We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second visit and slightly disappointing”
Review of Thatched Tavern

Thatched Tavern
Ranked #7 of 46 Restaurants in Ascot
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Gastropub, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Built around 1480, The Thatched Tavern was originally a farmhouse with a croft (a small farm). There was also a Blacksmiths forge at the back of the building where the kitchen hatch is now, and a wood store at the end of the bar.During the reign of Queen Anne (1701) Cheapside and the surrounding area became recognised as a fashionable place to be seen. The Royal Races on Ascot Heath (as it was then known) also began, although a bit sporadicallyThe Thatched Tavern only became a pub, or tap house as it was known then, in about 1760; it was one of the three most popular drinking establishments in the hamlet of Cheapside. In the early 1900’s it became the main drinking centre in Cheapside, known as ‘The Old Thatch’ The Landlord at this time used to sell local medicine used to cure most ills, consisting of 2 penn’orth of rum and 4 penn’orth of a secret mixture known as warmit! The Tavern has been owned and is loved by many. Some of our locals have been coming here for over 50 years!
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Second visit and slightly disappointing”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We visited the Thatched Tavern on a beautiful summers day last year and had a wonderful meal out in the garden, so when the sun finally decided to make an appearance this year we thought we would go back for lunch. As it was mid week it was quite quiet and there was only one other couple in the garden. We had to go in and collect the menus ourselves and waited a while to place our order. Our starters and drinks arrived promptly and the Kir Royal was delicious but the starter was quite average. We then had quite a long wait for our main course of mussels The triple cooked chips that had been advertised on the menu failed to appear and the accompanying roll was basic. The sauce was rather tasteless and the mussels were gritty. We had to go inside ourselves to re order drinks and had to chase for the bill. We wont be rushing back on the next sunny day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    135
    44
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A good first visit”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Yes the parking is a nightmare, but it's a small price to pay for fab food with great service. We went for lunch on Bank Holiday Monday the place was busy but still running well. Enjoyed watching the kitchen in action from where we sat, lovely to see a chef truly in charge whilst taking great care with the plating up. The wine was not rip off prices either, which is rare these days. The whole experience guaranteed that we will be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie_Pullen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good choice”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have eaten here on many occasions and have never been disappointed. The only gripe I have is that when is gets busy, the food does not always get to the table hot.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H0bby_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This was my 3rd visit to The Thatched Tavern and the food never fails to disappoint. Such a great lovely atmosphere with the beams & log fire in the Winter. A great selection of wines for all tastes and the food is amazing. Our last visit was in January on a Travel Zoo deal which was excellent value. However the staff did forget us as we had a late booking but this wouldn't deter us from going again, the food & ambience made up for the wait.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mollie052004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englefield Green, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

We had dinner in the Thatched tavern last saturday. Service was slow while I could see them chatting between them and before we got our order taken it took quite some time, they just left us in the bar area waiting. Why is there no water served and bread like in many other good restaurants ? I all took so long before someone noticed we wanted to order. There was no chance to try the expensive wine we ordered because the waitress finished the whole bottle in once pouring in all the wine in our glasses, I was shocked. Then the food, my turbot was in loads of oil and had no taste at all, so disappointing while it was a dish of 23.99 ! I actually felt bad after eating it the whole evening.
The good thing was they had gluten free bread for my husband who is celiac but they served it on a plate next to the normal bread (something you should never do because of contamination) so obviously there is still a lot to learn for them. I would not go there again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maudie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thatched Tavern also viewed

Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Ascot, Windsor and Maidenhead
Sunningdale, Windsor and Maidenhead
 
Sunninghill, Ascot
 

Been to Thatched Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing