inn before, as we normally tend to book feature hotels, but decided to give this a go as we had some money off vouchers. The room we were allocated was large, clean and with everything provided that you would deem necessary including an iron and ironing board! The bed was really comfortable. We ate in the restaurant for one evening and for breakfasts. Not overly impressed by the breakfast i.e. not good quality sausages, but having said that there was lots of options on what to eat and all very well cooked and presented. A reduced menu was offered one evening due to a wedding party being in the hotel, but having said that the food was good. Overall, we were very impressed and wouldn't hesitate to book here again. Located about 10 minutes car drive (with huge car park) from Windsor also very convenient for exploring.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monk5127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in March while on a trip to UK to The Fat Duck. Got a great deal on bookings.com. Close to maidenhead and bray.
Beds not very comfy but food nice, and everything clean. Staff very friendly

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thaddeus600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed here back in September 2012 to go to a wedding nearby. Although it looks a little dreary from the outside, the lounge, bar and restaurant are all spacious and welcoming. Check-in was quick and easy and the room large and well-equipped. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice...

Although this is still a fairly non-descript chain hotel, it is far better than many others and is well worth considering if you are in the area!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holeedayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Holeedayz,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Been here 3 times now as love the location and pool. Plenty of parking, reception staff welcoming and milk and cookies for children. Room comfy, bathroom a bit small.
Only issue was evening meal was booked as a deal with the room but was quite poor really. One grumpy staff member in restaurant, wouldn't allow our 12 year old to order from the adult menu ( he is bigger than me!) so he had a tiny portion from a Timmy Time menu much to his embarrassment. The specials menu was tasteless and disappointing. Breakfast however was lovely, great selection especially the pancake machine! Staff much friendlier in the morning.
Lovely swim in the pool as always, nice size with separate baby/toddler pool and jacuzzi

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have a family wedding coming up and as soon as we got the invites over 4-5 mths ago I tried 6 times in total to book a family room at the special rate, as mentioned in the invite.
Every single time I was told that although they tried, they couldn't book it but someone would get back to me...... They NEVER did! I tried the main reservation number as well as the main desk in the actual hotel. I was also reassured that they had plenty of family rooms available, well tonight the guy that answered the phone promised he would ring me back within a few minutes, (after telling me the same as all the previous staff) after waiting one and a half hours I rang back to be told by a lady that all family rooms had gone, as well as the family and friends rate! For me, my husband, and 3 boys, we would have to book 3 rooms now!!!!!!!! So which son shall I leave in a room on his own? The 1yr old or the 4yr old?! Was it my fault that I never rang back on a weekly basis? I am frustrated and disgusted by this hotel chain, no manager to talk to either apparently. They don't need your business....... Will avoid at all cost in the future.

Room Tip: Don't bother?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Customserviceexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Clearly we have messed up here and what you describe is completely unacceptable and I have to say extremely unusual to say the least.
Our in hotel reservations are manned during normal office hours and in addition to our reception team out of hours we also have 24hr central reservations numbers so I am not sure why making the booking was so difficult.
Without more specific details it is very difficult for me to comment further other than to apologise for the unacceptable service. If I can be of assistance in any way please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
Hopefully we can assist in some way and find a solution.
Yours faithfully

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

From the outside this hotel looks like many other Holiday Inn's its when you get inside its different. This started right when we checked in with every effort shown to ensure we had a comfortable stay. All questions answered with good knowledge with helpful advice. My kids loved the Milk and cookies served after 5 and the food which included free kids meals if 1 Adult meal was ordered only confirmed our opinion that this hotel knows how to look after families.

The pool and leisure club were excellent, clean and well run facilities and the pool not being too deep was great for kids not getting out their depth.

I can best summarise this hotel in being that the staff being keen to make sure everything is done to make your stay comfortable, we even had a free chocolate bar and water in the room - now which other Hotel offers that?

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alpenwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Thanks for the great review and 5 stars, much appreciated! Glad to read that you had a good break away and enjoyed your stay, hope we'll see you again soon!
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
1.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#9 of 11 in Maidenhead
730 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 11 in Maidenhead
245 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Maidenhead Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
3.1 mi away
Hurley House Hotel
Hurley House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hurley
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor

Address: Manor Lane, Maidenhead SL6 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range: $71 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor,M4 Jct 8/9 combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, including WiFi, High Speed Internet Access. 197 fully air conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, restaurant, bar, lounge, Spirit Health Club with swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room and gymnasium. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 400 delegates and also holds a civil license for Weddings and Civil Partnerships. The hotel is an ideal Legoland hotel and is close to Windsor Castle, Windsor Theatre, Dorney Lake and Henley Regatta, as well as Historic areas such as Marlow and Oxford within easy driving distance. Located at Jct 8/9 of the M4 and Jct 4 of the M40, with easy links to the M25. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is situated within 1 mile of Vanwall Business Park and Maidenhead Business Park and just 25 miles from Wembley Stadium, the hotel also offers free parking. Kids Stay & Eat Free* 5 ground floor accessible bedrooms, accessible parking and all public areas are situated on the ground floor.*Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor Hotel Maidenhead
Maidenhead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing