We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb location but perhaps a little overpriced ....”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Christopher Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Christopher Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eton
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lincs
Level Contributor
123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb location but perhaps a little overpriced ....”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Excellent location a short walk from Windsor and Eton Riverside Station. Hotel is old coaching inn right on the high street. Seemed quite expensive to me - but I have nothing else in the area to compare it to. Wifi free for business travellers - and they do have powerpoints for European plugs - which impressed me. Sevice is slow in the bar/reception at night but staff are friendly. Continental and English breakfasts are available.
Rooms are modern and comfortable and there's a bar and restaurant. Location seems perfect for Windsor/Eton and there's local parking if hotel lot is full.

Room Tip: My room was fine - beware of large bags though - stairwell is narrow! My room looked over the High...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LincsPauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    87
    38
    22
    10
See reviews for
51
93
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Compared to other hotels we stayed at in busy tourist destinations (in England), the room was overpriced, not as clean (filthy carpet), noisy and too warm (A/C not functioning well). Additionally, unlike the other hotels which included breakfast in the rate, we were charged an additional 36 pounds for six slices of toast, a coffee and two teas. Not impressed.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

For the location of this restaurant in the middle of Eton High Street, you would expect a clean, well managed, good service grill restaurant. What you get is the complete opposite. The service is terrible, the staff in many cases struggle to have a full grasp of the English lanaguage and have clearly not be trained properly, so no fault of their own. The food is less than average and costs are high.
We visited on Saturday lunchtime so not a busy time. We were a table of 8 and our order arrived as 6 meals followed by one and one despite the final meal being a kids spaghetti bolognaise! The salt cellars were both empty and when we asked for ketchup and mustard , they did not have mustard and the ketchup arrived when we had nearly finished our meal.
The final insult was on paying the bill they tried to charge £1.20 for a small bowl of peanuts that our daughter had eaten with a drink before lunch.
Under no circumstances will we ever return, which is a shame as the location deserves better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdambased traveller
Level Contributor
152 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013

I only had lunch in the hotelrestaurant but enjoyed it very much. Great roastbeefsandwich and traditionel scones with clotted cream. This is served in a cozy livingroomstyle restaurant.
They suggested to order a coffeecan instead of separate cups because this was more economical, so this saved me some money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reistu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

On Easter Sunday I, as Great Grandad, booked 4 generations, 6 adults and 3 children for a lunch together. It was a disappointment in too many areas. The service though polite and immaculate in presentation was relatively slow and not up to having young children waiting. When we were presented with the menus we were informed that a number of dishes were not available as the menu's were being changed next week !! We placed our orders for starters and mains but in one of the starters there was a small bit of green plastic. The dish was replaced but the experience put my adult grand daughter off eating it. The mains arrived and my daughter could not eat the spaghetti dish because the spaghetti wes oily. This was replaced with a different dish without any protest. My personal choice of main course was fish and chips. All I can say about that is that the fish was not very nice but edible but the quantity on my plate was overwhelming and well over half of the meal was not eaten. There were varied comments after the meal but non were complimentary and from my point of view as an 84 year old Great Grandad with 4 generations around me was that I gotno pleasure in settling the near £200 bill.
I have previously eaten there in the bar but not for some time and I can only say now I will not be rushing back there in the future

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 333Dougt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
misschica
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Charming period property. Very polite and attentive staff. A very short walk into Windsor. We will definately be coming back. The car park is quite tight to get in and out of through the alley and turning round the car to get out but we managed ok. The full english breakfast was perfect! We managed to get a groupon deal which included a glass of bubbly each too which was very nice to sit in the lounge / bar area and sip while watching the world go by. Eton has lots of quirky shops and restaurants too.

Room Tip: Maybe select a room that is not near an entrance door or stairs as it is an old building with creaky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank misschica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meldola, Italy
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed just one night in this charming hotel. We had a very spacious room with all the comforts of home. Wifi connection did not work at all in the room which was a little disappointing. The restaurant is a definite must for an evening meal...it was delicious! A visit to the town of Windsor and Castle are within walking distance. There are limited parking spaces at the hotel, so be sure to ask if space will be available before you arrive.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mystique59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eton
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
0.2 mi away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
0.5 mi away
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
2.7 mi away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,149 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Christopher Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christopher Hotel

Property: Christopher Hotel
Address: 110 High Street, Eton, Windsor SL4 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor > Eton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Eton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christopher Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Christopher Hotel, Bar and Grill is a former Coaching Inn dating back to 1711 and recently modernized to a high standard. Situated in the heart of Eton and surrounded by Antique Shops, Art Galleries, Bars and Restaurants and close to the world famous Eton College. There is a choice of 34 well-appointed rooms ranging from Junior Suites, Family Rooms Double bedded rooms and deluxe Singles. Each room has high-speed internet access, laptop safes, power showers, Molton Brown toiletries and some have full air-conditioning. We offer free secure car-parking and free wi-fi in our bar, restaurant and bedrooms.Our meeting room location is ideal for delegates travelling from different areas as we are very close to the M4, M3, M25 and M40 motorways and only 7 miles from Heathrow airport and 20 miles from central London. Suitable for up to 12 delegates, the boardroom has natural daylight and its own small private decked area which can be used as a breakout area for coffee breaks during the warmer weather. Our Windsor meeting room is fully equipped with flipchart, whiteboard, lcd projector, high-speed internet access and telephone lines. We offer competitive day and 24 hours delegate rates. The Christopher Hotel is also perfect for business travellers. The Slough Trading Estate is only 3 miles away and the distance to the Heathrow Airport is 9 miles.Christopher's Bar and Grill offers all day dining with a relaxed informal atmosphere and can be used for private dining or a venue for party lunches or evening functions for a maximum of 50 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Christopher Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christopher Hotel Eton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing