We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good all round”
Review of Sunningdale Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunningdale Park
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ascot
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good all round”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

In the Bridges rooms the bathroom windows are frosted, but do not have a blind. I was on the ground floor and didn't feel comfortable using the bathroom with people walking past the window every few minutes, especially at night when you put the light on. A very helpful receptionist kindly swapped me to a room on the 2nd floor where I was much more comfortable and felt very relaxed.
The food was good at dinner and breakfast and Bruno the bar man was quite entertaining. It was a good all round experience with a minor issue resolved quickly and efficiently, all staff I came into contact with were very friendly and helpful. Thank you for a pleasant stay Sunningdale.

Room Tip: If your a prude like me, skip the ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello Kmadd,

Thank you so much for submitting your feedback to Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Sunningdale Park Venue.

I have shared your comments with my team at our monthly communication meeting (August), the team and I are over the moon to read your feedback. Paul the Head Chef in particular is pleased with your comments regarding the food , Bruno the barman and Rebecca Receptionist (we believe) are flatter with your kind feedback . Yes we are delighted overall you enjoyed yourselves.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sunningdale Park very soon! In the meantime enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley |General Manager

De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
Part of the De Vere Group

T:01344634362|E:kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk

Sunningdale Park, Larch Avenue , Ascot, Berkshire,SL5 OQE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    270
    293
    167
    130
See reviews for
146
344
53
282
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice hotel in a rural, golf club setting, we found it a little hard to find but once we got there we were pleasantly surprised, internet was good, staff were friendly and helpful and room was very comfortable, a fan was also provided, good hotel as a venue for a wedding with lots of accommodation on site

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello Ellen F

Thank you so much for submitting your feedback to Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Sunningdale Park Venue.

The team and I are delighted to read your feedback, thrilled that over all you enjoyed yourselves. I note your point regarding finding the venue and will discuss with our Marketing Team to review our directions.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Sunningdale Park very soon!


Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley |General Manager

De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
Part of the De Vere Group

T:01344634362|E:kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk

Sunningdale Park, Larch Avenue , Ascot, Berkshire,SL5 OQE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Arrived with trepidation after reading some very off-putting reviews! But there was nothing to worry about. We had a lovely stay in a clean well equipped room. We had phoned in advance and asked for a room with a bath, and this was organised with no fuss. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would stay here again!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Antonia423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Hello Antonia 423,

Thank you so much for submitting your feedback to Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Sunningdale Park Venue. The team and I are delighted to read your feedback and thrilled you enjoy your stay: Sparkling.

You know the old maxim “One should not always believe what one reads”.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Sunningdale Park very soon! In the meantime enjoy the rest of your weekend.



Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley |General Manager

De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
Part of the De Vere Group

T:01344634362|E:kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk

Sunningdale Park, Larch Avenue , Ascot, Berkshire,SL5 OQE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 308 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Some of the reviews here on TA for this hotel are not encouraging. I was quite worried before I went to the hotel. :( Fortunately I was not disappointed. I'm not sure where those people have stayed before but I did not find the hotel anywhere near as bad as it was made out in these negative reviews.

We booked the hotel for one night at a bargain price of £39 (£54 inc breakfast). We would have booked 2 nights but the hotel was full. It was very busy at the time of our visit, a wedding party going on, lots of Ascot races visitors, and families going to nearby attractions.

The location of the hotel is perfect for Ascot, Legoland etc, or just exploring the lovely local countryside (Virginia Water Lake being a highlight).

Hotel bedroom was quirky, a small bed, desk in the window, modern bathroom and small ante room storing just a wardrobe. The bathroom was clean and modern. The shower hose on the mixer tap was damaged which mean it was difficult to hand hold the shower but we managed. (I was going to raise this on check out but the hotel reception was absolutely packed so we just dropped the key as we were pressured for time).

Considering the hotel was so busy we certainly had no noise disruption to the night sleep. You could hear a pin drop it was so peaceful. I did wake but that was due to the warm evening. There was no air con in the room so I just opened the bathroom and wardrobe room windows this seemed to help.

Breakfast in the restaurant was good, lots of hot and cold buffet items, toast, pastries and porridge on offer. The bar and lounge areas were comfortable. Outside on the terrace was very pleasant with the view overlooking rolling hills and trees.

All in all this was a pleasant stay at a busy hotel. The photos on the DeVere website do tend to mislead a little but go with an open mind and you probably won't be disappointed. See my photos. I took a lot to show the good/indifferent aspects of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello MiaG

Thank you so much for submitting your feedback to Trip advisor, regarding your recent stay at Sunningdale Park Venue.

The team and I are really delighted with your honest and constructive critique from your stay, as we say here; we are Tickled Pink , you have made our evening,

We truly do look forward to welcoming you back to Sunningdale Park soon!


Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley |General Manager

De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
Part of the De Vere Group

T:01344634362||E:kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk

Sunningdale Park, Larch Avenue , Ascot, Berkshire,SL5 OQE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Have stayed on business several times and I always enjoy my stay. Rooms are modern and well kept (the maid asked me if my room was 'up to standards' on several occasions).

The food has a different theme every night and is well prepared - a steak I had here was one of the nicest I've tasted! The food tends to be quite Mediterranean, generally with two meats and vegetarian options available, along with a HUGE selection of cakes.

There are two large bar areas, which show sports and include pool tables. There is also a gym which is useful though is not very big.

The hotel is also only a 5 minute taxi ride from Sunningdale station making transport links excellent.

As I said earlier I've only stayed here on business but am looking forward to going back.

Room Tip: I was placed on the bottom floor though I heard no noise whatsoever! I don't think you can get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conor W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hello Conor W

Thank you so much for submitting your kind comments to Trip advisor, regarding your recent stay at Sunningdale Park Venue.

The team and I very much appreciate your no gobbledygook feedback; thank you.

We really do look forward to welcoming you back to Sunningdale Park very soon!


Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley |General Manager

De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
Part of the De Vere Group

T:01344634362|E:kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk

Sunningdale Park, Larch Avenue , Ascot, Berkshire,SL5 OQE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a De Vere venues hotel,not a 4/5 hotel in central London or a major UK city. Some of the rooms are a little tired and in need of some money being spent on them, but saying that they are clean tidy and presented in a professional way. There is plenty of paking either by the main reception or near the Chaucer/main house. The staff on reception are well trained and very courteous and tried to accommodate our requests. It's more than a Premier Inn or a Campanile hotel but not as expensive. If you can get these hotels at the promotional price £20/£30 per night per room you will not get better value, free coffee,teas and snacks and in some cases a fitness centre and pool. What do you want for this kind of money, you only sleep in the room and the comfort is OK. First class breakfast for £7.50 and there are plenty of restaurants in Ascot and Sunningdale and so close to the Great Windsor Park. You could pay a lot more money and get some real luxury in this area but why waste your money when you can get a De Vere Venue.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lowena7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Iowena7

Thank you so much for submitting your kind comments to Trip advisor, regarding your recent stay at Sunningdale Park Venue.

The team and I are thrilled to see that you have visited us once again this year, delighted with your very constructive feedback which we take as a gift and will work on salient points.

We genuinely do look forward to welcoming you back to Sunningdale Park very soon!


Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley |General Manager

De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
Part of the De Vere Group

T:01344634362|E:kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk

Sunningdale Park, Larch Avenue , Ascot, Berkshire,SL5 OQE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel on Sat 27th July as we were heading to Ascot races. The hotel was good value for money, its well worth booking the breakfast for extra £7:50...this hotel is not too far from ascot (£15 for a six seater taxi), everyone we met who worked there were very friendly and helpful and seemed keen to ensure you enjoyed your stay - in particular a very nice scottish gentleman who when we asked if there was a local shop within walking distance the next morning (as I was on need of a lucozade to bring me around after a days racing) advised the on site shop was not open until 11 and insisted on picking up a bottle of lucozade (well 4) from the local shop and bringing it into breakfast! If you're heading to ascot races I'd definately recommend this hotel for its location, reasonable room prices and helpful friendly staff

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CovGez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KyranBradley, General Manager at Sunningdale Park, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello Covgez

Thank you so much for submitting your nice review to Trip Advisor, regarding your recent stay at Sunningdale Park Venue. The team and I read your feedback with great delight; needless to say we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Sunningdale Park very soon!

Warm Regards

Kyran Bradley |General Manager

De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park
Part of the De Vere Group

T:01344634362|E:kbradley@deverevenues.co.uk

Sunningdale Park, Larch Avenue , Ascot, Berkshire,SL5 OQE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascot
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Highclere Hotel
Highclere Hotel
#4 of 5 in Ascot
164 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#5 of 7 in Bracknell
2,026 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stirrups Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunningdale Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunningdale Park

Property: Sunningdale Park
Address: Larch Avenue, Ascot SL5 0QE, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Ascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunningdale Park 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunningdale Park in Ascot is a modern hotel that offers bedroom accommodation in over 65 acres of landscaped gardens and natural woodland. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, free Wi-Fi, free parking and a take-away breakfast box only. A gym is also available. Easily accessible from several major motorways including the M3, M4, and M25 and just 30 minutes from Heathrow, the hotel is well-placed for business traveller stays during the week. An easy reach to London and close proximity to some great local attractions including Ascot Racecourse, LEGOLAND and the majestic town of Windsor, the hotel is also a convenient and cost-effective base for weekend breaks to the area. Please note there is no restaurant or bar at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Sunningdale Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Park Ascot
Sunningdale Park Hotel Ascot
Sunningdale Park Berkshire/Ascot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing