We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch Treat”
Review of Watermans Arms

Watermans Arms
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Eton
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Description: Andre and Gillian, c1542, tel: 01753 861001
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Lunch Treat”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

We walked across the bridge between Windsor & Eton and found this great old fashioned pub to have our lunch. The girl behind the bar was very friendly and told us what was in the ploughmans lunch which two of us ordered as it sounded so good - it was. It consisted of Ham Leicester & Cheddar Cheese Pickled Onions Gherkins Chips & Grapes - truly fabulous. The other meals were cheese + ham & cheese omelettes with chips and thoroughly enjoyed. Such good value and wholesome and a great selection of drinks. We will certainly return here again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank DavPet_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    56
    20
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mustang, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday carvery lunch”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Certainly rates a 10! We had a lovely Sunday carvery lunch, and enjoyed it so much, we can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

great little pub and ideal for people with dogs as they are welcome too. They have the only free quiz in Berkshire on Thursday evenings which is a lot of fun. A variety of beers, great décor and lovely friendly staff. The food is very good too. There is a collection of books that can be purchased for a small donation, and all donations go to the Swan Lifeline charity.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Catherine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Watermans Arms Food”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

We dined at the pub last night 31/05/2014) before going to Windsor Theatre. We were very disappointed with the quality of the food. There were no dips with either the crispy garlic mushrooms or the onion rings which made them very dry. The honey coated pigs in blankets were disgusting, no taste of honey and very very greasy and barely cooked. Most of the tortillas with the chilli and rice were stale and not at all crispy and the mash potato with the sea bass well what can I say, looked about two weeks old, not at all fresh and quite lumpy. The chicken skewers were quite nice and the scampi and chips was ok but nothing special. Overall very disappointing and certainly would not dine there again!! Would have expected better especially conssidering its surrounding area eg Windsor/the Thames!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SBee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wehr
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Relaxing lunch following a visit to the castle”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Took a group of 7 German friends here following a visit to the castle. Good honest "Pub grub", not too expensive. Fish and chips and Lamb shank were very good. Weather was super so we sat in the beer garden. Great to get away from the hustle and bustle of Windsor.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gunnerbelieveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watermans Arms also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Watermans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing