We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Old charm, full of character, well appointed...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Eton/Windsor

View from Eton High Street
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Eton High Street
Courtyard Courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
11 reviews
View from Eton High Street
Courtyard
Courtyard
Lounge (Xmas)
Lounge
Lounge, beamed ceiling
Lounge
Lounge, overmantel mirror
Lounge
Lounge fireplace
Dining room
Dining room
Dining room
Kitchen,two oven range cooker, six burners, granite work surfaces
Kitchen with stable door to courtyard, hidden appliances
Main bedroom, King size bed, vaulted beamed ceiling, chandelier, wardrobe, dressing table
Main bedroom dimmer chandelier
Bedroom two, King size  bed, dressing table
Bed room three, single, with space for cot  (provided), lots of built in wardrobes.
Bathroom
Bath room, roll top bath, clawed feet, hand shower, beamed vaulted ceiling
Walk in rain shower, and hand shower
Bath room, extra large wash basin, electric mirror, razor socket, heated towel rail
The 'Cockpit' opposite, ex restaurant, built 1420, cockerel fighting, soon  to be Apartments
Eton past, college boys
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Eton, Windsor, Windsor and Maidenhead, Berkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vacatione...
1 review
“Old charm, full of character, well appointed apartment, in the centre of Eton/Windsor”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Bridget's charming apartment is a situated in a very pretty, private alley off High Street, Eton, a very short walk over the Thames, away from the busy Windsor Castle and surrounds. The apartment is well-appointed with quality fittings and appliances. It offers off-street parking which was essential to us. The bedrooms and bathroom are upstairs in the loft of the building. My son and I are both over 6' and couldn't move around upright in the upstairs space. We are used to 100% cotton sheets and large bath towels/sheets, so it was a little disappointing that this premium apartment didn't offer this. However, this didn't detract from out overall enjoyment of our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthStar...
1 review
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed August 14, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

This is a gorgeous quaint property off Eton High Street. Bridget B was so helpful on our arrival and through our stay 26th to 31st July 2017. She warmly welcomed us. Its the little touches that make a holiday special. Had everything you would require including a generous hamper to start us off. The location is excellent, old world mixed with modern living. This property is within walking distance of Windsor, its Castle, shopping, good restaurants and shows. Train station is also within walking distance. So relaxing to walk by the river and parks areas. A river boat tour is recommended. Will definitely return in the not to distant future. I would highly recommend this fab cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PKKMR
N. Ireland
1 review
“Beautiful property in great location.”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is a beautifully maintained property just off Eton High Street. It is very convenient to the train station from which you can get a direct train to Waterloo. It is within walking distance of Windsor and there are lots of very good restaurants nearby.
The property itself was in immaculate condition and has everything which we required. Bridget had kindly provided a generous hamper on our arrival which was greatly appreciated.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 15, 2017
Hi Peter and Karen,
Thank you for your lovely review of the house, Eton and Windsor.
You should be very proud of your lovely young family and memories of LEGOLAND. With best wishes to you all, Bridget
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma T
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quaint and beautifully appointed little place!”
Reviewed September 22, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed for three nights with my Mum, sister and niece in the middle of a September heatwave. The place is full of character, as it is Grade 11 listed. There was a very generous welcome basket of goodies awaiting us, and the cottage was immaculately clean and well appointed. The beds were very comfortable, and Bridget showed us around at the start, so we knew where spare linens etc were kept. The location could not have been better for us- a short stroll to the bridge to Windsor and the Castle.. Numerous pubs and restaurants on Eton High Street (The George and Don Beni's were great), and Bridget was immediately available to drop in a light bulb that we needed. She was very helpful and friendly.
Now, I do feel I have to point out a few slight "negatives".. The parking is extremely tight, in a small courtyard...and we had to reverse all the way back out around a house/little lane..no good if you have a large 4 wheel drive. There is space for one car only, so we had to park our other car in the very handy car park opposite, which cost £10 a day. Also, the staircase has no handrail and, as you might expect from an old property, is a bit uneven. My mum coped reasonably well, but if you have anyone who is a bit unsteady or disabled in any way, they may struggle. The advert states two bathrooms, but in fact it is one main bathroom plus a separate loo/ basin. This wasn't a problem for us, but we may not have booked, had we known!
All that said, we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay, and would recommend this place to anyone. Bridget has made sure that every piece of crockery suits the property and it really did feel like you were staying somewhere special .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quaint and quirky! Clean.
Liked least: Kitchen slightly cramped with the table in our way!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Reviewed September 2, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: Leaving !
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Sep 3, 2016
Hi Gavin,
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay in a very sunny Eton/Windsor, and am sure your young daughter and nephew would have loved their holiday adventure.
Thank you for your review, it is so nice to hear from you,
Bridget
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
ktboil
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a fabulous place to stay!”
Reviewed May 11, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

From the outset everything was perfect - Bridget could not have been more helpful with directions including the initial tour of the house to explain where everything was. We were left with plenty of contact numbers etc in case we needed help! The location is extremely good within walking distance of Eton High Street and the pedestrian bridge across to Windsor. We loved everything about our stay and hope to return in the future - Thank you Bridget! Excellent!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and beautifully appointed property
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 12, 2016
Hi Kate,
Thank you for taking time write a review.
Your review is very kind, and I would certainly welcome your return.
With best wishes,
Bridget
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing