We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe for your 4th wedding...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Maybe for your 4th wedding...”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a wedding, and for the spirit of things booked their "Bridal suite". Well in advance it seemed like a good deal. Turned out to be Bates motel...

The hotel front is a tribute to Sovjet Union architecture (as stated by others earlier), but the inside is a tad better.

The hotel website states that their suites come with two rooms - 158 only has an alcove. Seating area had plenty of seating, but no coffee table or similar. Drinks on the floor, anyone? Furthermore, promised two closets was only one and the front desk tried to charge for morning papers which are supposed to be complimentary for this category. According to the front of house webpages are done by US marketing team and the actual hotel has no control over the content. Really? So who is responsible for false advertising?? Judging from this experience nobody.

The desk in the alcove had no lighting, so working or doing your make-up is a no-go. Welcome bridezilla! And the the view from your bridal suite comes with a brick wall and an A/C unit. Surely to make any new bride to ovulate....

Room was clean, bathroom was spacious and the wifi worked ok. Sticker on the bathroom wall advises you to use the bath mat and the shower curtain. Neither placed in the bathroom, so I wonder what is the point with this info?

Bar and breakfast room staff friendly and keep things tidy. Breakfast fairly basic, so only visited on the first morning even if it was included both nights. Bar area was at times a bit noisy when mums and dads where more focused on their refreshments rather than their offsprings.

According to staff four stars. According to me? We must be singing from a different star rating hymn sheet....

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HedonistLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    279
    417
    233
    86
    54
See reviews for
355
204
44
273
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here as part of a Legoland package during the school holidays and were pleasantly surprised. Breakfast was busy as expected but we didn't have to wait as tables in the bar area were quickly set up and made available. We didn't eat in the restaurant on an evening but the breakfast was really good with plenty of choice. Went swimming a couple of times and the kids really enjoyed the pool. The health club staff were all really friendly. Only criticism is that the bed was a bit on the soft side (not as comfy as Premier Inn beds!) but otherwise it was a good stay and within easy reach of Legoland - its worth following the new signs for the alternative route as, although it is a longer way round you really do miss the queues.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

At weekends, and over Christmas period, is great value. Try for an upgrade to avoid the kids on parental packages rampaging.
Breakfast in room , as usual is a rip off. Do not go to the restrantue. Eat in the bar al a carte at a quarter of the price for what you like.
Local taxis are almost an monopoly and do not have meters - beware

Room Tip: Upgrade to first floor at rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derek c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for the review of the hotel and your advice following your stay. Not sure why you would say to avoid the restaurant as the bar was cheaper, I can only think because our bar menus offer different more informal dishes and food, which tend to be cheaper than the restaurant.
Thanks for the 4 stars!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We found this hotel very good for a stay to visit Legoland - 2 Adults and 2 kids (4 & 10). The Leisure facilities were great (although the first day we were only told at the pool reception that the pool was booked for an aqua aerobics class and therefore closed from 6-7 - luckily we arrived 5:20). We found the food good (childrens buffet was ideal) and breakfast excellent. The staff were very helpful and generally the hotel was very accommodating for kids. Recommend that you buy an OS map of the area as you can get to legoland very quickly without having to use the motorways which can be very useful as traffic can be terrible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for the review and the great feedback on the hotel. Glad you all enjoyed your stay and I hope we'll see you again soon.
Regards
Steve Harron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Holiday Inn.. Maidenhead
I stayed here about 15 years ago ... and it was awful, at that time it felt like you were walking into the set of Crossroads ... decor was at least 20 yrs out of date. Rooms were dire.
Uninterested staff.
My normal hotel in Maidenhead was full ... so tried this .... expecting a poor stay.
I was surprised ... it has had a full makeover, open, bright welcoming.

I was upgraded to a exec room ... it was great, comfortable, and I had a good nights sleep.
Due to late arrival I had a simple room service meal .... which was well prepared and served looking appetising - well done.
Breakfast ... often a let down at some Holiday Inns was at least as good as the best I have stayed at.
Location ... it is a bit out of town, and not really any choice locally where to eat, but if you want a Hotel for a business stay it is fine ........ I will certainly use again.

Room Tip: Be a member of Priority Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dog_Spheroids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for the review following your recent stay, I was delighted to read that we have improved since your last stay many years ago. Glad to read that we got your room service right and you enjoyed breakfast. Delighted to hear that you'd use us again and I hope we can become your 'usual' hotel in the area.
Kind regards
Steve Harron
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for one night on the 25th october. The hotel does look a bit shabby on the outside but remember its whats inside that counts and the inside was lovely. Staff on reception were very friendly, joked with us and included the children in the conversations. The kids also got welcome packs each. Room was very clean (I am very fussy) It was an executive room, very clean bathroom, choice of what pillows are available (soft to firm), not a great view but to be honest I didnt come to the hotel to look out the window! Swimming pool was great, again staff were lovely and messed about with the kids. Changing rooms clean even the mens (sorry guys). Went down to breakfast at 8.45 (finishes at 9.30) we got seated straight away, the food was great. Nice choice of hot food, fruit, pastries, cereals and lots of drinks. Wish we had stayed another night. Would definitely stay there again if we go back to Legoland.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarita333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for the very kind comments and lovely review following your stay with us, it was a pleasure to read and be able to share with the team. Glad you had such a good time and I hope we can welcome you again soon.
Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Had I paid in advance or not? I certainly had a reservation number but apparently my card had been declined (why didn't anybody contact me, why did they reserve the room if my card had been declined?).

The only reason I've marked service and breakfast as one star is because I couldn't give it NO stars. The Receptionist said very loudly that my card had been declined when when there was a queue behind us which was embarassing.

Drinks at the Bar were very expensive - a beer and lemonade £5.30 - and service extremely slow because there was only one person covering Reception and the Bar in the evening, It always amazes me that the management don't consider that if drinks were cheaper people would buy more and the Hotel would make more profit.

Breakfast was poor in the extreme, both coffee and hot chocolate very poor quality as were the sasuages.

On a more positive note the room was nice, the bed comfortable and there was a good shower.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andrew_wyrobek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thanks for your comments following your recent stay. It is difficult to answers some of your points without knowing your booking details but I can only imagine we would have tried to contact you prior to arrival if there was an error with your card details, but it is possible we didn't have those contact details if you had booked through a third party. Either way we certainly should have dealt with the situation more discreetly and I'm sorry for the embarrassment this caused. Disappointed to hear your comments on breakfast drinks and sausages, all our items are premium branded eg Galaxy Hot Chocolate, Lincolnshire sausages etc so not sure why we got it so wrong that day.
I was glad to read it wasn't all bad and the room was good and clean and you had great shower. Hope we do have a chance to see you again to show we can get it right.
Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
5.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
0.3 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Maidenhead Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
690 reviews
7.9 mi away
De Vere Beaumont Estate
De Vere Beaumont Estate
#2 of 2 in Old Windsor
3,722 reviews
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Slough - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor

Property: Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Address: Manor Lane, Maidenhead SL6 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor,M4 Jct 8/9 combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, including WiFi, High Speed Internet Access. 197 fully air conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, restaurant, bar, lounge, Spirit Health Club with swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room and gymnasium. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 400 delegates and also holds a civil license for Weddings and Civil Partnerships. The hotel is an ideal Legoland hotel and is close to Windsor Castle, Windsor Theatre, Dorney Lake and Henley Regatta, as well as Historic areas such as Marlow and Oxford within easy driving distance. Located at Jct 8/9 of the M4 and Jct 4 of the M40, with easy links to the M25. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is situated within 1 mile of Vanwall Business Park and Maidenhead Business Park and just 25 miles from Wembley Stadium, the hotel also offers free parking. Kids Stay & Eat Free* 5 ground floor accessible bedrooms, accessible parking and all public areas are situated on the ground floor.*Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor Hotel Maidenhead
Maidenhead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing