We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”
Review of Papaya Indian Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Papaya Indian Restaurant
Price range: $22 - $30
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Buffet, Delivery, Reservations
Maidenhead - UK
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I visited with a group of 12 people mid-week. The restaurant was really quiet (in fact nearly empty) but the atmosphere was still good. The menu selection was really extensive & the food was freshly cooked and delicious. It was served in good time & the portion sizes were reasonable. We didn't know about this place until it was recommended to us - I'm happy to pass on the recommendation & hope we can still get a table when we return (which we definitely will !!)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FPLOCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    3
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Delicious and freshly made to order”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Papaya has dramatically improved over the past year or so, from a standard Indian to a fantastic one! I have a food intolerance and they always accommodate with ease and no fuss resulting in truly delicious, freshly cooked food. The setting isn't exactly brilliant and the interior probably needs a bit of work to make it more welcoming but definitely highly recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank catherine1975Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Delicious!”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

The food here is the best Indian I've tried. There's no bright orange or yellow artificial colouring as I've seen with other Indian food. I would definitely recommend this for eat-in and take-away/delivery.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nothing to write home about”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Service was splendid but in a day and age where there are far too many Indian Restaurant's they have all run into each other... Because of the massive competition Indian cuisine truly has to stand out above the others... This restaurant's food was average in our opinion...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winnie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Yummy for my tummy”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

this is without doubt the tastiest, yummiest Indian restaurant I've eaten in for years, the chicken pathia is to die for!!! Mmmmmmmm

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papaya Indian Restaurant also viewed

Maidenhead, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Warren Row, Maidenhead
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing