We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New years eve - fantastic night”
Review of Watermans Arms

Watermans Arms
Ranked #5 of 13 Restaurants in Eton
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Andre and Gillian, c1542, tel: 01753 861001
Huntingdon and Peterborough, null, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“New years eve - fantastic night”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Didn't eat at the Watermans Arms but had a great night New Years Eve 2013. Warmly welcomed by the owners on arrival who very kindly reserved a table for us in the main entertainment area. Thoroughly enjoyed the music (Million $ Bash) and the atmosphere was friendly with everyone (great mix of ages) enjoying themselves. I haven't lived in the area now for over 7 years, this pub makes me feel nostalgic and inclined to move back.

Many thanks to all involved in ensuring NYE was so good. Will book our tickets for 2014

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    61
    21
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Christmas Lunch 2013”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Took our family for Christmas lunch...great ambience, excellent service, friendly attentive staff, Thoroughly enjoyed our food, cooked to perfection....Big Thank You to our hosts, Gillian & Nick

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoanandAlf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A really beautiful old pub let down by food”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

W booked a table at this oub on Sunday, but were warned that the roasts did run out at 3 and could we try to make our booking a little before 2:45, which i was grateful for as the reviews for food looked good. We made it to the pub at 2:15 and on entry the pub really is sweet, with a log fire, alcove with booked lined walls and a packed bar-all great signs. Unfortunately the roast was not what we expected. The chef was so lovely and gave generous portions, but the beef was so over cooked it was hard to eat. The vegetables were all OK, but didnt make up for the meat unfortunately.
I find it difficult to complain given that we were warned that the roast did finish at 3, however we were 45 minutes before and the food was really not good.
I would defeinitely return to this lovely pub but not to eat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant venue for a party!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I had my 50th Birthday party with 60 plus guests in the function room at this pub and it was fabulous. The staff and especially Gillian, the Landlady, were very accomodating and helped to make it a really special night for all of my guests. The menu choices offered by the pub were diverse and covered all tastes. We had Chicken and veg curries, sweet and sour pork, lasagna plus rice and salads and other accompaniments which all went down extremely well. Very good value for money. Will definitely be booking this again for other family celebrations.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rosenfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Value Carvery”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Went To Windsor last Sunday and by accident came acrooss the Watermans Arms.One of the oldest pubs in the area it serves good beer and an excellant Sunday roast by a very helpfull chef which was very good value.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watermans Arms also viewed

Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead
 

Been to Watermans Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing