We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base”
Review of Sunningdale Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunningdale Park
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
stockport
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Perfect base”
Reviewed March 24, 2008

After reading the bad reviews - sour staff, grotty rooms, bad food, coupled with the ridiculously cheap price we were seriously worried! How wrong could we have been. We were greeted by jolly staff who knew our name on arrival, given plenty of information and even half price tickets to Thorpe Park! The rooms were a standard devere type albeit smaller although the ones in bridges block were larger with flat screen TVs. It is very clear that there is an extensive modernisation program going on to bring the place up to Devere standards. The breakfast is the usual buffett type with plenty of choice for everyone. it is true that it doesn't have 4* facilities but it is not 4*and people should remember this. As a base it is excellent and yes you do have to walk to the dining room, but it is through the most wonderfaul parkland. Be honest where would you get a modern room beautiful scenery, free internet access and a 3 course breakfast for £19.50 per person. i certainly don't know of anywhere.

  • Liked — Value for Money
  • Disliked — Nothing really
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank candy1502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

981 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    264
    293
    167
    123
See reviews for
144
335
50
280
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

If you want to revisit the Halls of Residence of your student days, then book to come here...

De Vere's website is extremely misleading - this is a training establishment with halls - we saw no other 'hotel' guests during our stay.

It is reminscent of a Travelodge or Campanile - don't come here expecting De Vere standards. This is a Motel, not a Hotel. Staff were friendly (when you saw them) but rooms were poorly finished, our son's 'put up' bed inadequate in the extreme and our beds so uncomfortable that we were unable to have a good night's sleep.

As we were given incorrect times for the restaurant breakfasts and room service was not available as a breakfast option - we never experienced the food - probably just as well....

  • Liked — Staff - friendly, helpful and polite
  • Disliked — Accommodation itself - the De Vere website is extremely misleading
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FamilyP_Yorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ascot hotels

Devon
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2008

What a dump, De Vere should be ashamed of associating their name and reputation with such a shabby establishment. Steer well clear.

Website photos and info. looked and sounded ideal for 2- night stay and convenient location near relatives.

"Cell block H" style rooms with old beds, broken furniture, dirty carpets and grubby bathroom ...... the list of nasties is endless (especially the filthy loo brush!). Old itchy army-style bed blankets and bath mats substituted for towels!

Hike to main reception and dining hall with non-flexible dining times. Someone somewhere needs to investigate this place and expose this rip-off operation.

  • Liked — Cecking out
  • Disliked — Everything was poor
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonShirley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2007

After reading the reviews we were ready to have the most terrible weekend, but in fact it was lovely. The hotel does not look beautiful from the outside - modern looking, not like the picture on the website, but the rooms were great - just been refurbished. The bar wasn't open when we arrived at lunchtime but the staff couldn't have been more helpful and opened it up for us. Lovely bar and lounge area
- also just been refurbished.

Fantastic grounds with a lake to walk around and lots of space for the kids to run around. The kids played squash, and there were tennis courts but we can out of time and didn't use them.

Lovely meal in the evening and breakfast as well.

All in all a lovely weekend - the whole family stayed (for my parents 40th wedding anniversary), and the staff could not have done more; from blowing up balloons and decorating the table at dinner, to providing extra beds for the children at no extra cost.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank ejm468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
winchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2007

Just returned from a family weekend organised by our daughters to celebrate our ruby wedding anniversary. The party included four adult couples and 5 children from 5 months to 12 years old - quite a range to cater for

The seting for the hotel is spectacular (aided by a glorious autumn weekend) and the staff could not have been more helpful and welcoming - even opening a bar and providing sandwiches for us on arrival. The buffet in the evening was excellent. . The rooms had recently been refurbished and the whole stay was most enjoyable

  • Liked — cleanliness, space and setting
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woodchuck42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2007

Cant believe this is a Devere hotel!!!!

It was more like a travel-inn , maybe thats a bit unfair to travel inns!!
Devere should be disgusted with themselves, very misleading in their website. I mean who wants to go away on a romantic break and find out the National school of Goverment are based there? It is a very spooky place.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Traveller1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2007

A weekend away ruined by the complete mis-advertised accomodation by de vere.

In no way is this in anyway a hotel. it is the National School of Government, basically It is a training school with university style dorms for weeklong conferencing to be held.
It has no feel of a hotel in anyway, the rooms all have waver thin walls - i thought i heard my mobile ringing and got up to check, it turned out to be the room above us.
Our room was dirty, cm's of red and black dirt and scum in the shower and hairs in the Plug hole.
the reception and whole area has not sign that it is de vere but however does helpfully inform you of the current security level (of what i'm not sure) but it was heighten at the time of our stay.

Location - spent a good 10 minutes looking for the “hotel” and on popping into the “main reception” of the National School of Government to ask where the De Vere hotel was. To our surprise we were informed that we were there. Whilst checking in another couple walked in and did exactly the same thing as us, I would imagine that the looks on their faces we’re similar to our, firstly shock and then dismay!

Staff - all pretty unhelpful on check out i was communitcated with in one sentance which was “there are no charges on your room”.

The one redeeming quality about the property is that the breakfast was defiantly better than most, the 20 minute wait to get some tea to go with our breakfast was a little annoying but the restaurant certainly was a little more like what we expected of a De Vere property, modern and clean with plenty to choose from.

Can't quite believe that this company runs the 5* Grand Hotel in Brighton my home town.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank BrightonRach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ascot
0.9 mi away
Macdonald Berystede Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Highclere Hotel
Highclere Hotel
#4 of 6 in Ascot
162 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Berkshire Hotel
Royal Berkshire Hotel
#1 of 2 in Sunninghill
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hilton Bracknell
Hilton Bracknell
#6 of 7 in Bracknell
1,957 reviews
4.2 mi away
Stirrups Country House Hotel
1.1 mi away
Coworth Park - Dorchester Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunningdale Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunningdale Park

Property: Sunningdale Park
Address: Larch Avenue, Ascot SL5 0QE, England (Formerly De Vere Venues Sunningdale Park)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Ascot
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Ascot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunningdale Park 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunningdale Park in Ascot is a modern hotel that offers bedroom accommodation in over 65 acres of landscaped gardens and natural woodland. The hotel offers stylish bedrooms, free Wi-Fi, free parking and a take-away breakfast box only. A gym is also available. Easily accessible from several major motorways including the M3, M4, and M25 and just 30 minutes from Heathrow, the hotel is well-placed for business traveller stays during the week. An easy reach to London and close proximity to some great local attractions including Ascot Racecourse, LEGOLAND and the majestic town of Windsor, the hotel is also a convenient and cost-effective base for weekend breaks to the area. Please note there is no restaurant or bar at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Sunningdale Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunningdale Park Ascot
Sunningdale Park Hotel Ascot
Sunningdale Park Berkshire/Ascot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing