We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Italian chain restaurant - better than expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Beni

Don Beni
Ranked #9 of 13 Restaurants in Eton
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Very Good Italian chain restaurant - better than expected.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Decided to try this place as it had been recommended to us from a few friends who said we would not be disappointed - we certainly were not. Our last visit was when this place was Anticos which was a very upmarket Italian and our hopes were not high. The setting in in beautiful main street of Eton, the interior is very authentic old with lots of nooks and crannies with tables - we chose to sit in the window on the banquette seating. The menu is very large with something to please everyone and there is also a daily specials board. Our three course meal was £30 a head without drinks but if you stick to pasta or pizza your bill will be much lower. Canneloni to start was made with veal and covered in a lovely cheese sauce, the melon and parma ham was delicious and the spaghetti carbonara starter was ginormous! All starters were very good and large. For mains we had veal saltimboca x2 and veal chop x1 - again very portions - you have to pay £3.00 extra to have some sauteed potatoes and mixed veggies. Desserts - we were full - but managed to down some fresh local blackberries and strawberries. All an all a very nice meal in a nice setting - we will return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    31
    23
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

We were on a overnight visit to Windsor castle and walking the streets near the Thames when we came across this Italian restaurant that wasn't very busy and were unsure on our first night wether to try it or not, but we were so glad that we did on our second night. The dishes, authentic music and the recommedations were very well appreciated. Out 12 year old daughter said it was the best pizza she has ever eaten. We just wish that we had saved room for dessert because they looked fabulous. This restaurant is about 10 minutes walk from Windsor castle and is a MUST fro Italian dining.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Todwicker23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not the best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I am well versed with Italian food and love it.
went to Eton and came across this restaurant but left very disappointed. I felt the staff were slightly impatient and I felt rushed.
I asked for a drink which they did not stock, what they did not know was that I understand and speak a italian. I was not impressed with the tone of the staff when responding to my request.
I asked for Penne Pasta instead of Spaghetti which was obliged but it did not make the meal any better.
TO be honest, I found it all tacky- the music, the staff were unfriendly- would not go back.
If you are in Eton, go with an open mind but do not expect too much.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant meal, starters shared, min courses to do die for, Tiramisu aaarrrggghhh sooo good. A brilliant restaurant, head hear for an authentic and fabulous meal. Grazie Tutto.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank JustinDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Italian food and good service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Went to Don Beni on saturday for lunch the service was good and the food was very tasty! Must try this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kashif J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Don Beni also viewed

 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Don Beni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing