We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveler rating
145
64
20
3
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
145
64
20
3
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews windsor eton windsor castle great pub thin walls the river room was clean across the bridge short walk meadow lane english breakfast function room single bed booked a table family room stayed nights very pleasant stay would definitely stay here again
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 239 reviews
Reviewed January 4, 2019

A great way to break up a day in Windsor.
Had a very enjoyable lunch on Sunday .
Food, as always, is well prepared and very tasty.
The beer battered fish was excellent, fish itself was fresh and the beer batter ( using their own breweries ale) was crisp and tasty.

The service was excellent. The team were cheerful and very helpful.
Overall , a great little venue.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2019

Thank you to all at The George. Great and helpful service even when we forgot to take some of our luggage. Great location right next tot eh town and real pub atmosphere in the restaurant. Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2018

Our son booked pre Christmas family meal here. Cosy pub. Staff friendly, helpful and efficient. service very good. Food choice was to our taste and varied. It was beautifully cooked, good flavour, good helping of meat and lots of vegetables. Loved the stuffed fig starter and apple crumble sweet. Hope to go again and try something different from menu.
Draw back was parking. Eton is a very popular place to visit and parking can be difficult. It took us 20 mins of circling round and round before we got a space near the pub and this was even with a disable badge. Hence need to be fairly near ie short walking distance to pub.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank Ann and Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2018

We booked this pub for a stay in Eton/Windsor. The location could not have been more perfect, it is just before the bridge going over to Windsor. The staff were really friendly and helpful and showed us where we could leave the car and looked for a restuarant for us as the pub serves no food on Sunday evenings.
The room was adequate but the bathroom really does need an upgrade. The shower was nice and strong but the grouting was mouldy and it was not awfully clean. The whole bathroom needs modernising. However everything functioned in it.
Excellent breakfast the next morning where one pays for what one orders.
Would return but maybe after bathrooms are modernised...

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Hitchcock2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2018 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at the George Inn for two nights. We received a very warm and friendly welcome. We hadn’t booked a table for dinner the evening we arrived but there was no hesitation in making sure a table was reserved for us and the food was very good. Our room was clean and well appointed. The following morning we came down to breakfast to find a roaring fire and breakfast was delicious.
On the down side the stairs to the rooms are quite steep with a twist, there is no lift but we were offered help with cases. This is a popular pub and our room was just above the bar so quite noisy but closed by 11.30pm. There is no adjacent parking, the nearest car park is a short walk away, free overnight but £10 to leave the car all day after 9.00am.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank JennieS408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews