We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Legoland”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We booked this hotel through the Legoland website as we were treating our boys, age 3 and 5, to a weekend away. We arrived with 2 exhausted boys after a full day at the theme park (less than 15 minutes journey), to a lovely welcome in reception. The staff chatted with our boys and asked about their day, they were given activity packs, vouchers for free drinks in the bar and there was complimentary milk and cookies in reception for the kids too. The room was clean and plenty of space for the 4 of us. The buffet style restaurant was not the best in the world, but ideal with tired kids who don't want to wait for their food, and kids ate free from the buffet too (cost approx £30 to feed 4 which is pretty good value). There is a small playroom off the bar which is a great idea although it was a bit shabby, and not many toys. Breakfast was very nice, and again kids ate free. Overall, I was very happy with this hotel, wouldn't choose it for a romantic getaway, or a grown up weekend with the hubby, but if you are hitting Legoland then this is ideal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

903 - 909 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

Sometimes when you go to a hotel there is a mix of people staying there for a variety of reasons. Other times you go into hotels and you get the feeling no one really wants to be there its just a one night stop for meetings/on the road. Thats pretty much how I would sum this one up.

The location is good, easy to access but its not somewhere you would head if you didn't have to be there. Gym was reasonable, food in the bar pretty good, as was the service. Rooms quite spacious and clean even if rather 'tired' looking. As usual the wifi is a rip off but thats par for the course with business hotels.

All in all its not bad for a 1 night stop on a business trip, I have certainly been in worse.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaseandlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at the Holiday Inn for one night as we had a reservation at the Fat Duck around the corner. The reception when we arrived was pretty frosty but in all honesty that didn't bother me, the room was large as was the bathroom so we were happy as we only wanted to sleep off our very full bellies. Unfortunately we could hear the people in the rooms on either side of us ie the tv, going to the bathroom, rummaging around in the wardrobe etc. The noise didn't go on all night so that was fine, what was terrible though was the breakfast! When we checked in we were told we could pay for breakfast then at £9.50 per person or it will cost £13 in the morning, so we paid upfront... I wish we hadn't as we weren't really hungry...which turned out to be a good thing as it was inedible anyway. I know that a hotel that large is feeding the masses but the quality of food was just cheap and a lot of other large chain hotels manage to provide passable breakfasts, the only 'fresh' option was some old looking fruit, the rest was of the budget high sugar and sodium variety, not good!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HolidayJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to write about the hotel following your recent stay and I do hope you will accept my apologies for the obvious disappointment caused.. We certainly would never claim to offer food on a par with the world famous Fat Duck, however I would disagree with your comments on our breakfast products. For example, all our fruit is fresh, pasties are baked daily, cereals and sauces all premium brands and our orange juice is fresh ie not from concentrate.
I'm sorry you felt it was not up to standard however I do feel our breakfast is of a good quality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

This 4* hotel is certainly in a good location for business and leisure travel.
However it is an ugly block of concrete and the interior is completely without any style and very impersonal. As a lady on my own I did not feel comfortable sitting in the bar. It felt as if I was in an airport lounge.
Check in and check out quick and efficient. Staff polite and helpful. Warning: Should you pre-book your breakfast when you book in - this you cannot cancel the following morning, should you decide not to have breakfast - and you will be charged for it! Rooms clean and adequate, as I expected.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueHS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks for writing about us following your stay. I'm sorry we weren't to your taste in terms of our decor, as for the exterior of the building, what more can we say, we're a 1960's building and we hope we'll be back in fashion soon!
Glad you found the hotel clean and the staff polite.
Thanks again for reviewing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Disappointing, wish I'd looked at some of the smaller locally owned establishments before selecting this one, especially since the local community was quite friendly towards out of town visitors. Main criticisms were staff weren't friendly, incurred unexpected charges (including WIFI), no lift so had to lug my luggage up a couple of flights of stairs and the walls could have been made of paper.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Aussie_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel, sorry we didn't come up to your expectations on this occasion. To comment on some of your points, 20 of our 200 rooms are unfortunately not accessible via a lift due to the nature of our building and I am sorry for the inconvenience this caused.
I'm not sure what unexpected charges you refer to, however all our pricing is as clear and as obvious as we can make it including any internet charges. I was also surprised that you found our staff to be unfriendly as this is not a comment we normally receive, in fact quite the opposite as any reviews on this site will show.
Clearly we have let you down and I am sorry for this disappointment, I can only hope we have a chance to redeem our reputation some time in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed for a two night break for the Legoland experience, we also did it through a Super breaks deal so it included dinner on first night.

The hotel does look a bit worrying from the outside, but inside is very nice. As the other reviewers say there are lots of little touches that make it special, milk and cookies on arrival, playroom visible from the bar, good swimming pool, and decent camp bed for the little one.

The dinner was a good idea, buffet (just like a conference lunch); although the execution was not great, the kids food was nervously tepid, the adult starter was just a tuna salad, and the main meal options were all a bit tasteless. The desserts were the usual frozen delights. My wife its not a fan of buffets, so had the a la carte pizza, that looked awful, and after waiting 45 mins was disappointing. That was certainly the only low point, and if not for the convenience would recommend finding somewhere else for an evening meal.

Breakfast was very good, althoughI do wish hotels would sort out their rotary toasters. It took three runs through to get some colour on the bread.

Overall a good hotel, could be very good with a little more attention to their evening meals.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stuart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thanks for the review of the hotel following your recent stay. I was disappointed and surprised to read about your comments about dinner in the restaurant as clearly what you describe is not our usual standard nor what we would want any of our guests to experience.
I was pleased to read that you found the hotel comfortable, convenient and enjoyed your breakfast.
Thanks again for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Visited now again, due the fact the more fancy hotels in the area were fully booked. The holiday inn is clean and simple. The breakfast is included and from good quality. I am always annoyed that you seriously have to que before seated, this has to change, cause a 10 min wait is not exceptional and not needed!! So yes go here when the others are booked.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veeksels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveHarron, General Manager at Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Thanks for your comments following your stays with us. Unfortunately on occasions there can be a slight delay as we seat guests in the restaurant during peak times, however would say that the 10 mins you describe is perhaps overstated.
Hope we do have a chance to welcome you again.
Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 mi away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
1.6 mi away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 11 in Maidenhead
745 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Maidenhead Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
The Thames Hotel
The Thames Hotel
#7 of 11 in Maidenhead
247 reviews
4.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Marlow
5.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Slough - Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor

Address: Manor Lane, Maidenhead SL6 2RA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Maidenhead
Price Range: $68 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor,M4 Jct 8/9 combines an excellent range of facilities for both business and leisure travellers, including WiFi, High Speed Internet Access. 197 fully air conditioned, non smoking bedrooms, restaurant, bar, lounge, Spirit Health Club with swimming pool, spa, sauna, steam room and gymnasium. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is a perfect venue for Meetings and Events with a large selection of Suites catering for up to 400 delegates and also holds a civil license for Weddings and Civil Partnerships. The hotel is an ideal Legoland hotel and is close to Windsor Castle, Windsor Theatre, Dorney Lake and Henley Regatta, as well as Historic areas such as Marlow and Oxford within easy driving distance. Located at Jct 8/9 of the M4 and Jct 4 of the M40, with easy links to the M25. The Holiday Inn Maidenhead-Windsor M4 Jct 8/9 is situated within 1 mile of Vanwall Business Park and Maidenhead Business Park and just 25 miles from Wembley Stadium, the hotel also offers free parking. Kids Stay & Eat Free* 5 ground floor accessible bedrooms, accessible parking and all public areas are situated on the ground floor.*Terms and Conditions apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor Hotel Maidenhead
Maidenhead Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing